We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”
Review of Village Kyoto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Kyoto
Ranked #71 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We booked the Japanese-style tatami room and it was surprisingly spacious & clean. We have good sleeps as the futons were really comfortable. Breakfast was sent to our room every morning. Wifi is only available at the lobby. Too bad we have no chance to try out their onsen as we were bringing kid below 2. Overall we have a pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again if we happen to visit Kyoto again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mon_0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (308)
There are newer reviews for Village Kyoto
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel is located in a good area close to many restaurants, super market and bus stops. The hotel rooms were clean and very large. We enjoyed the hot bath it was an excellent amenity provided by the hotel. The breakfast was not very good, but was not bad either. Excellent hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ara030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was very large, particularly by Japanese standards, and technically could have slept 5. The small sofas unfolded to create bases to put futons and duvets on. There was a large TV, small fridge, microwave, electric kettle, cups, glasses, tea bags, instant coffee, etc. in the room. Fresh pyjamas were provided everyday along with clean sheets and towels. The corridors are open to the outside, which were very cold and windy.

We arrived at the hotel at 1pm and were charged a small fee for getting the room two hours before 3pm. Breakfast was included and it was a cold breakfast in a box and delivered to our room, as there is no restaurant or breakfast room. We chose the vegetarian ‘Western’ breakfast and were disappointed with what we received. Otherwise, we were very pleased with the hotel and would stay there again. We did not have the opportunity to try the hot baths on the ground floor. We paid approximately £95 per night.

The hotel is located on Shijo-dori close to the Omiya underground station. The hotel is not well signed on the outside: there is no ‘Villa Fontaine’ sign, only ’Village Kyoto’. There are several convenience stores near the hotel and it is about a 15 minute walk from the hotel straight down Shijo-dori to the centre of Kyoto. Taxi fare from the hotel to Kyoto train station was ¥1,150 and this saved having to take two underground lines to the train station.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloKittyTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

For the price we did not expect such a good hotel. The room was huge for us five and the futons were comfortable. Best of all was the hot bath which we used every night. The location was perfect, just a couple of stations with the subway to Gion. The staff was welcoming and spoke good english. Breakfast was included but it was not good, we went out the next day instead.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank LisenBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Traveled with friends.Stayed in triple room for 3 nights.
Pro:
1. Hot bath. A must try in Japan. The hot bath room was well-equipped with everything you need for showering (shampoo, hair condition and shower gel) and grooming. Since it was separated from the male hot bath, ladies you can definitely enjoy the space and have a deep relaxation.
2. Make own bed. After all, it was not that difficult to make our own bed, and It was a happy moment setting up the bed with my friends. The room service did not disturbed the bed settings once we had set it. I put up 2 comforters for my bed (Since we had to make up our bed, hence, more pillows and comforters were given)
3. Room service. We traveled during winter season, it was around 2-6 degree. The room service crew turned on the heater after they had done cleaning the room. It was so considerate of them. Besides, we always left the room in a mess, but the stuffs were well arranged on the table every time we came back.

Cons
1. Breakfast was average, I ordered only the western menu thorough the stay, the potato salad was great! But my friends who ordered the rice bento and sushi did not finished their food and rather to sandwiches from convenient stores.

Overall, i did enjoy the stay and will recommend to anyone travel to Kyoto to stay here and I will stay back this hotel for future revisit

Room Tip: Onsen is a must try!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MunFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great place to stay to experience more traditional ryokan style accomodation! While we had a little trouble finding it due to the stations locally being shijo, snd shijo-omiya.. once we got there we loved it! Quite modern, and spacious for japan, and lovely and clean. Everything I could say about this property has been covered by other reviews, except the very cool fact (sometimes literally!
) that the hallways to the front doors of the rooms are open air!!! So unique, I've never seen it before.. quite funky! Were there great views?, not really but I liked our little carpark view from our 4th floor.. really a fantastic place to stay, you cannot fault it for the price! As others mention, the onsen downstairs was so lovely, though a word of warning on etiquette, as you'll find with any onsen in japan there are rules.. however this was the first onsen sign that clearly stated if you are tattooed you're not supposed to go in. I'm not, but noticing these rules made me consious that this one was a bit more serious.. not a bad thing I guess! Really found these futons and pillows perhaps the most comfy bedding we experienced in japan, and they were all quite good!

Room Tip: Pick the 35m room, it was a good size!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777enzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Rooms here are small (especially the bathrooms) but they are clean and comfortable. The location is quite central but a bit awkward to get to by metro as you have to change lines from Kyoto train station (and buy separate tickets for each line). The breakfast is not so good. The onsen is really nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
Hotel Gran Ms Kyoto
#37 of 374 in Kyoto
544 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Royal Hotel & Spa
Shimogyo-ku
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Sanjo
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
Kyoto Itoya Hotel
#25 of 374 in Kyoto
334 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#73 of 374 in Kyoto
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Kyoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Kyoto

Address: 5 Mibu-Bojo-cho, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8804, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $68 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Kyoto 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Village Kyoto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Kyoto Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing