We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful gardens”
Review of Tenryuji Temple

Tenryuji Temple
Book In Advance
More Info
$428.00*
and up
Private Tour: Arashiyama and Fushimi Inari Tour from Osaka
Ranked #19 of 1,113 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Zealand
Level Contributor
290 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I liked the temple buildings, but I really loved the gardens. It was summer so many shrubs were flowering, with beautiful reflections in the lake.

Tenryuji is very easy to get to as it's close to the station, and the walk leads on to the bamboo grove. It was part of a great day visiting Arashiyama.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Selsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    524
    125
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden in Arashiyama!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The garden within the temple is beautiful. Was here in June and the hydrangeas were in bloom. Very nice and tranquil place to walk around. There is a lake near the main entrance where one can sit and meditate and appreciate the simplicity of japanese gardens.

There are two entrances to Tenryuji Temple. One is the main entrance along the main road of Arashiyama and another is along the Bamboo forest which enters from the back.

Suggest taking the Randen/Keifuku Electric Railway to Arashiyama from the Shiyo Omiya station. It is a tram-like railway and runs through a couple of neighborhoods on the west side of Kyoto. The Randen station is right in the middle of Arashiyama so it is very convenient.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbear88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent garden”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although not very broad, the garden was great. We visited there on a sunny day, and the view with sunshine dancing on leaves was really relaxing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HsinYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Must See in Kyoto - Arashiyama!!!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Tenryuji is the most important temple in Kyoto's Arashiyama district. It was ranked first among the city's five great Zen temples, and is a world heritage site. The beautiful landscape garden features a central pond surrounded by rocks and pine trees. The place is crowded and being there early in the day will avoid lot of crowd.
The temple can also be reached in a 5-10 minute walk from JR Saga-Arashiyama Station, which is connected with Kyoto Station by train (10-15 minutes, 230 yen).
Admission Fee: 500 yen

Cheers
Vijay

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijayvj007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Biking to Tenryuji through the Bamboo Grove”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We started the day taking the train from Kyoto station to JR Saga Arashiyama station using our JR pass. We rented bicycles next to the station and headed towards the bamboo grove. There were not that many tourists in the early morning so riding the pathways was easy. We stopped at Tenryuji and enjoyed the beautiful garden. After that we rode our bikes around the streets stopping for food and enjoying the scenery. We even rode up the mountainside before returning out bikes. A great way to see this gem!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LTK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenryuji Temple also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Tenryuji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing