We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Japanese Style!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Ranked #57 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Japanese Style!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I am late on writing this review..but I had to mention this place. It was GREAT. We stayed in the Japanese Style Room. We enjoyed our stay here. It is not on a major road but is withing walking distance to many great sites. After spending time here on our tour around Japan our only regret is not staying at this location longer. You will not be disappointed staying in this Ryokan, especially if you compare it to the prices of others in the area.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, the washer and dryer downstairs came in very handy.
The room was open and spacious enough for the two of us...now the bathroom..haha is very small but this is common from what I have seen in Japan, they do not waste space!!! I would recommend this place to my family and friends!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Japanese style room only so I cannot comment on what the western rooms are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    174
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
65
252
34
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We got a great deal at this hotel and ended up staying in Kyoto an extra 3 days because the hotel and area was so awesome. They have both Japanese and Western style rooms and it was real treat to stay in a Japanese style room with futons and very minimalist design. We stayed at many places much more expensive than this throughout Japan but this hotel had the best service of any of them.

It really feels like a travelers hotel. There are very many friendly travelers that spend time in the lobby chatting, reading and browsing the internet as there is free WIFI. Every morning the staff took the time to help us plan our day out and to recommend good things to do.

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed at and I travel about 50% of the year. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Japanese style rooms are preferable but if you are tall you may want to avoid it as the doorways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tubetop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This Ryokan was perfect. Not far from the main station, the staff was extremely helpful and so pleasant, spoke perfect English too. We stayed in a Japanese style room which was Devine. We stayed for 3 nights and definitely recommend to anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Balu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed here in a small single room.

Location:
Located on a small street about two blocks from the main street.
It's not very close to the train station, about 15 minutes walk away.
It is very quiet though.

Room:
Small ryokan room with a tiny bathroom that overlooked the street.
No real amenities other than a water heating pot.
At night, spread the futon onto the floor and start snoring away!
Surprisingly comfortable.

Staff:
Friendly staff that spoke good English.
The guy was a bit reserved but he was friendly enough to tell me how to get around to various places.

Overall:
Would definitely stay here again as it is very good value and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed here for about 5 nights - I was in a single Japanese-style room, and it was lovely. Cleaned every day with a linen change every other day. They had comfy yukata that I wore every evening. Lots of hot water in the morning. I asked for an extra mat and they ran it up to my room for me. There is wifi in the reception/dining area only, but when they noticed my friends and I were spending a lot of time down there with our phones, they gave us a free wireless router for our rooms. They ran a "flowing noodle" night where you catch noodles with chopsticks in a bamboo chute. The ryokan is on a little quiet side-street so it is a bit hard to find, and took us about 10-12 mins to walk to Kyoto station. The only critique I would give is that the Western-style breakfast was pretty much the same every morning - could have used a bit of variation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amska1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in a western style room for 5 nights and I'm really glad we choose that room. They do have ryokan rooms as well but I don't think our backs would handle a futon more than one night. Breakfast was really good the first days but the lack of choises made it boring after a while. Do try the Japanese style breakfast at least once. As a European, salmon and rice in the morning is really hard to get my stomage to agree with. The staff is great and they are really helpfully in every way possible. A bit overpriced but still a good hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmigrannt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed in a western room-clean, smallish...inroom kettle etc... ( bring your own tea/coffee- only green tea available).small fridge, and a 'capsule' shower/toilet.. Very helpful staff, with good advice re eateries.. if you print the map from their web site, easy to find- a 10min walk from the station..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#56 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokan Shimizu
Ryokan Shimizu
#55 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
City Center
Sawaya Honten
Sawaya Honten
#27 of 366 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji

Property: Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Address: 228 Butsuguyacho Aburanokoji Hanayacho Sagaru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8347, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura is designed like a traditional wooden townhouses in the past and combined with modern-style life. Located in the heart of the city and offers touch of japanese cultures." Feel you're living in Kyoto while you're travelling" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing