We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$170
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$398
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$97
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$100
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$174
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$283
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveler rating
293
190
41
14
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
190
41
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese style roomsukiya styletea ceremony roomkyoto stationminute walkown futonwestern roomjapanese calligraphysake tastingbus stoptatami matsquiet streetprivate gardenbicycle rentallawson convenience storewalking distancejapanese experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 551 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Very nice Ryokan Style Hotel, modern clean and very close to 2 beautifull temple areas. Breakfast is not a must, but ok at least for first morning. Access to bus system at this side of city is a little limited but since you have to change often anyway, not a big deal. Rooms are clean and nice, hotel is very quiet! Bus day-tickets are sold at front desk, staff is also very knowledgeable and speaks very good English.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kersten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We loved the calm and authentic neighborhood, reasonably close to the train station, but a bit far from main action at night (Gion, etc.).

Very nice staff with good recommendations on various attractions, except the boss who was not as friendly and helpful.

The rooms were decent and clean. We opted for japanese style, really cool. But I still don't understand the supposedly "japanese home feel" to unroll the futons yourself and make your own bed every night... Free wifi in the lobby could be accessed from our room as well. Very convenient.

The main downside was the noise. We were not very much concerned about that at start, but changed our mind on the 2nd night. Some new guests arrived and were disrespectfully loud, early in the morning and late at night. The cooks also like to keep their kitchen's window open while banging on their pans at 6am when preparing the breakfast. Terrible cacophony to start your day...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globexplorer399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Ryokan is very nice and clean looking. The staff is extremely friendly and will do whatever they can to help you. They have a lot of resources (like free travel books to use) to help you with your experience. The Ryokan has a homely feeling to it, so you feel like you're staying at someone's home, not a hotel. The morning breakfast is decent, but for that price, I would just eat something outside. The 500 yen washing machine/dryer is great (especially those who have been travelling a while!)

Only issue is that it is about a 20 minute walk to JR Kyoto station and could be confusing to find the place the first time walking there. I also gave it a 'poor' rating for sleep quality because I could not get used to the tatami/futon! haha

Overall, great experience, would go again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted to have the traditional Ryokan experience, but weren't willing to pay upwards of 200 per person to have it. This Ryokan was a wonderful compromise. It was not too expensive (at least not for Japanese standards) and gave us the experience of sleeping on tatami mats. Unfortunately for us, there was no breakfast served on weekends, (oddly it is only served during the week,) but this was fine as we managed to find some nice cafes nearby where we could select random characters off a menu to amount to food!

The location is nice, on an old, traditional road and it was fairly easy to navigate from the main train station. We even took the advice of the Ryokan as to where to rent a bike for the day and had a great time exploring the once-a-month Sunday market and some Shrines by bike. I would highly recommend this method of transport as you will get to see so much and its fun to explore a new city on wheels, instead of relying solely on transport.

One thing I found strange, but think this may be common for Ryokans or inns, the bathroom was plastic. Every inch of it was molded to fit into this small space. I found it very strange, but can only assume the original design did not have a bathroom in every room so it was retro-fitted.

WiFi is only available in the lobby, but this was fine and easy to use. Bathrobes were fun while in the room, and even the seats without legs were easy to get used to.

Otherwise it was a nice experience and I would have done it again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We just returned from our 1st trip to Japan. We visited several cities ending with Kyoto which was by far our favorite. This was our 1st experience in a ryokan and it was the perfect choice as it is centrally located to the Kyoto Station yet on a quiet street with residences and small businesses. As were were traveling with our 2 daughters (16 and 12), we had two rooms that were located next to each other at the back of the the first floor. The girls shared the tea ceremony room and we had a traditional garden room. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable with many amenities including a TV, hairdryer, toiletries and a closet. The futons were quite comfortable and I loved being able to store the beds away and have a spacious, neat sanctuary to come home to after a busy day. The front room of the ryokan has free internet connection, a lap top to use, lots of suggestions and guide books for touring Kyoto, tea/coffee and daily newspapers. We started and ended each of our days here planning and then recapping our days.

Everyone who works at the ryokan is friendly and available to greet you and help you navigate the beautiful city. The staff made arrangements for us to attend a traditional team ceremony at a beautiful oasis just down the block from the ryokan atop a family owned tea shop. While in Kyoto, we walked everywhere as the city is based in a grid and found lots of little coffee shops and sweet shops close to the ryokan. It was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsmbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews