We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defining Service”
Review of Hotel Mume

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mume
Ranked #2 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Defining Service”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in this boutique hotel from Oct 27 - 31, 2013. While the hotel may easily be missed because of its tiny footprint on Shinmonzen Dori, the care they give their clients cannot be ignored. The general manager and all of the very pleasant staff were efficient but were always warm. They made sure to attend to your every need. If you ask for recommendations for a restaurant, they not only tell you but they also provide you a map, a picture of the restaurant frontage, make reservations, and call you a cab. When I advised them of my plans for the rest of my trip after Kyoto, they printed out information on my destination, the transportation options (with a recommendation for the best route, the specific trains,timetable, and cost, ), layout of the train stations, and even called to verify the schedules! They did not simply provide me the info but sat down with me to walk me through the whole route.

They have only 7 rooms and I had the pleasure of staying in two. The rooms were tastefully designed in a fusion of Asian and European styles. The end result was a cozy retreat which had personality and was very comfortable. Aside from the usual TV, refrigerator, and safe, the rooms I stayed in were appointed with a towel warmer, CD player, heater, and a dehumidifier. It also came with a selection of CDs and DVDs curated by the general manager. You can also have your choice of pillows ( down or tempur memory foam). The bathroom was equipped with a fully automated toilet which lifts the toilet seat as you approach it, is heated, has a bidet with variable temperature and pressure, and a deodorizing feature!

The hotel had a small kitchen which only allowed them to serve breakfast. The breakfast was normally comprised of hot soup (which featured a seasonal crop), an assortment of breads baked fresh daily which likewise showcased fruits, nuts, or vegetables, home made jams, fresh fruit in season, yoghurt, and your choice of hot beverage. Breakfast was very good but was even made more special as the dining room offers a very relaxing view of the Shirakawa river that runs by the hotel.

They also have a daily happy hour (5-7 pm) which allowed guests to partake in bar chow and a variety of complimentary libations which include single malts, sake, wine, and other premier liquors.

The location of the hotel is conducive to walking to the shopping district (Shijo Dori), restaurant areas of Ponto-cho and Kawaramachi Dori, and the historical district of Gion.

Overall, I was made to feel like a friend staying in a home, more than a guest in a typical hotel. It gave me another reason to return to Kyoto.

Room Tip: The "Flower" room is great for couples, a small family, or a group (3) of friends as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peewee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    27
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
106
459
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My cousin and I spend wonderful days in Kyoto in mid oct. This boutique hotel was extraordinary in every aspect- from the elegance of the space,the comfortable stylish rooms,the great location on a quiet charming street, the incredible client service. We were provided intelligent advice with respect to every question we asked.

I have done a fair amount of consulting to luxury hotel brands. When I came back from my trip I told a VP of one much touted brand, that they could take a lesson in customer service from Mume. For example, the owner noticed I was having back pain- she not only walked me over to the pharmacy to help me buy pain meds, the next day she left me a large package of pain relievers in my room. She refused to allow me to pay for it.

I will definitely be going back again. My stay at the Mume was one of the my Japan trip highlights.

Barbara Moses

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre. The program would not allow me to leave it blank. All the rooms that I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent three nights at Mume in September after it was recommended to us by two different groups of people. It was a delightful stay in every respect. The rooms were beautiful (ours could have only been enhanced by a window, but I understand this isn't possible for many inner city Kyoto buildings) and the toilet was hands down the best of all the crazy Japanese toilets we encountered - so many buttons!
Breakfasts were outstanding. Fresh juice, fruit, yoghurt, soup, delicious bread and pastries, home made jams. I'm salivating thinking about it. Likewise, the happy hour (free of charge) was generous and a nice way to unwind after being on our feet all day.
The service was Japanese perfection. In another country, you may think it over the top (e.g. the bowing as you enter the lift etc.), but I know this came from a place of warmth and hospitality.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kyoto, which, incidentally, is an incredibly beautiful and historic city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobanoonoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Aisheteru I love the area and the people and atmosphere one of kyotos golden hotel. you will not be sorry.Impeccable, faultless, immaculate, perfection. Hidden behind the red door, this is probably the best boutique hotel experience in japan. Hisako, Miyuki and the others ensured that every detail of our stay in Kyoto was perfect. Breakfast is a ceremony, day plans are thoughtfully considered with suggestions, and dinner was outstanding.

you will love it there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenzo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbournian
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were only able to stay one night at Mume but Yoshie ensured we made the most our trip. She was incredibly helpful and helped us with dinner reservations and onward travel. Thank you so much Yoshie, you are a national treasure!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank weekendsaway77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

All the reviews are right, this little hotel can't be beat. It has the best location (in Gion, not far from the Gion-Shijo and Sanjo-Keihan stations, and all the Higashiyama temples), the best staff (who really go out of their way to make you feel at home), the best breakfast (with fruit, home-made yogurt, home-made soup, boiled egg, juice, home-made jams, and delicious pastry), the best restaurant recommendations (in Gion - places you would never find on your own), and lovely, immaculate, well-equipped rooms. And the price is comparable with the well-known hotels.

There are only 7 rooms in this tiny hotel. I believe that 3 of these are small, perhaps only suitable for only one person. The hotel sits right by the Shirakawa river (creek), which traverses the most beautiful parts of Gion (IMO).

When you come back to the hotel after dinner, or after touring, you are greeted with "welcome home". That's it the way it is with the Hotel Mume. We hated to leave.

We plan to return to Kyoto, and we'll never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible. We had the Wind room and were quite pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wobbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Impeccable, faultless, immaculate, perfection. Hidden behind the red door, this is probably the best boutique hotel experience in japan. Hisako, Miyuki and the others ensured that every detail of our stay in Kyoto was perfect. Breakfast is a ceremony, day plans are thoughtfully considered with suggestions, and dinner bookings are accompanied by a photo of the restaurant doorway so you don't get lost. The happy hour is a great way to relax after a day of sightseeing and revive you for dinner. This is great value and a haven for travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redi4anotheradventur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 369 in Kyoto
547 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#16 of 369 in Kyoto
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#11 of 369 in Kyoto
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Property: Hotel Mume
Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing