We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touristic street with and old taste”

Sannenzaka Ninenzaka
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.13*
and up
Private Highlights of Kyoto Tour
More Info
$432.83*
and up
Private Kyoto Walking Tour with a Photographer
More Info
$690.06*
and up
Private Full Day Kyoto Streets Tour with a Photographer
Ranked #28 of 1,120 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Touristic street with and old taste”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Totally worth to visit and walk this street, it's full of small shops and restaurants, you will even be able to have free samples of some products and eat japanese creations (i remember a green tea cookie for example). For me walking is the best way to get to know a place, specially a different country and culture... In this walk maybe you will see some geishas, we did. Take your time, walk, watch and have a good time, it's an old place in the middle of a new era, the houses looks like new but maintaining the old Kioto japanese style, even some of the owners or sellers are dressed like the old times... Simply enjoy! This street is part of a walking tour in lonely planet, I did it and totally worth it, it's a long walk but you visit some beautiful places in the way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    391
    102
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Could spend several hours here!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Similar to many others, we did Kiyomizudera in the early morning before hitting the streets and alleys of Sannenzaka/Ninenzaka. They were filled local and tourists which made the experience all that more exciting. Picked up some Uji tea. The shop that sold only chopsticks was really interesting. We came across a couple of maiko who were happy to be snapped with tourists. There's a shop that sells second-hand men's and ladies yukata, etc. If your budget doesn't allow you to purchase expensive souvenirs, purchase a yukata and hang it using a bamboo pole on a wall in your home.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TADoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice stroll down the alleys”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Strolling down Sannenzaka and Ninenzaka after a trip to Kiyomizudera was lovely. This is where you can see some nice old Japanese houses and lovely shops so do take a stroll once you are done with Kiyomizu. At the end of the stroll you can walk over to Gion which is nearby.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lilacsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Quaint and bustling shopping streets”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

These streets wind down the hillside near Kiyomizudera, with flights of steps at particularly steep sections. There are little shops and cafes along here, and I bought several gifts here. I also stopped for coffee at Inoda Coffee, which I'd recommend for its old-world charm. I liked these streets much more than Gion.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Quaint little town.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The place can get very crowded, but still a must visit. So much color, tradition and interesting little shops. My favorite is a tiny shop of hand made Japanese cat figurines (I bought several), next to the stairway. The intersection from Sannenzaka to Ninenzaka is easily missed, as the sign is small and many tourists pass by without making a right, and continue down Sannenzaka. Attached is a photo of the sign - look for it, because Ninenzaka is not be missed. Have fun!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Moonlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sannenzaka Ninenzaka also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Sannenzaka Ninenzaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing