We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just behind Zara. Very easy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi
Ranked #76 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My first experience with this sort of bargain hotel. The room is expectedly small and the bathroom is like a mini capsule of contraptions. The mattress is very hard which I presume is great for our backs. I only stayed for one night but I will totally recommend this place, it broke my perception that Japan is all too expensive

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rubiyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 352 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The price was the cheapest of all of all of the hotels I stayed in during my two weeks traveling around Japan. This was recommended to me by my friend, who lived in Kyoto. The location is excellent. Walk out the front door of the hotel, and you are right in the middle of all of the shopping in the Shijo area. Free breakfast, free (wired) internet, clean comfortable rooms, freebies for the ladies, and pick your own pillow. My only regret was not staying longer at this hotel. By the way, there are buses that go right to Kyoto Station on the main street, which is a super short walk outside the hotel. Much cheaper than taking a cab.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is a very well located hotel, within the area of Shijokawaramachi, veryyyyy close to Nikishi (Japanese traditional) market). The only annoying thing is, if you want your room to be cleaned by the hotel staff, you must stay out until 3 pm.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joko_Trikukuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed in a non-smoking room for two persons for three nights. It was a wonderful experience!

It will be difficult to locate initially but once you find the hotel, it's easy to get back to and to travel to other places. Locals are very helpful, so it was easy to ask for directions. In fact, two girls actually led us there personally and walked with us for quite a while. Located close to nishiki market and several other shopping streets. Restaurants and cafes are easy to locate!

Staff are rather friendly and helpful and we had little problem communicating in simple English. The room was clean, although a little small to open your luggage. I like that access to the rooms are controlled by passwords instead of keys. Breakfast was simple but delicious! Eggs are cooked in different ways every morning.The pillows we chose (yes, you get to choose your own pillows!) were a little too flat for our liking. Every day, we get to choose five complimentary items from the lobby and it was fun! The foot relaxing patches came in helpful after walking for a long day =)))

Overall, a wonderful experience! and definitely value for the money!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creati0ns88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I felt this was very good value for the money. The rooms were on the small side (like almost all Japanese business hotels) but the location was excellent as it was only a little bit off the main road and very close to the bus stops where you can ride to the temples and other attractions. The staff is very helpful and speaks good English. Internet access is free with LAN cable (provided in room).

You also get a very good free, hot breakfast. Note that you also get free drinks in the morning from the vending machines at the back of the breakfast room - they are otherwise 100 yen during the day from the vending machines.

It takes around 10 minutes from JR Kyoto station by taxi, which may be convenient if you are carrying a lot of luggage like we were. However, I would advise that if you are going to take a taxi, make sure you print the map out from the web site with the location of the hotel. During my trip in Japan, I noticed that all the taxi drivers I dealt with don't speak or read English very well - it will make things much, much easier if you can write/print out the address in Japanese or show a map as to where the hotel is

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCTH_PhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very easy to find. It's just behind Kawaramachi station. Location of the hotel is excellent as you have access to 2 subway stations and bus stops just a stone throw away.

It's also located only a few minutes walk away from Gion where there are lots of restaurants.

The room isn't that spacious as there was a sofa bed which we don't need taking up precious space. The hotel has free wifi too but only in the lobby.

The highlight of the hotel has to be its breakfast! It's buffet style and has several freshly baked bread choices and other side dishes. I love the organic salad with the sesame dressing! They have a few soups too and free drinks from their vending machines.

Overall, it's a nice hotel. I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Great location right in the middle of Kyoto's shopping area, 10minute walk to Gion and Higashiyama, with Kiyomizu not far at all. The hotel itself is a little hard to get to initially as its on a street with no car access. Once you know where it is its very convenient to get back to.

The hotel is super clean and the staff are loveley.
The breakfast buffet is great, sausages, egg salad, pastries, salad, corn soup, and unlimited soft drinks or coffee from the vending machine.

I will definately be back

very hard to beat for the $$

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biwako-bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Grand Bach Kyoto Select
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Vista Premio Kyoto
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Kyoto Central Inn
Kyoto Central Inn
#141 of 374 in Kyoto
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Hotel Gracery Kyoto Sanjo
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#37 of 374 in Kyoto
544 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi

Address: 538-1 Shinkyogokudori, Chukyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8042, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shinkyogoku Shopping District , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $84 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Super Hotel Kyoto Shijokawaramachi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing