We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So little time!”

Kyoto International Manga Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.34*
and up
Private Custom Tour: Kyoto in One Day
Ranked #82 of 1,120 things to do in Kyoto
Attraction details
Tommerup Stationsby, Fyn, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So little time!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

There's just not enough time on your trip, if you have to read all those great manga books - considered you are a fan. People sit everywhere to read, but it also gives you a great idead of how manga have spread through time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    159
    84
    34
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“MUST SEE! Totally not what I expected! FANTASTIC! WOW!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Visited with bi-lingual (Japanes/English) American kids aged 12, 10, 9 and 3. They LOVED this place! Parents LOVED this place too!

Signs around the museum are all in Japanese and English. The museum focuses on the history and future of manga art! There are manga books there in about every language you can imagine!

Parents had concerns visiting this place because manga in America is most often associated with something perverted. This museum was NOTHING like that! It was fantastic! We stopped here on a layover between trains at Kyoto Station. Located just a few subway stops from Kyoto Station in the Karasuma area. I wish we had more time to visit since we never even made it to the 3rd floor!

There are manga classes and all kind of events there. Kids loved the library where they could just grab their favorite manga book and curl up in a quiet corner and read. Even the library is awesome, not your traditional style at all, just a big friendly reading room!

If you go, you MUST see the traditional picture show in the little theatre on the second floor! This was definitely the highlight of our visit there! Fun, interactive, historical and entertaining!

The manga museum is built in an old schoolhouse from the Meiji era. There is a whole room dedicated just the history of the building! It's a fantasic blend of old and new.

This is not just a place for kids! Go if you get the chance!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sarandan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mostly in Japanese”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I didn't think that there was a lot to see here, probably if you understand Japanese, you will get more out of it. There was an electronic audio presentation on something that resembled an old video arcade machine that was in english, this was interesting but pretty much the only thing i got out of the visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank thebarnboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only for Manga Obsessives...”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Ok, so I like Manga and was interested to see the museum. It is not a museum, it is a library. Every room is covered in bookcases filled with Japanese Manga Comics. The first room you go into has Manga from around the world which is nice and there are rooms full of people reading manga, but it is not a museum. There is one room with the history of Manga (and Japan) which was actually very interesting. We were also there at the 1 year anniversary of the Tsunami and there was a free exhibition of art work from around the world supporting the victims. Unfortunately other exhibits were not free and with it already costing 800yen to enter we were not keen to spend more money (or time) in it.
My advice: only visit if you are REALLY keen on manga and are happy to spend all day reading it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Easy to get to and worth visiting even if you no interest in Manga”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Even if you have absolutely no in test in Manga the museum is worth the 800 JPY just to see and sample their vast collection and to learn a little bit about what Manga is and how to read it. Very easy to get to: subway to Karasuma-oike exit 2 turn right to crossroads then turn left and walk about two mins. You can't miss it. The museum cafe did a nice selection of cheap snacks.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AhlanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto International Manga Museum also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Kyoto International Manga Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing