We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
32
19
3
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
32
19
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews compact hotel mini fridge reception staff kyoto station walking distance great location twin room massager avanti kintetsu smartphone laundry convenience luggage beds hairdryer japan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 57 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

No complaints here folks. Great location, terrific staff, clean, friendly and good value. Laundry on site for a few hundred yen. No breakfast or coffee so we headed to McDonalds daily for breakfast. Great thing it was only 5 mins up the road at Kyoto Station. Very good value. Courtesy shuttle bus to Nishiki Market and a few Temple and shrines. Thanks Garnet Hotel!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Allder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is its location, just 4 minutes walking to the Kyoto station (Shinkansen exit). It is great if, like me, will be popping in and out of trains, as you can access the tracks in a few minutes walk.
The hotel itself is pretty new and modernly decorated. Rooms are average size for Japan (smallish) but you have everything you need in then. I was specially surprised by the face steamer machine to clean your pores!
There is a coin operated laundry room so it came handy to do our laundry there.
The staff is really nice and helpful. I would definitely consider staying there again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

The hotel is located on the south side of Kyoto station, a 5 minute walk away. It was nice to come back to a quiet area after a long day of sightseeing. We had a double room which was small. We only had carry-on bags and it was fine for us. The bathroom was tiny but the bath was deep and good for soaking in as long as you aren't very tall. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. They provide a handy phone for use which was nice but it didn't hold a charge for more than half a day. They have ice, vending and laundry services on the first floor. There are also vending machines and several convenience stores located close by the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank docious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Staff are super friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean and bed comfortable. It's just the size of the rooms that bring the score down. They are tiny by western standards. We are not big people and with only a suitcase each is logistics every day trying to get around the room.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

We do recommend the location of The Garnet Hotel Kyoto Station. It is located 5 mins walk away from the rear entrance of Kyoto Station. So, where is more tranquillo in compare with the hotels located near by the main entrance of the station. And very convenient too! Also their rooms are pretty comfy. We had tried two types of the room. Standard double room and twin room. Both lovely, and well equipped.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GinAWenG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews