We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique (Hotel) Beauty!”
Review of Hotel Mume

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mume
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Boutique (Hotel) Beauty!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon in Japan. Everything from the rooms, to the breakfasts, to the service was thoughtful and excellently executed. We had the Moon room, which while was somewhat absent of natural light since the window faced an alley way, it was still well lit within the room with all the lights on. The room was quite large compared to the typical Japanese hotel room, and beautifully decorated with a wonderful traditional lantern light, with a mix of modern and traditional. The only con was that the beds are separated into two twins with a bare bar of wood (part of the bed frame) in between, which can be tough for couples, but this seemed to be a common theme in most Japanese hotels we stayed at outside of Tokyo.

The breakfasts were delicious, with the sweetest fruit, most flavorful soups, and most chewy breads, and crisp croissants imaginable. A wonderful start to our event filled time in Kyoto.

The staff was extremely friendly, and spoke English extremely well. Don't be afraid to ask them for recommendations of tourist sights, stores, and restaurants. We had some of the best food during our entire honeymoon during our stay in Kyoto thanks to the staff's excellent restaurant recommendations (namely their recommendations for okonomiyaki and tonkotsu).

All in all, it was a wonderful stay, especially since it was so centrally located.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    28
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
105
456
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Pros: Location (they will even tell you the best way to get to hotel), Rooms & Decor.
Breakfast truly amazing (though I did not dare try Spinach soup, soup of the day), They have plenty regardless of how picky you are.
The experience at this hotel is beyond amazing..
They let us know where to go, best way to get there.
They recommended restaurants based on our taste (great recommendation). Had best food EVER.....
They even had stamps... and sent my 2 post cards free of charge.... the gesture and service is amazing, they really thought about everything to make your stay perfect!
You want a taxi? Though it was not necessary since I can jump in front of a taxi, the girl was willing to walk down with us 2 blocks to flag a taxi! that was very thoughtful and nice .... she did recommend WHICH taxis are nicer to foreigners for us to flag down...
They even asked us if we needed help planning how to get to our next hotel/destination etc. . .
Very nice staff, speak good English.
Oh yes... before I forget... I love the high tech toilet... your toilet is too smart!!! lol

Cons: None

Recommendation for hotel: Don't need to try so hard, you guys are just awesome!!!
Some of the newer staff was nervous.... don't need to be...... I guess being American, we tend to look intimating, arrogant, easily annoyed, and hard to please.....
Relax, take it easy, and keep up the great job!
I will return ......

Room Tip: Check out their website, I am sure regardless of room you choose you will be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank devinezqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel Mume is enjoys a fabulous location in Shinmonzen-dori, an Artisan street. The hotel is right next to the Shirakawa River which is serene and the setting is absolutely beautiful. The trees lining the river bear flowers when in season and each season would add a little special flavor to the experience - cherry blossoms, foliage in the fall, snow in the winter, greenery in the summer.

The hotel is close to shrines, night life and to good restaurants (we had dinner at Sodoh, which was very nice and fitting for an occasion.). So, yes the hotel has location and ambiance - the river, the little traditional streets and all that Kyoto charm. What differentiates Mume is the impeccable superb kryptonite like service. The attention to detail and the "want and will to serve" is real and each member of the Mume staff go out of their way to understand guest’s needs and they customize to make the experience right. The hotel is a sanctuary and we were happy to have Mume as our address whilst in Kyoto. It`s comfortable and the people there just exude joy and the desire to make our stay perfect. The rooms are all nice and there are 7 in total. We stayed at the Flower Suite (Sakura), as we were celebrating an occasion. I would love to visit Mume again and try the butterfly room and the moon room. Arigatou Gozaimasu to Mume and its wonderful staff for making our experience special. We had a perfect 5th Anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KobeDeepdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

After a rather scary short time in Tokyo we arrived at Kyoto Station by bullet train, thanks to the map provided we were able to convey to the taxi driver where we wanted to go despite the fact that we speak only a little Japanese and he spoke no English. The driver had a little difficulty finding the hotel but we did get there! Upon arrival we again had some difficulty figuring out whether we were the the right place and how to get it. There is just a red door, no sign, and when you knock there is no answer, you have to press the buzzer on the left wall which I'm pretty sure was kind of hidden by some plants.

Once we entered the hotel we were truly able to relax. The room was beautiful, we stayed in the butterfly room on the third floor. There were a couple of odd things in the room, first was that the bed was two double beds pushed together rather than one large queen or king size bed. Since I was travelling with my boyfriend we found this quite an odd arrangement since it meant that we weren't truly sleeping in the same bed. However, if you were travelling with family or friends it would be good as you would be able to pull the beds apart and treat them as two separate beds. Secondly, there is only a pane of glass separating the bath/shower from the bedroom so you are able to clearly see whoever is in the bath/shower from the bed. There was a bamboo kind of blind thing you could roll down but you could still see the person's silhouette. Not an issue for us, but if you're travelling with friends/family it could be.

If you are around the hotel at happy hour time I recommend taking advantage of it. We were aware of the free drink happy hour when we booked but didn't realize until we arrived that they offered multiple drinks. On our first day after having one drink my boyfriend was offered a second drink and inquired to the price (so he could pay up front) and was informed that there was no charge. Upon subsequent nights he was offered 3 drinks, and maybe more if we hadn't been hungry and ready for dinner. We were also offered a variety of snacks which the second we finished the last one was promptly replenished. Breakfast was also delicious, a variety of juice, yoghurt, egg, soup, fresh fruit, soup and freshly baked breads. The bread was the absolute highlight of the meal, each day was a croissant and two other varieties which ranged from coffee to chestnut, one day I think we had a blueberry or fruit flavoured one and many others. The chef should be highly commended on these wonderful creations!

The hotel staff, I cannot praise them enough! Their English was fantastic and no issues was to big or to small for them. Every night at happy hour they asked how our day was, where we were going for dinner, did we need suggestions if we hadn't decided and did we need directions on how to get to the places and so on. The two best places we ate in Kyoto (a gyoza bar around the corner from the hotel and a ramen restaurant) we suggested by the staff. Every morning at breakfast they would ask where we were going and again give suggestions on where to go and how to get there. They even went so far as to remember our drink preferences. For instance the first day we were served grapefruit juice, which after I took a sip found to be far too sour for my taste. Upon realizing that I didn't like the juice, the girl working (Nagisa I think it was) quickly offered me another drink, orange juice, and every morning after that I was given orange juice instead of grapefruit with out even asking. Upon leaving the hotel for the day they would offer us umbrellas in case of rain and rush to open the door for us and upon returning they take our umbrellas. On our last day they helped organised transport from the hotel to Osaka airport and when we arose early to catch the MK Shuttle (we were flying out of Osaka at 10 so left the hotel around 5) they had a bag of freshly baked bread ready for us and served us coffee and juice while we waited from the shuttle to arrive. Even if they food and rooms we poor (which they most definitely were not) the service provided by the staff would more than make up for it.

The hotel itself is in a great location as well. We were able to walk to all the major shrines on the east side of the city including Kiyoumizu-dera, Kodaji, Chion-in, Yasaka-jinga, Nanzen-ji and Ginkauki-ji in an hour to an hour and half depending on which site we went to. It was also a very short walk to Shijo Avenue, the Geisha district, the Ichiriki Teahouse and other major sites around Gion. In fact the only time we left the hotel and need to use an alternate form of transport was when we went to Kinkaku-ji and Ryoan-ji.

All in all, Hotel Mume is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Everything in the hotel from the rooms, to the location to the staff is absolutely perfect. Upon returning to Kyoto we would book again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spage89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights for our honeymoon and it was possibly the best, most friendly and comfortable hotel we have ever stayed in. Very stylish but also comfortable, the service was impeccable and everywhere the staff recommended to eat and drink were excellent (they even printed maps and directions of everywhere they recommended and checked for English menus etc! The best location on a gorgeous, quiet 'antique street' in the Gion district.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albi2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in early August and enjoyed everything about the hotel. Above all, we would highlight the service and help provided by the owner and staff. From initial email contact, it was obvious that the Mume Hotel took service seriously. During our visit, they continuously ensured that we had all the information, maps, Japanese directions, tickets, restaurant recommendations etc needed to maximise our enjoyment of Kyoto. It was a level of service above and beyond what you generally get. Also noteworthy were the breakfasts - both nutritional, high quality and interesting. They sustained us through much of the day. The furnishings and antiques in the hotel made our stay feel very special. A combination of modern high tech design mixed with beautiful antique pieces. We were graciously offered an upgrade on both our first and last nights. Our original Moon Room was small (as expected in Japan) but the Flower Room is stunning and spacious. The location of the hotel is terrific with public transport easily accessible in only a few minutes and the interesting lanes of Gion around you. Another delightful offering is the drink in the salon at the end of day sightseeing. All in all, you couldn't ask for more. The Mume Hotel is 'simply the best'.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindalovesPilates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Get the best room with the canopy bed with balcony and open bath. The proprietress has impeccable taste and those chairs might not look comfortable but they are, keep your posture straight. We wanted to try out a boutique hotel for the first time and wow, loved the attention, loved the detail, and the wholesome genuine desire to please. You must have the instructions for the driver with you because there was not a taxi driver who knew anything about this location. Always keep the instructions with you while you are sightseeing. By the front red door is a cute little plaque with a tall giraffe and baby giraffe. Ask the owner. Doorbell is on the left wall near the road. Wonderful room, loved the bathroom, especially attentive sensory Toto. The street of this hotel is on the antique market shops. Take a stroll, a couple of shopkeepers are crazy overpriced but one of the ones toward the end is really sweet and reasonable. We went to see the monkeys and we made day trips by train to Osaka to see the Osaka Aquarium with the whale shark and to Nara Park with all the hungry deer. Watch the more aggressive ones. Breakfast at this hotel is wonderful. They could not do enough to please your tastes. They have a happy hour and encourage you to attend, but after a full day of sightseeing we were exhausted and just wanted to veg and catch up with work. We had a wonderful time seeing the parade of each district on July 17, Osaka had theirs on July 15. The owner of the hotel has so many stories and insights about the heart of Kyoto that it is worth the time to listen and learn so much about a city that surely is loved by all. The staff is personable and helpful about directions with maps and everything you could need or want. They do their research, very accommodating. Wonderful people, lovely room and enjoyed every moment!

Room Tip: Pick the very best room, do not settle any other. It is the one with the canopy bed, side balcony, l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Property: Hotel Mume
Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing