We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and serene location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kyoto
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian
Ranked #73 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene location”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed our last night in Kyoto at this lovely place. I wish we could have had more time. Mr. Haraguchi was an amazing and gracious host. Since we were moving from one location in Kyoto to his place, he allowed us to stop by in the morning to drop our luggage off while his wife was there.
The place is located in/above Maruyama Park, which is nice to stroll through. It is about a 10 minute walk up a fairly steep hill, which when walking with our luggage there, was probably not the brightest idea (should have taken a cab). Without the luggage, it isn't so bad. Also located very close to the heart of Gion and lots of different temples/shrines.
We went back in the evening and Mr. Haraguchi drove us around to see some sights that were further away - The Golden Pavilion, as well as his favorite spot in Kyoto. For the evening he drew us a great map of the different sights to go see and where to eat. He also arranged for a cab to come and get us early in the morning as we needed to catch the train.
We were at the place ourselves, and it was very quiet and would have definitely liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadetBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
65
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the Ryokan. Fantastic quiet location, next to Maruyama Park, behind the shrine. We had the whole house to ourselves , our son loves the experience of sleeping and sitting on the floor. Mr. Haraguchi is hospitable, he drove us to the Golden Pavillion and the Rock Garden in the rain, and waited for us while we did our sightseeing. He also picked us up from our hotel, we were most grateful as we had a lot of luggage.

The only downside, is that no food is served in the house, it is about 10 min walk to the nearest bakery. Most taxi drivers was not familiar with the location of the ryokan. However, there is a brochure in the house that has a map and directions in Japanese, you just have to remember to bring it along. We absolutely loved the location though, close to the Gion area, but peaceful and quiet.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassyOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Staying at Tenseian is a unique and relaxing experience. The house is in the heart of the city and yet surrounded by Maruyama park which gives it a perfect combination of convenience and tranquility. It has large traditional rooms spread over two floors decorated with some of Haraguchi-san's beautiful sky blue celadon ceramics.

Haraguchi-san himself is generous with his time and his knowledge of Kyoto. He clearly loves the city and is genuine in wanting his guests to experience everything it has to offer from its food to its history and culture. I recommend his place highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneySombrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This review is for the apartment rented out by Haraguchi-san near Kiyomizu Temple, NOT the ryokan owned by the same family in Maruyama Park. My husband, I, and our two college-age children stayed at the apartment for four nights in late May. It is on the second floor over the owner's ceramic art studio. Up a steep flight of stairs, there are four rooms-one with two western style twin beds, one big enough for 2-3 futons (all beds were extremely comfortable), a luggage room, a kitchen (equipped with plates, cups, a fridge, microwave, but no stove), bathroom, shower, and a washer and dryer. It is not fancy, but an authentic experience if you want to see how the Japanese live, more like housesitting. There is no housekeeping, but towels are refreshed every couple of days. We loved having the place to ourselves, being able to wash our clothes, and buying pastries from the local bakery in the morning (ask the owner to point it out), The location at the base of Kiyomizu Dera is pretty convenient, unless you want to be closer to the main street (Shijo Dori), where there is more to do at night. It's about a 20-minute walk to Shijo Dori, or a short bus ride. The bus stops on the big street right by the house (Gojozaka stop).There is a 24-hour supermarket nearby (Fresco), as well as some good restaurants. Chakra, the Indian restaurant at the bus stop, is very good--we ate there twice. Haraguchi-san, the owner, speaks English, and gave us a 3-hour tour of Kyoto in his car--and he and his wife were very attentive to anything we needed. While there is no one on staff in a private apartment, the owners live a few doors down, and it was no problem to knock on their door when we needed assistance. Good value for a family or group of 4-5 people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelluver222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had emailed the owner 3 months before our stay. In the last email, he said "Salon Haraguchi Tenseian has vacancy [dates], so we can accept your reservation" and "Please check the price in cash at check in time or 1st or 2nd night." We therefore thought we had a reservation at Salon Haraguchi. Stupidity, I did not confirm this closer to the date. It took us 1 hour to find the location, which included 2 taxi rides as well as 30 minutes of hiking up hill with 4 suitcases only to discover that we had no reservation there. The owner was extremely friendly and tried to help us arrange another place to stay, We just decided to take a cab back to the city and stay at a cheap hotel near Kyoto station. The moral of the story: Make sure you confirm your reservation. It will save you the $25 in cab fees and 3 hours of your life.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel123N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had the whole house to ourselves which added to the experience in immersing ourselves in the japanese way of living. The house is huge with lots of hidden rooms and was wonderfully cool in the hot temperature. Mr Haraguchi was wonderful and took several hours out of his day to drive us to the difficult areas in Kyoto, we can not thank him enough for being so accommodating. The house itself was in one of the nicest parks in Kyoto, 5mins walk through the park and through the shine gets you to the Geisha streets of Gion.
Excellent experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Since my sister and I were visiting Japan for the very first time, a stay in a ryokan/guesthouse was a must on our to-do list. After reading the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and receiving friendly and prompt responses by Haraguchi-san to my questions, staying here was a no brainer.

Haraguchi-san is a very gracious host and drove us around for nearly 3 hours around Kyoto to visit the Golden Temple and the bamboo forest in Arashiyama. He guided us through little streets and areas that we surely would have not have found on own. He gave us recommendations on places to eat and visit. His hand-drawn maps are quite spot-on and even gave us other recommendations on where to visit in Osaka, our next stop after Kyoto.

The house itself is very spacious and what you'd expect from a traditional Japanese home. It is located in a beautiful area and about a 10 mins walk to Gion. Note, there is no central heating so some areas of the house felt a bit cold (esp. in the morning) but there are heated carpets and effective heating units in the main rooms which make up for this.

Overall, it was a wonderful experience and I would come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Motonago
#10 of 369 in Kyoto
350 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
Hokkaikan Ohanabo
#7 of 369 in Kyoto
232 reviews
Maifukan
#41 of 369 in Kyoto
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Kyoto Yoshimizu
#101 of 369 in Kyoto
131 reviews
Gion Sano
#120 of 369 in Kyoto
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salon Haraguchi Tenseian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salon Haraguchi Tenseian

Property: Salon Haraguchi Tenseian
Address: 7-3 Maruyama-cho, higashiyama-ku,, Kyoto 605-0071, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Salon Haraguchi Tenseian Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing