We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Discover Kyoto's Geisha District of Gion!
52

Book in advance
from
$43.01
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Kennin-ji Temple
from $43.01
More Info
from $62.81
More Info
from $137.97
More Info
Dark Kyoto Tour
3 Reviews
from $66.17
More Info
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
572
363
78
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
572
363
78
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely temple tatami mats rock garden main temple zen gion artwork tourists shoes moss
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2019

That is, if you decide you absolutely must see the interior of the oldest Zen temple in Japan which was founded in 1202. Otherwise, just enjoy the park and the exterior architecture.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

After having been in Kyoto for several days and visiting incredible places such as Kinkakuji, I was starting to get a little bit “templed out”. However, just before moving on to Osaka I decided to check this place out. It’s definitely a little bit hidden and off the beaten trail, but absolutely worth the visit.

For ¥500 I was able to wander the grounds of this beautiful and authentic-feeling temple. There are pamphlets in English that can help describe much of the artwork you see as you walk around, and one can also rent an audio guide (I did not). The zen rocks gardens were very serene, but the most impressive part was the twin dragons on one of the ceilings.

Definitely worth the time to drop by.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank AveryVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

One of the best temples in Kyoto, with old and new art, wall paintings are lovely. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank 485shiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

Accidently stumbled across this temple while exploring the city. Beautiful premises and the famous dragon painting is very impressive. Very nice Zen gardens to just sit and have a rest and enjoy the temple. Definitely recommended!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank Sunny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

Having visited Kyoto over the years, Kenninji stands out as 'the' temple to experience Kyoto and Zen. Being the oldest Zen temple in Kyoto, it earns prestige as one of Kyoto Gozan. A visit includes Karesansui, Zen gardens, Zazen, sitting meditation (with extra fee) and to be awed by Japan's national treasures, Fujin and Raijin, the iconic Japanese Gods of Nature, and the twin dragon mural painted on the ceiling of the Dharma Hall.

Unlike Higashiyama Jisho-ji where visitors are often rushed, Kenninji accommodates and encourages one to visit at one's own pace. And with luck, one can even find his or her inner peace :)

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank Venus_Martian
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews