We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
135
45
10
2
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
135
45
10
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nespresso machine speak many languages great hotel laura ashley an executive double room train station kimono robes free handy phone mobile data comfortable clean rooms traditional japanese hotels grand lobby impressive hotel international staff air purifier small things five minute walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 199 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2019

We stayed 4 nights in an Executive Premium Double Room with breakfast included. This deal gave us access to the club lounge. Our room was very comfortable with plenty of space - the bed and pillows as we like; L'Occitane products were provided in the shower; WiFi was fine. I enjoyed the Japanese style design of the hotel lobby and entrance. The staff were helpful at times (they were able to organise a 1/2 day tour with an english speaking guide for us without any issue - which we weren't able to do ourselves on the Internet as everyone we approached was booked up). The location was very good as it was close to the train station and easy access to taxi's as well...but it was a way from the centre of Kyoto. Issues we had were: The club breakfast was less than average and not recommended. We did not realise we actually had access to the downstairs breakfast until our last day - we were not provided the choice - downstairs is recommended; the staff upstairs could have been more helpful - we had asked for a couple of things (like a bigger coffee cup) and were always told the hotel didn't have these things - but on the last day found everything we had asked for downstairs - this was a little disappointing.The happy hour in the club lounge in the evening was very average and not really worth anything - sometimes it is better not to do anything than to do it in a poor way - this is the case for this - the drinks were below average quality and the food I think was poor. Several items such as bottled water ran out and weren't replaced for 3 days - just small things like this that could easily be improved and it would improve the overall impression of an otherwise good hotel. This hotel gets a 4 star rating from me because the rooms were large, modern, clean and very comfortable and because the items identified as requiring improvement can easily be improved and it would really bring this hotel up.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 142JanetH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

We appreciate you taking your time to write us a detailed review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the decor of our hotel, our Executive Floor guest room, and the service from our staff who assisted you with tour during your stay. On the negative note, we are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the overall service at our Executive Lounge. We will share your feedback to our management so that we can fine tune our service. We will continue to strive to improve our service and standards to provide an exceptional experience during your next visit. Again, thank you very much for staying with us and for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you return to Kyoto for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2019

The location is great, the room we chose was good size by Japanese standard. The Bed and pillows comfortable ( I wish to highlight this factor because we stayed in another similar hotel in Tokyo but couldn't sleep well as the pillows were hard and all pressed up) Good service. Breakfast very good variety. We enjoyed our stay at Daiwa. value for money.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Helene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Thank you for staying with us and providing us a review. We are very pleased to hear that you like our location and our relatively spacious guest room. We have feather pillows in our guest room, and offer soft and hard feather pillows so that the guest can choose the softness with their preference, and we are glad to hear that you had a comfortable sleep. Our staff always try to offer a unique and personal service so we appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for also dining at our restaurant for the buffet breakfast. We are pleased to hear that your overall experience with us was pleasant, and we hope to have another opportunity to offer you with a memorable experience with us should you return to Kyoto in the future.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

the hotel is beautiful but that sadly is where the good things end. The room has different tags to put on the door to request for the room to be cleaned, we requested the room to be cleaned fully and got back to a made bed and new towels, our trash had not been taken out and the room did not look to be cleaned in any other way. The wifi in the lobby is stronger than in our room, we choose a larger hotel in hopes of better wifi, but sadly this was not the case. All in all, for the amount that we payed for the room to stay a couple of nights was not worth it. Would happily stay elsewhere next time we visit.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrandTour08059849015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Thank you for recently staying with us and taking your time to write us a review. We are glad to know that you liked the decor of the hotel, but we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. It is very unfortunate that you had a negative experiences with our housekeeping, and you did not find our WiFi service to be strong enough. Your feedback is very important, and we will immediately look into the issues. We will continue to fine tune our services in order to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. Although your stay was not as satisfying as you have expected, we hope the time you spent in Kyoto was enjoyable. Should you return to Kyoto, we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back under different circumstances.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Close to the central station and easy access to taxi and train. The rooms are new and clean, with comfortable beds, separate toilet and shower. The staff were very helpful and nice. Good prices. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Livontop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us and we appreciate your feedback during your stay. We are glad to know that you found our location to be convenient which is near Kyoto station, and we hope you were able to get around the city utilizing the public transports. We are also pleased to know that you liked our guest room with separate bathroom. All the rooms which is Premier and above have separate bathrooms and we are glad to hear you liked the room with spacious bathroom which may have offered you a more relaxing time while taking a bath. Thank you for also highlighting the service offered from our staff. We try to offer unique and personal experience to all our guest, and we are pleased to hear that we were able to offer you a pleasant experience while you stayed with us. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are looking forward to having another opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2019

Great choice for quality and good price close to Kyoto Station.
Not much more to say that hasn't already been written here.
Excellent buffet breakfast with large choice of western and Japanese foods including grilled steak !
Great comfortable king size bed.
Elegant large lobby with very helpful staff. Check in by Italian lady could have been better - perhaps she should reconsider being in the hotel industry dealing with customers. Other staff were very helpful.

Room tip: 515 was good
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2019

We would like to thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write a review of your stay. We are very pleased to read your generous feedback, and to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We would also like to thank you for dining at our restaurant for breakfast, and we are very pleased to know that you liked a grilled dish from our hot counter too. We have several rooms with King bed and we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our Simmons bed. In addition, we are pleased to hear that you liked the decor of the hotel which is a fusion of traditional and modern Japanese atmosphere which is also reflected in each guest room. On the negative note, we are sorry to hear how you felt about the service offered from our staff. You feedback is important, and it will be shared to our staff to further enhance our service and we appreciate your comment. Nevertheless, thank you for offering a generous review. We will try to keep up our high service standard, and we look forward to having another opportunity to be service of you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews