We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the most attentive service in the world!”
Review of Hotel Mume

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mume
Ranked #2 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My partner and I had the pleasure of visiting Hotel Mume for 7 nights last week. We couldn't have been more pleased with the location, quality of service, our room, and the overall experience. Their staff to guest ratio is almost 1:1 which is helped by the fact that they only have 6 or 7 rooms. A great breakfast each morning and happy hour each evening in the lounge, rounds out the exceptional experience. The service and level of attentiveness is unmatched. The best way to put is they genuinely take an interest and pride in ensuring you have an exceptional experience both at the hotel and while exploring Kyoto. They helped with every booking, transportation, shopping - you name it. I travel all over the world for business - this was absolutely the best service experience at a hotel that I've ever had.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AllOverDaPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (742)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 742 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel was the best way to end a honeymoon. Everything up until here was perfect but here was just breathtaking. The staff were there for everything we needed and were always on hand if we needed directions or even a good recommendation for food. The location is so central to everything and only minutes away from the train station which was handy for sightseeing. Definitely 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcody2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I would recommend the Mume for the last nights of any trip. Once you stay here, anything else will be a let down no matter how nice it is. Best staff, service, location, breakfast, Everything you read here is true. It was hard to leave the place to go sight seeing.

Room Tip: balcony suite on top floor is very expensive, but worth it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Mume Hotel is a wonderful place to stay. Everything is spot on.
The staff are friendly, helpful and professional.
Location in the Gion district is charming, but also central enough to be convenient to restaurants, shopping and bars.
The rooms are comfortable and we loved the toilet!
Breakfasts were fantastic and healthy, and the croissants, prepared on site, were so good my wife described them as the best she has had outside of France.
The nightly happy hour was a highlight. 2 hours of complimentary drinks was a nice way to start the night.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rockruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for four nights in this hotel, as part of our first trip to Japan and Kyoto.

LOCATION

The hotel is located on the north side of the Gion district, in a small street, which is commonly nicknamed "antiques street". The area is very quiet, you can easily walk within Gion and to the shopping district. There are many restaurants in the area, although a lot of them are only signed in Japanese, but it doesn't really matter, because Mume will help you with this problem (more on that later...) There is a metro station located about 5-8 minutes away. Staying in this place gives you a real feel of Japanese traditions, and some areas of Gion (about 3 minutes from the hotel) really make you feel like you stepped into a movie. There is also a 7 Eleven nearby, which can be useful as well.

AMBIENCE

The hotel is located inside a very narrow house, with a welcoming red door. It is nicely secluded, so you might miss it at first. But surely, it is a gem which really deserves to be discovered! To get in, you need to ring the bell, and someone will immediately come to the door to welcome you. Inside, you will find a cozy and very japanese décor, with every single detail carefully designed and thought about. You can really tell that each flower, piece of furniture and object of decoration has been chosen with the greatest care to please the eye and make each guest feel welcome. The breakfast room/bar at the back of the house overlooks a peaceful canal. The atmosphere is warm and cosy, and coming back at the end of each day feels like you have returned home.

ROOM

We chose a butterfly room with a dark color theme of dark grey and red. Here again, the room is very cosy, full of details, objects and artifacts, which give it a very unique atmosphere. Everywhere you look, something nice or interesting will catch your eye. The bathroom is cleverly placed inside the room with glass walls, which gives a perspective of space. Should you wish so, you can easily draw a blind to hide the bathroom from the room. Although the room is not very large, there are a lot of closets, drawers and places where you can store your belongings. It has a flat TV with CNN and BBC, should you still wish to stay in touch with the world while staying in this paradise. As customary in Japan, there are 2 large twin beds, but they are joined together, so it is still nice if you travel as a couple. Bathroom amenities are very nice, and they provide you with a hairdryer, adaptor and anything else you might need to get comfortable. Truly, this was a home away from home.

SERVICE

Although a lot could be (and has to be) said about the decoration, the charm and the atmosphere of Mume, it is nothing compared to the level of service you will get in this place. It is quite simply out of this world. It starts even before you set foot in the hotel, as you make your first reservation. Every single question you may have will be answered in the most precise manner, and they even offer tips and advice on travel, sightseeing.. no stone is left unturned. Upon our arrival, we received a warm welcome, were offered a drink with a view of the canal and were shown to our room. Obviously, our luggage was immediately taken care of and a staff member came with us to explain the room and hotel facilities. Among them, the happy hour during which the hotel offers you free drinks, including alcoholic, and some tidbits to eat. It is to be noted that every single staff member speaks an excellent english, which is sometimes hard to find in Japan. They are all charming and full of warm smiles. During our stay, we asked them for countless advice and restaurant referrals. One day, we were interested in purchasing a work of art, and they went to every length to help us, as the shop owner did not speak English. We "quizzed" them about japanese culture, Kyoto history and temples, asked for sightseeing advice, and so on. For instance, if we mentioned our intention to visit a temple the next day, they would spontaneously print a plan of the station, a schedule of metros, an information about the temple in question, which we would receive the next morning at breakfast. At Mume, you don't need to ask for anything, as they seem to guess your wishes before you actually do! Another thing worth noting is the quality of the breakfast. You get freshly baked bread, which changes everyday and can be as exotic as tomato bread or green onion bread (on top of the more usual warm croissant), fresh made jams (also different ones every day, with similarly original tastes), eggs, soup of the day, yoghurt and fresh fruit. With all of that, a big choice of teas (even had Marco Polo from Mariage Frères!) and coffees (from a Nespresso machine for espresso lovers). The only drawback (but it seems to be a tradition is Japan) is that you have to announce your breakfast time, as they bake the bread for your arrival... a small price to pay. Upon our departure, we felt like we were leaving family. They even offered to have our bags shipped to Tokyo to make our travel easier. I could go on for days about the quality of service, but I'll just summarize in saying that this is way above and beyond any experience I ever had in a hotel, whether 5 stars or boutique.

VALUE
Like any good thing, Mume does not come cheap... nor is it very expensive by Japanese standards. I would simply say that it is worth every single penny!

IN SUM

Would not even dream to stay somewhere else in Kyoto and looking forward to the day we return!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate... book it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fall In Kyoto
Beauty Lives Beyond Red Door
Mume is Magic

Kyoto is an incredible, special place. The Hotel Mume is perfect, if there is such a thing. Hisako and her team of elves (incredibly gracious and capable women, actually) make you truly believe that you are their only guest, and it is their sole mission to make sure you have a fabulous stay and a memorable trip. I cannot imagine they have ever failed at their mission.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not much to add to the other glowing reviews. Everything about Mume is excellent - each staff member is extremely (and genuinely) friendly, professional and helpful, location is perfect (quiet street with interesting antique shops, close to excellent restaurants, temples, Philosophers Walk etc), rooms are tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean, breakfast is excellent (homemade breads, soup, large fruit bowl), common room for glass of wine in evening is relaxing (great spot to plan the next day). The staff recommendations were excellent and extremely helpful - restaurants, which temples/areas to visit, which taxi companies to use. And it wasn't a "everything is great" attitude - they gave very discerning comments about what to expect. Hisako and staff, it you are reading this, thanks!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SumachLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 405 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#9 of 405 in Kyoto
2,512 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 405 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing