We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Heian Shrine
from $44.31
More Info
from $74.09
More Info
from $166.80
More Info
Reviews (1,224)
Filter reviews
1,224 results
Traveler rating
456
564
192
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
456
564
192
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stepping stones covered bridge imperial palace peaceful place shrine trees founding pond bloom stroll replica
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 1,224 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2019

One of the most beautiful gardens we saw during our trip to Japan. The shrine is also nice, but rather typical, although it has a significant historical importance.

A Torii gate (24.2 m) is very beautiful.

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank EarlyRetirementAbroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

A rather gaudy shrine on first impressions which seems to be everyone's checklist and every set of postcards of Kyoto. Do not miss the walk-through garden at the back, entrance via a side-gate. All in all a quite pleasing experience and well worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank petertaylor57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

This was a lovely shrine but after a whole day of shrine and temple hopping, we were a little shrine fatigued. It was beautiful and it was cool to see the gigantic Torii down the road from it, but if you can't squeeze this in, it's okay. We took a quick stroll around and were probably in and out in about 15 min.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank SRinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2019

This is well worth a visit- the wooden buildings are brightly colored and are quite different to most other shrines and temples in Kyoto. There are Japanese gardens round the back which are well worth a visit

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

One of the best Sakura (Cherry Blossom) Viewing Spots in Kyoto. The Shrine and the garden is located downtown Kyoto around 20 minutes walk from Yasaka Shrine. We parked our car at one place and started to walk around in Yukata around Gion, Yasaka Shrine, Kiyomizu Dera, Heian Shrine and so on for the whole day.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank private_tour_osaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews