We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service better then the Tokyo Mandarin Oriental (which is exceptional itself)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mume

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mume
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service better then the Tokyo Mandarin Oriental (which is exceptional itself)”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was our second visit to Japan, but our first time in Kyoto. Trying to find those special little hotels in foreign countries can quite often be difficult, and so we turned to TripAdvisor for guidance and Hotel Mume is the currently #1 hotel in Kyoto. A little further research and enquiry direct with the hotel and we booked three nights for our stay.

The hotel is a short taxi ride from central Kyoto station (approximaely 1,000 – 1,200 Yen). We were provided with a sheet to print out to give to our taxi driver for directions to the hotel. Located on Antiques Street (a phrase most Taxi drives are aware of it seems) in the Gion area, it is very unassuming – a lovely small hotel with a bright red door. The streets surrounding the hotel are amazing, with so many traditional style Japanese buildings home to restaurants and bars. Very romantic place to walk around in the evening.

Right from the moment they opened the door to welcome us in to when they waved us off in our Taxi when we checked out we couldn't have found a more welcoming, friendly, or helpful hotel to stay at in Kyoto, Japan or probably the world!

There are only seven rooms in the hotel, we were honoured with an upgrade from the Moon room we had booked to their largest Butterfly room. And what a room that is – seating area, large flat screen TV, complimentary WiFi, a laptop on the room if you needed one to use to access the Internet, a balcony, a large rolltop bath with views out into the city, a seperate raindrop shower, and the ultimate in Japanese toilets (heated seat, washing, drying, motorised lid).

The hotel staff have very extensive knowledge of the Kyoto area, providing us with sevaral maps and suggestions of temples and sights to visit. The ones we weren't aware of or weren't planning on visiting were by far some of the most stunning sights we saw! The recommendations for gardens were some of the most beautiful spaces I have had the honour to walk around.

All the staff in the hotel spoke perfect English, and in the evenings were more then willing to suggest restaurants, make enquiries about reservations and check places had English menu's. If you do stay at Hotel Mume I would highly recommend you ask their advice on where to eat and visit.

Breakfast each morning consists of a boiled egg, bowl of fresh homemade soup, mixed fresh fruit with a bowl natural yogurt, a selection of bread and pastries, freshly pressed fruit juice and coffee or tea as you wish. The soup, fruit selection and breads change daily. The attention to detail is so good at Hotel Mume the first morning neither of us had the bannana that morning and the following two days we didn't have any bannana in the fruit selection.

Every evening between 5:00pm and 7:00pm the hotel Bar (or Saloon as often referred to in Japan) hosts a Happy Hour. You are are invited to enjoy complimentary drinks, from their wide variety of liquors and whiskeys, wine, beer or soft drinks. They also have an amazing selection of nibbles – each time our dishes were refilled they seemed to be some new! And this is a great opportunity to relax from a day's sightseeing, and talk about where to go that evening or the following day.

The love and pride all the staff have for their hotel and city cannot be understated. Next time we won't look for another hotel, we will be returning to Hotel Mume.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FozzyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    28
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
105
448
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Just lovely! Everything about the hotel is fantastic; just like everyone has quite rightly said. The staff make the hotel what it is; they really cannot do enough to make your stay perfect. Nothing is too much trouble. We mentioned that we would like to buy washi and visit specific sites and would find directions and suggestions printed out for us on our return.
Happy hour was a nice touch and breakfasts were delicious.
We would recommend Hotel Mume to anyone.

Room Tip: Wind room overlooks the little river, above the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBlackClio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigadoon, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed in Kaze (Wind) - an attractive modern room overlooking a stream. The bathroom was also very nice, with the most high-tech loo we encountered in Japan. There were the expected upscale amenities, as well as a more unexpected dehumidifier and air cleaner (which we didn’t need to use). The hostesses are wonderfully attentive to the comfort of their guests, as has been noted by everyone. They even contacted us prior to arrival to mention some building work next door, thoughtfulness which we appreciated. It did not disturb us in the least. We appreciated the assistance they provided to make our stay in Kyoto as good as it could be. Especially the fact that they recommended restaurants and made reservations for places we never might have found on our own. Being provided with a printed map and restaurant photo was very useful also. Two restaurants we enjoyed very much, Yata and Wabiya Rakuchu Tei, the third not so much. However, in fairness I will not name this one as other guests have enjoyed it, and we may simply have been having an off night. The breakfasts provided by Mume were delicious and unusual, and the happy hour a delightful respite after a day of touring.
We have stayed in other boutique hotels with attractive décor, attentive hosts and even the (very welcome) daily happy hour. However, in addition Mume has this wonderful location in the Gion district, which simply cannot be beaten. It would be a shame to stay anywhere else in Kyoto.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ozitravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We are discerning travelers and found the Mume to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in around the world. The service was exceptional, with help for the smallest request. We stayed in the butterfly room with its dark walls and red lacquer furniture, which hit the right note when we'd return after a day sightseeing. Could highly recommend this fine hotel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Hotel Mume is an absolutely stunning boutique hotel in Kyoto. The rooms are light and airy and beautifully decorated. The location is also fabulous - only a 5-10 minute walk into the heart of Gion. But the best part of this hotel is Hisako and her team. I have never experienced more welcoming, attentive and friendly staff. It was true Japanese hospitality at its best. Hisako went out of her way to help us make the most of our stay, recommending places to eat, things to do and welcoming us back at the end of the day with a coffee and a cold beer! This personal approach is something that you cannot buy and was one of our most memorable experiences of our entire trip. I highly recommend Mume for a wonderful Japanese experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieG220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Every review about the service at Mume does not do it justice, the staff at the hotel is simply the best!

We stayed at Mume for 2 nights in Kyoto and even before we arrived we received emails from management offering to help us plan our stay while we were in Kyoto, so when we arrived everything was already taken care of. The rooms were unique and very much had a japanese flair to them yet were very comfortable.

Also worth mentioning is the breakfast, simply fantastic!

Great hotel, great service, one of the best hotel's i have stayed at Mume I will be seeing you again in 2012!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlphaBaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Mume with my husband and daughter in late October. We booked the big (Flower) room and, my goodness, it was huge, with an absolutely stunning bathroom and its own private balcony. We stayed for 4 nights and then another 2 when we returned to Kyoto later in our trip. I can only agree with everything else written here about this wondeful hotel. Everything about it really is perfect: room, location, staff and service. And speaking of staff - you really couldn't find a more charming and helpful group of people. For example, I broke my glasses just before arriving and mentioned this to Hisako (the manager) and straight away she took them away for repair, at no charge. The staff instantly researched our every query, whether that be about autumn leaves, bonsai exhibitions, sushi knife stores or authentic sake bars, and printed information and directions (and walked with us to the main road to hail taxis, if we needed them). The staff also noticed which were our favourite bar snacks during Happy Hour, and presented us with many packets as a gift for our plane journey home. It's these sorts of things that make Hotel Mume special. We loved staying there, and hope very much to return some day.

Room Tip: The Flower room has a private balcony overlooking the stream outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumPlusOne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 366 in Kyoto
511 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, Kyoto
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#15 of 366 in Kyoto
2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#10 of 366 in Kyoto
2,240 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mume

Property: Hotel Mume
Address: 261 Shinmonzen dori, Umemotocho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0064, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing