We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny boutique hotel in the heart of Kyoto”
Review of Hotel Mume

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mume
Ranked #2 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The women who run this hotel are your personal concierge. We had room 8 which is a large suite with a sitting room, your own personal computer, lovely bedroom, marvelous bath and outdoor balcony. The cocktail hour was well attended with hotel patrons so that we could chat and find out what people were enjoying in Kyoto. Only 7 rooms and the other room on our floor I peeked in - quite small compared to our suite but still lovely. Breakfast comes with the room and it was exquisite. Fabulous location to walk to shrines, the pontocho district and the market downtown and everything we wanted to see and do in Kyoto we could walk. Only 10 minutes by cab from train station. Service is unsurpassed.

Room Tip: Suite 8 was the best but quite expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesliebauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

510 - 516 of 752 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

WE came to Kyoto for the cherry blossoms (which were magnificent) but left with love for the Mume Hotel. We found it by accident before we knew about tripadvisor and what a great accident it turned out to be. The Mume, managed by the irrepressibly fabulous Hisako Shibata, has only seven rooms--each with a unique style. The rooms are compact gems and there is ample space in the lobby lounge/dinning area. Safe neighborhood and easy walk to many sites. The hotel staff was wonderful at all times and catered to every need, expressed or imagined! There are several good restaurants nearby and easy to get a taxi for other Kyoto areas. We would stay here again, definitely.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived in torrential rain and the 'ladies of the Mume' came rushing out with umbrellas and shrill greetings - they are just fab - so welcoming and want to go OTT to make your stay in Kyoto the best it can be. The place is small - just seven rooms; as a family of four we had a whole floor to ourselves which was great. The rooms can be a little 'cosy' but that's the point of this place really. Breakfast is served on a bookable basis and is good. Every evening there is a happy hour from 5-7pm with free drinks (anything you want) and snacks - when the staff come and help with any planning for the next day. They are whizzes with their many maps, guides and local knowledge. Everything they suggested worked out well and we had a great trip. The Mume is located in Gion which is Geisha district of old and you can walk down pretty streets past little rivers. We even came upon a traditional wedding when we were there. Lots of photo opportubnities and interesting stuff to see. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Go for one with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel Mume is a boutique hotel that is perfectly located in the Gion District. It's the ideal place for a woman traveling along.
The rooms are lovely if tiny and the bathroom is a marvel. I actually took a video of the Toto commode, which opens whenever you enter (it's like having a pet greet you when you return home!) Breakfast is in a delightful small bar/dining room overlooking the canal, and the home-made pastries and jams are simply delicious. Given how expensive food is in Japan, the value of the breakfast is quite important. There is also a happy hour in the afternoon, and tea or juice whenever you might like it.
But the real value of the hotel is the staff. Generally in Asia I found the concierge service to be less than helpful. But Hotel Mume is dedicated to service to such a degree that they will walk to the corner to assure that you have a good cab driver, change the seat on your flight home, send you to a (slightly) cheaper restaurant than the one you read about in the guidebook.
In a place like Kyoto, where language and cultural differences can be daunting, it is incredibly helpful to have a staff of women speaking perfect English helping you to arrange every aspect of your day and evening.
Note that this much personal attention can be a bit overbearing if you prefer to travel on your own without much interaction with the hotel staff. But I found their interest in my visit to be genuine, and genuinely helpful.

Room Tip: Moon Room has no window so it's either a great or terrible place to recover from jet lag, depend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BuffCrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I'll start by saying that if you want to be left alone, this may not be the place for you. But if you would like suggestions and recommendations for where to eat and sightsee, this is a great place to go. The staff speaks very good English and is wonderful about helping choose restaurants, calling taxis and supplying and marking maps for you. The room (Wind) was typically a little small but spotless and beautifully appointed. The beds were very comfortable, the complementary drinks were nice and the included breakfast was good, if a little gourmet. The giant bowl of perfect fruit slices and yogurt were great and they also had decaf coffee, which is rare in Japan. Location is good in the Gion district and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsD918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Can only agree to all the other excellent reviews of Hotel Mume. We are so glad we chose to stay here for our first Japan experience. Every morning the delightful staff helped us wth our sightseeing choices, marking maps and giving advice. Every evening they helped to choose a restaurant, booked a table, then printed out a picture to help us find it, invaluable in a place where nearly every restaurant looks the same from outside. The breakfast was delicious, served by so friendly staff with perfect English. We had to check out early before breakfast started, but were still given a bag each of tasty breads for the journey.

We enjoyed the two hour complimentary drinks every evening in the elegant sitting room, so relaxing after a hard day sightseeing! Decoration throughout the hotel is elegant, including the bedrooms and fab bathrooms! If we ever return to Kyoto, will definitely stay here again, a real taste of Janpanese hospitality and care.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Moon Rooms, small but lovely. Bed was very comfortable and furnishings fab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fussyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable and clean modern hotel in a perfect Kyoto location for sightseeing - this is the place for you. My wife and I had a wonderful experience - the hotel staff spoke perfect English and were able to help us plan each of our days in Kyoto, make dinner recommendations and reservations and also help us coordinate the rest of our trip in Japan. VERY helpful.

Also, the breakfast is amazing (Western style) and they have real espresso coffee (the good stuff). The daily happy hour was also a nice treat.

I would highly recommend this hotel, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AbbeyandNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
641 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Noku Kyoto
Noku Kyoto
#7 of 407 in Kyoto
264 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 407 in Kyoto
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 407 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing