We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ryokan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Ranked #56 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Ryokan”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everybody at the front desk was very welcoming and all spoke excellent English. It was our first time at a ryokan, and it was everything we expected it to be. The room was a good size and sleeping on the tatami mats was very comfortable. Rooms have wired internet access. The room also comes with kimonos and instructions on how to wear them.

They also provide breakfast but it's a little pricey. All in all, it was a great hotel. We highly recommend it!

The hotel is a medium-sized walk north from Kyoto Station. It's about 15 minutes, so if you have luggage you might want to get a cab, which will cost about $10 USD. It's right on the bus line, so you could also take the bus, especially if you have an unlimited pass. Once you're there, the hotel sells unlimited bus passes, which is the best way to get around Kyoto.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    177
    37
    14
    12
See reviews for
69
257
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
weegolo
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ryokan Sakura was lovely, and very welcoming. The rooms were simple and clean, and our beds in the western style room were comfortable, while my kids stayed in a japanese style room and seemed to rather like getting their beds out of a cupboard each night. The location is great - a 10 minute walk to the station, and literally just around the corner from Nishi Honganji, a stunning buddhist temple on the UNESCO world heritage list. It's set in a maze of small back streets that make for a gentle and interesting walk back to the lodge each night.

The staff were very good indeed: friendly and welcoming, and really helpful in searching out information on Kyoto for us when we had odd questions. Breakfasts were good if uninspiring.

We'll definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weegolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This Ryokan gives you a taste for traditional Japan but has just enough modern comforts.

The reception staff were really friendly. Their English is excellent. They took the time to show us around on arrival. Gave us warm towels and Japanese tea while we were checking in.

We stayed in room 112, a ground floor room with a tiny Japanese garden. We were close enough to the reception to pick up the free wi-fi. There was also an ethernet cable in the room.

The room has a separate toilet from the bathroom. There was a hair dryer. The toilet has all the Japanese tricks, such as an automatic flush when you get up and a heated seat!

There is a small fridge and a safe in the room. The air conditioning is also great and has a remote. How to use everything is explained in a folder containing loads of useful information. Including how to setup your beds, which you have to do yourself.

The location is really good. It's 15 minutes to walk Kyoto station or 10 if you're lucky with the pedestrian lights and enjoy a fast walk.

The nearest bus stop is less than 5 minutes walk and connects you straight to Nijo Castle or Kinkaku-ji. You will be provided with a local map for all of the roads surrounding the Ryokan to show you where things like the bus stop are.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay. My colleague at work had stayed here the year before and recommended it to us. I can see why.

Room Tip: Room 112 can pickup the wifi from the reception. But beware it will be noisier, so don't book it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timberford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights while visiting Kyoto in November 2012.

It wasn’t our first choice, but we booked quite late and found it hard to find accommodation over the weekend. Having said that, we didn’t have any issues with the accommodation.

I had read other reviews stating that the ryokan is difficult to find, but armed with a map from its website we were easily able to navigate our way there from Kyoto station. I’d say it’s a 10-15 minute walk from the station without luggage and a 15-20 minute walk with luggage. We found the walk to be fine, but if you have a lot of bags or are arriving at night a taxi would probably be your best bet.

We were greeted with tea on arrival and shown to our room, which was the Tea Ceremony Room.

We found the room to be fairly small but comfortable. It had tatami mats; floor level chairs and table; a separate toilet and shower (in a tiny bathroom); tea supplies; a bar fridge for storing drinks (vending machine in the street outside); and futons/pillows/bedding which you had to set up yourselves. Some people would probably prefer to have their beds made for them, but we found it quite fun to be able to arrange it how we liked. There were a couple of Japanese bathrobes as well.

The TV channels were mainly in Japanese but we found a button on the remote that would remove the Japanese dubbing from any American shows and convert them back to English.
There is free wi-fi available in the communal area but not in the rooms themselves. There is also a computer terminal, but this was usually occupied by another guest. The communal area had a bit of a youth hostel feel, with people hanging out and chatting to other guests. It could get a little noisy in the morning when everyone was having breakfast, but nothing too bad.
We ordered breakfast at the ryokan on the first day (choice of toast, yoghurt, ham, etc). It was very cheap but pretty average. A better option is the Royal Host restaurant around the corner, which is apparently open 24 hours a day, is affordable, and has a wider range and all you can drink bar.

The staff was very helpful, with excellent English. They told us how to get to Arashiyama ourselves instead of wasting money on a guided tour. They also pointed us towards some great little authentic okonomiyaki and tempura restaurants nearby, where we had some of our best and cheapest meals in Japan.

While the ryokan is close to Kyoto Station and a World Heritage listed temple, it is not centrally located so you will need to get a bus to places such as Gion. Reception sells all-day bus passes for a few dollars.

It poured with rain one day during our stay so the umbrellas at reception were a welcome feature. You just take one in the morning and return it when you get back. We also found the on site washing machine useful.

I’d say this is a good option if you don’t mind not being in the centre of town and getting around via bus. It’s also not a traditional ryokan, with no dinner provided and no curfew, so if you’re looking for an authentic ryokan experience go elsewhere – but you won’t find a proper ryokan for a cheaper price.

For us, it was an affordable way to get a piece of the ryokan experience, while being able to eat what we liked, come and go as we pleased, and save a few dollars as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lorexstevex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here during our trip across Japan and Korea, and this was the most beautiful place we staying.

The ryokan has been beautifully restored to a beautiful Japanese house, and the rooms are simple but very nice. We stayed in a traditional tatami mat room with a futon, which may be a bit different for Westerners but is actually comfortable enough and a great experience. There is something very relaxing about these tatami rooms.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, with a much higher standard of English than you find in most places in Japan too. They were always more than happy to help or offer advise on Kyoto and its surrounds.

A minor down-point is that although the hotel is close to the train-station, it is a bit of a walk from Sinshaibashi and Gion - the two areas that you will probably want to spend your evenings for dinner and drinks. That said, it is easy to get a bus to the train station from there, and then a short walk back to the ryokan.

We loved this place, and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisUKinHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I'm at the end of a four-night stay here, and the staff has been great. The best meal of our 14-day trip around southern Japan was this tiny noodle shop three blocks from the ryokan. With only nine seats at the counter and two guys running the show, a line forms quickly. Get the spicy pork ramen. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilinili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Slightly hard to find, don't take the wrong exit out of the train station or you end up on the other side of the tracks!

Stayed in a tatami style room which was very peaceful and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Giving us recommendations

Deep bath in ensuite and robes also.
Breakfast was good value as you cannot get something local for that price.

Would recommend. Slightly far from Gion however just jump on the local bus!

Also I recommend hiring cycles to see the city, safe way to travel and see more of the city

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyEmmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Northern Kyoto
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ryokan Yamazaki
#93 of 369 in Kyoto
189 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#34 of 369 in Kyoto
225 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#63 of 369 in Kyoto
501 reviews
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#31 of 369 in Kyoto
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji

Property: Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Address: 228 Butsuguyacho Aburanokoji Hanayacho Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8347, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
#36 Best Value Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura is designed like a traditional wooden townhouses in the past and combined with modern-style life. Located in the heart of the city and offers touch of japanese cultures." Feel you're living in Kyoto while you're travelling" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rakuten, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing