We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mume

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mume
Ranked #2 of 362 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, CA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fall In Kyoto
Beauty Lives Beyond Red Door
Mume is Magic

Kyoto is an incredible, special place. The Hotel Mume is perfect, if there is such a thing. Hisako and her team of elves (incredibly gracious and capable women, actually) make you truly believe that you are their only guest, and it is their sole mission to make sure you have a fabulous stay and a memorable trip. I cannot imagine they have ever failed at their mission.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    28
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
103
446
40
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not much to add to the other glowing reviews. Everything about Mume is excellent - each staff member is extremely (and genuinely) friendly, professional and helpful, location is perfect (quiet street with interesting antique shops, close to excellent restaurants, temples, Philosophers Walk etc), rooms are tastefully decorated, comfortable and clean, breakfast is excellent (homemade breads, soup, large fruit bowl), common room for glass of wine in evening is relaxing (great spot to plan the next day). The staff recommendations were excellent and extremely helpful - restaurants, which temples/areas to visit, which taxi companies to use. And it wasn't a "everything is great" attitude - they gave very discerning comments about what to expect. Hisako and staff, it you are reading this, thanks!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumachLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,CA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We absolutely enjoyed stay at Mume. Hotel is filled with beautiful antiques and flowers. Staff are very attentive yet discrete. Location is on the antique street, easy walking distance to Gion. We walked to Chionin, a few blocks away, before breakfast.highly recommended.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BrownMatisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the moment we made our reservation over the internet with Mume until the moment we departed the Mume for airport in their recommended door-to-door van, the lovely ladies and staff at Mume made our stay at their hotel and our visit to Kyoto absolutely perfect. The room was beautiful and tranquil. Breakfast, which was served in a lovely room by a canal, was generous and replete with fresh hot gourmet rolls, homemade yogurt, juice, a hot bowl of homemade pureed vegetable soup, a huge bowl of fruit and made-to-order coffee or tea. The women worked cheerfully and tirelessly to help plan our days and meals and printed out color maps of restaurant facades so that we could figure out the kanji signage. Whenever we returned to the hotel, we were offered refreshments, and each evening, before heading out for dinner, we were offered wine and drinks with Japanese bar snacks.
The hotel is conveniently located in Gion, just a block away from the "prettiest street in Japan" and easy walking distance to many key spots in Kyoto as well as public transportation. The hotel itself is on "Antique Street", replete with many shops with offering prints, scrolls, ceramics and furniture. We made an afternoon of checking them all out.
We truly cannot imagine a better place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank route266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We just returned after a stay of 5 nights in this delightful boutique hotel. Hisako and her staff could not do enough to please. All the reviews written already are correct. It's a true gem. The location is perfect, close to lots of temples and shrines. It's a stones throw from some wonderful restaurants and cute boutiques, whilst in the heart of the antique shops of Gion. We stayed in the Butterfly room, which was very chic. Breakfast was first class. The staff were on hand with excellent advice on how to get places and where to find the silliest of items. No question was too difficult for them, they know their business. I could rave on and on about this hotel - dont miss it, if you visit Kyoto, you must stay here.

Room Tip: If you can afford the room with the balcony, it's well worth the difference in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Finding the distinctive red door of Hotel Mume would be a challenge but with the thoughtfully sent instructions for the taxi driver, it was no problem. There is was snuggled between the charming wooden houses in a narrow street of art and antique shops in old Gion. Behind the mysterious red door was a small but beautifully styled interior, with every detail carefully considered. The small, elegant salon frames a view of the canal where we sat on many evenings enjoying a drink or two as well as the fabulous breakfasts each morning. The Butterfly room we stayed in was romantically decorated with exquisite light fittings and every modern touch including wi-fi.

While we loved the design of this gorgeous boutique hotel, it was the service that was even more impressive. Our every plan was fine tuned by the wonderful hosts, and most touching was the
successful retrieval of a lost parcel from the Shinkansen on the way there! It arrived which we
were out, quietly placed in our room with no fuss. No fuss, with every need met, we truly felt like
royalty!

If you want a to stay in a beautiful place like Kyoto and enjoy some old style hospitality in a
sumptuous and intimate setting, you would be mad not to stay at Hotel Mume!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it here! Did not want to leave. We had the Wind room overlooking the river and it was beautifully and very tastefully decorated (as was the entire hotel) And very comfortable and quiet too. Getting to the hotel from the train station was easy via a taxi (just over 1000 yen).

Breakfast was western style and amazing! Free drinks during happy hour were fun too.

If you look up in the dictionary the phrase "superb service" you will see a photo of this hotel's staff. Amazing service! The bell boy even ran after us with an umbrella when we were transferring to a nearby ryokan so that we wouldn't get wet in the rain. Unbelievable! We are adding Mume to the short list of our favourite hotels from travels around the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 362 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#14 of 362 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#12 of 362 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Property: Hotel Mume
Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 362 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing