We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience in an unforgettable place.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian
Ranked #74 of 373 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Getting to Salon Haraguchi WITHOUT a cab might seem a bit complicated. BUT if you willing to walk to this place - u'll it very profitable and unique experience.
Salon Haraguchi is really high and located next to beautiful places to take a walk in.
beautiful temples, great parks and outstanding Cemetery.
Unfortunately, because of our late reservation we would able to stay there only for 1 night and mr Haragotchi was busy but he promise us that next time we will be there he will take us to his Favorite places in kyoto.
absolutely perfect stay, highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oded T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
There are newer reviews for Salon Haraguchi Tenseian
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had a pleasant days in Salon Haraguchi, such a lovely and serene place to stay. The whole house was belong to us and that gives perfect privacy and freedom. The ryokan is located in Maruyama Park and behind Yasaka Shrine; which is walking distance to Gion district. In just about 10-15mins walk there's a bus top which is just next to Yasaka Shrine, where you can hop on and tour around Kyoto city. There's a hiking path just beside the ryokan. It is not suggested if you're walking with your luggage as the path is inclining towards the Ryokan, it can be really tired out but is a good exercise though. Haraguchi-san is hospitable as he picked us up in one of the bus stop, drove us off to the Ryokan and drew a detailed map to show us attractions that must go, great food that must try. On top of that, he drove us to the Golden Pavillion and Bamboo Forest. On our last day in Kyoto, Haraguchi-san allowed us to leave our baggage in the Ryokan and pick up by evening; and what makes us feel grateful the most was he offered to send us to Kyoto Station so that we can reach Kansai airport on time. We'd love to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hsyeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed our last night in Kyoto at this lovely place. I wish we could have had more time. Mr. Haraguchi was an amazing and gracious host. Since we were moving from one location in Kyoto to his place, he allowed us to stop by in the morning to drop our luggage off while his wife was there.
The place is located in/above Maruyama Park, which is nice to stroll through. It is about a 10 minute walk up a fairly steep hill, which when walking with our luggage there, was probably not the brightest idea (should have taken a cab). Without the luggage, it isn't so bad. Also located very close to the heart of Gion and lots of different temples/shrines.
We went back in the evening and Mr. Haraguchi drove us around to see some sights that were further away - The Golden Pavilion, as well as his favorite spot in Kyoto. For the evening he drew us a great map of the different sights to go see and where to eat. He also arranged for a cab to come and get us early in the morning as we needed to catch the train.
We were at the place ourselves, and it was very quiet and would have definitely liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CadetBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Ryokan. Fantastic quiet location, next to Maruyama Park, behind the shrine. We had the whole house to ourselves , our son loves the experience of sleeping and sitting on the floor. Mr. Haraguchi is hospitable, he drove us to the Golden Pavillion and the Rock Garden in the rain, and waited for us while we did our sightseeing. He also picked us up from our hotel, we were most grateful as we had a lot of luggage.

The only downside, is that no food is served in the house, it is about 10 min walk to the nearest bakery. Most taxi drivers was not familiar with the location of the ryokan. However, there is a brochure in the house that has a map and directions in Japanese, you just have to remember to bring it along. We absolutely loved the location though, close to the Gion area, but peaceful and quiet.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ClassyOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Staying at Tenseian is a unique and relaxing experience. The house is in the heart of the city and yet surrounded by Maruyama park which gives it a perfect combination of convenience and tranquility. It has large traditional rooms spread over two floors decorated with some of Haraguchi-san's beautiful sky blue celadon ceramics.

Haraguchi-san himself is generous with his time and his knowledge of Kyoto. He clearly loves the city and is genuine in wanting his guests to experience everything it has to offer from its food to its history and culture. I recommend his place highly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneySombrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This review is for the apartment rented out by Haraguchi-san near Kiyomizu Temple, NOT the ryokan owned by the same family in Maruyama Park. My husband, I, and our two college-age children stayed at the apartment for four nights in late May. It is on the second floor over the owner's ceramic art studio. Up a steep flight of stairs, there are four rooms-one with two western style twin beds, one big enough for 2-3 futons (all beds were extremely comfortable), a luggage room, a kitchen (equipped with plates, cups, a fridge, microwave, but no stove), bathroom, shower, and a washer and dryer. It is not fancy, but an authentic experience if you want to see how the Japanese live, more like housesitting. There is no housekeeping, but towels are refreshed every couple of days. We loved having the place to ourselves, being able to wash our clothes, and buying pastries from the local bakery in the morning (ask the owner to point it out), The location at the base of Kiyomizu Dera is pretty convenient, unless you want to be closer to the main street (Shijo Dori), where there is more to do at night. It's about a 20-minute walk to Shijo Dori, or a short bus ride. The bus stops on the big street right by the house (Gojozaka stop).There is a 24-hour supermarket nearby (Fresco), as well as some good restaurants. Chakra, the Indian restaurant at the bus stop, is very good--we ate there twice. Haraguchi-san, the owner, speaks English, and gave us a 3-hour tour of Kyoto in his car--and he and his wife were very attentive to anything we needed. While there is no one on staff in a private apartment, the owners live a few doors down, and it was no problem to knock on their door when we needed assistance. Good value for a family or group of 4-5 people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelluver222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had emailed the owner 3 months before our stay. In the last email, he said "Salon Haraguchi Tenseian has vacancy [dates], so we can accept your reservation" and "Please check the price in cash at check in time or 1st or 2nd night." We therefore thought we had a reservation at Salon Haraguchi. Stupidity, I did not confirm this closer to the date. It took us 1 hour to find the location, which included 2 taxi rides as well as 30 minutes of hiking up hill with 4 suitcases only to discover that we had no reservation there. The owner was extremely friendly and tried to help us arrange another place to stay, We just decided to take a cab back to the city and stay at a cheap hotel near Kyoto station. The moral of the story: Make sure you confirm your reservation. It will save you the $25 in cab fees and 3 hours of your life.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel123N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Motonago
#7 of 373 in Kyoto
359 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#9 of 373 in Kyoto
235 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kikokuso
Kikokuso
#82 of 373 in Kyoto
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Maifukan
#44 of 373 in Kyoto
326 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Gion
Yuzuya Ryokan
Yuzuya Ryokan
#90 of 373 in Kyoto
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salon Haraguchi Tenseian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salon Haraguchi Tenseian

Address: 7-3 Maruyama-cho, higashiyama-ku,, Kyoto 605-0071, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing