We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kyoto j-hoppers hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House
Ranked #29 of 370 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Reviewed March 29, 2012

A pleasant place to sstay while visiting Kyoto. A few minute walk from the closest subway and 10 minute walk from Kyoto station. Kujo subway station 2 minutes away which places you in easy reach of most sightseeing locations, and Kyoto station has a convient bus route specifically designed for sightseeing to the most popular cultural spots.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 148 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

If you are looking for a very affordable but pleasant way of touring Kyoto, J-Hoppers might be the guest house of your dreams. The place provides a lot of information on the possible visits/activities, and the staff is very friendly. it is very easy and quick to book a room from the internet, and you can enter the facilities if you arrive outside of the reception hours.
Great place !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SymA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Nice staff and clean hostal. The only problem, not hostal fault, it is that is a bit noisy due to the other guests.

Room Tip: Better to stay in a single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mallorcaval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Near the train station and convenient to access. Staff are friendly and helpful. There was a party going on in the common area one of the nights and the atmosphere was very lively. The room and bathroom were very clean but a roach appeared in our room on the last day, the only bad surprise for our entire stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyrenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Well located close to the main train station. Rooms are basic but air-conditioned and very clean and the common room is excellent. Great service.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Easterbeilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed at J-Hoppers Kyoto for almost three weeks this summer and I loved it. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They always made guests feel welcome. They would talk with us, answer our questions, and some staff members even threw a Wii Sports party one night for the staff and guests to get to know each other!

The rooms were very nice. My boyfriend and I stayed first in a Western-style twin room, then a Japanese-style twin room. The twin rooms were spacious and well-decorated, and very clean.

The staff literally cleaned the place top-to-bottom every day. The reception area closes from 11am to 3pm and the staff go and clean everything: the lounge area, kitchen, all the bathrooms. So the whole place always looked spotless.

I really enjoyed the big kitchen/lounge area. It was nice to have a place where we could store food and cook so we didn't have to eat out all the time. There are a lot of comfy couches, chairs, and tables where you can sit around and hang out with other guests. I got to know a lot of people that way.

I thought that the quality at J-Hoppers was a great bargain for the price. I also loved the system at J-Hoppers where you get coupons for staying a certain number of nights, which you can exchange for a number of things, like a free meal at a neighboring restaurant, a free bike rental, having your name written in kanji, etc. We stayed a long time so we got quite a few of these coupons to use!

One of the other reviews said J-Hoppers was 30 minutes away from the station and I'm not sure which station they meant, but it's is only 10 minutes away from Kyoto Station. There's also a bus stop right across the street where you can get a bus to Gion. There are some restaurants surrounding J-Hoppers, and a 7-11, Family Mart, and a grocery store, so I thought the location was convenient. It's not in central Kyoto so it takes a little while to get downtown and to most of the temples and other attractions, but I didn't really mind.

Overall, I would very highly recommend J-Hoppers to anyone visiting Kyoto!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank laura0988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Compared with my hotel in Tokyo, J-hoppers in Kyoto was not so good. The staff was nice but there were some weird things going on, for example next day at 7:00 a.m we had to take a train. The main door was closed, we couldn't open and no one was there. In the end after a while waiting, someone from the staff came and opened the door. The thing is that we lost the train. There was a way to open the door but they had forgotten to tell us. They didn't even apologize.
Also, the slippers they give you... It's difficult to walk with them, and specially in the stairs. I was about to fall down a few times. Plus, the showers were occupied most of times and at night some people were noisy. The room was ok, nothing wrong with it.

I wouldn't recommend it.
My hotel in Tokyo was cheaper and so much better in every sense.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celesmisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#18 of 370 in Kyoto
265 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#5 of 370 in Kyoto
820 reviews
Guesthouse Soi
#7 of 370 in Kyoto
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
#14 of 370 in Kyoto
51 reviews
Southern Kyoto
The Lower East Nine Hostel
Southern Kyoto
Kyoto Hostel Ryokan
Kyoto Hostel Ryokan
#94 of 370 in Kyoto
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House

Address: 51-2 Nakagoryo-cho Higashikujo, Minami-ku, Kyoto 601-8027, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Southern Kyoto , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 370 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $15 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first J-Hoppers guesthouse in Kyoto of Japan was founded by a trans-continental motorcyclist in 2002. It's an 8 minute walk from JR Kyoto Station. There are many important historical sites such as Toji Temple or Fushimi-Inari Shrine. The nearest bus stop is right in front of this hostel , which is on the quite convenitnt bus route to access to other major sights such as Kinkakuji, Kiyomizudera or Gion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your J-Hoppers Kyoto Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing