We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveler rating
157
51
12
4
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
157
51
12
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nespresso machine great hotel laura ashley speak many languages premium double room train station kimono robes free handy phone coin laundries mobile data the executive lounge comfortable clean rooms traditional japanese hotels air purifier lots of storage space grand lobby airport limousine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 231 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

A friend & I just spent 3 days here in the Hollywood Twin room. The hotel is one of the best I've ever stayed in. The staff were so accommodating & let us check in mid morning & upgraded the room. The room was super comfortable & felt luxurious. They provide slippers & robes, a coffee pod machine, room humidifier, & a mobile phone with travel tips. Shower head is huge as is the bath. Beds were firm & pillows soft. Our room was on the 5th floor & was very quite. I loved my stay here.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank CarlisleJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us while you were in Kyoto and for your review. We are pleased to hear that you describing your experience as "one of the best I've ever stayed in", and we truly appreciate your complimentary review. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with the service offered from our friendly yet professional hosts. We are also pleased to know that you liked the amenities which we carefully selected for our guest so that each guest has something to enjoy. We have Simmons bed in all our guest rooms, and hard and soft feather pillows to offer a comfortable sleep, and we are glad to know that you had a good night sleep.
We constantly seek to improve our service in order to satisfy our guests, and we hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again should you return to Kyoto so that we can offer you another “lovely stay” with us. Again, thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2019 via mobile

My partner and I spent two nights in an Executive double room in March and really enjoyed our short stay.

The room was a pretty standard size for a new-build but had lots of amenities including a huge TV (65”?), Nespresso espresso, Nespresso Matcha, Japanese robes, slippers, etc. It was quiet, and the climate control worked very well. Amenities like lots of power points, USB plugs, and central light controls were all present and functional. The king bed was comfortable.

The bathroom was similarly a standard size but featured separate, closing areas for the toilet and the shower/ tub. As seen in the pictures, the shower is separate from the tub. However, note that the tub is not a standard size; it’s about a foot shorter than what I’ve seen anywhere else in the world (and in 3 other hotels in Japan), which makes it difficult to fully submerge anybody over 4.5’ tall. The bathroom too featured lots of amenities like toothbrushes, combs, etc.

The Executive Lounge served light snacks and alcoholic drinks in the evening. I most remember that they had Glenlivet 12-year single malt Scotch. There was a high end American whiskey too, but I just can’t remember which one. Also, there was red wine, white wine, and a sparkling. And there were at least two types of beer.

The snacks consisted of three hot options, which were the same on both nights - pasta in marinara sauce, some chicken dish, and potatoes. In addition, there were some mini sandwiches, a couple of crostini’s, plus a small meat and cheese spread and the usual bar snacks.

The Executive Lounge was VERY quiet on both nights; we never saw more than 6 other people in a space that could hold at least 40 comfortably. Every one else appeared to be fellow travelers (no one looked like they were there for work). You can enjoy great views of the Shinkansen trains from the Lounge.

The included breakfast buffet was served in the main restaurant when we were there. The spread was quite good for a 4* hotel and included an omelette station, decent meat and bread selection, and good Asian options. However, I did think the restaurant felt very busy with lots of loud, casually dressed tourists. Maybe when the Executive Rooms are more booked, they serve breakfast in the Lounge.

I was pleasantly surprised by the seemingly large proportion of English-speaking, foreign staff including Russian, Italian, and French persons.

The hotel’s location is pretty good. It’s only a five-minute walk to Kyoto station and the underground walk-way that takes you to the far more built up side on the north side of the station. But to get from the hotel to the more built up side, will take you about 15 minutes underground.

Friendly Tip - I had the hotel book me a 90 minute full body massage at Hogushido for just 4,750 Yen (not a typo, really less than $45 USD). After walking 40+ miles over the last few days, it was a-m-a-z-i-n-g. I found the classy looking place online by searching for “Massage Kyoto Station” but the address is wrong in the top 5 article. It’s on the basement floor below the Daiwa Roynet Ekimae hotel and just a quick 15-minute walk from the Daiwa Grande via the subway tunnel mall.

While I normally stay at Hiltons (diamond member), my expectations were exceeded at the the Daiwa Grande.

I had also considered hotels in downtown and in Gion, but chose the Daiwa Grande for its new-build, proximity to the train station, excellent reviews, and relatively low price. It would be better if it were on the north side of the train station, but overall, I think you’ll be very happy here.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank shellzj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

We would like to thank you for taking your time to write us an extended review on TripAdvisor, and we are delighted to read that your overall experience with us was enjoyable. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Executive guest room and the service at Executive Lounge, and pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the quiet atmosphere of the lounge, selection of drinks and food we offer, and a great view of Kyoto station. The whisky we serve at the lounge is 12 year old Glenfiddich Single Malt Scotch Whisky, Old Parr Silver Blended Scotch Whisky, and Maker's Mark Bourbon Whisky. We also offer several kinds of Japanese bottled beer as well. Although the bathtub in the bathroom was not exactly the size you have imagined, we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the bath amenities we have selected carefully so that the guest can have a relaxing moment.
Thank you for also dining at restaurant for Japanese and Western style breakfast. Providing high quality food is very important to us, so we appreciate such good feedback. Our staff is multinational and we can speak 9 languages to welcome guests from all over the world, and we would like to thank you for also highlighting your praise for our friendly and helpful team of hosts who assisted you during your stay.
We are conveniently located near Kyoto station which is 5 minute walk from Hachijo East Exit, and we hope you made use of public transports to get around the city.
We appreciate detailing your experience while you stayed with us, and we hope to offer you another enjoyable time when you return to Kyoto for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2019 via mobile

Kind service, big good looking Hotel near train station, perfectly clean room / bathroom, big tv, fast wi-fi, what else do you need?
I travel alot and this is one of the best hotel in i’ve ever been!

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank DreXcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2019

Many thanks for taking your time to write a complimentary review of our hotel while you stayed with us. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the service offered from our friendly hosts, a convenient location near Kyoto station, our spacious guest room and bathroom, and other amenities we offer at the hotel. We are delighted to read your comment mentioning us as "the best hotel". We will continue to provide friendly yet personal service to make all of our guests enjoy their stay and to have a memorable experience. We hope the rest of your stay in Japan was enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel should you return to Kyoto in the near future.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019 via mobile

This hotel located just five minute walk from Main Kyoto train station is very comfortable and has all the amenities you would expect from a high-end hotel with a reasonable cost. It is also close to the shopping that is on either side of Kyoto station and the staff is attentive and the rooms are super comfortable

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank O456XCjohnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

We appreciate you taking your time to write us a complimentary review of our hotel and providing us with a generous score on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was very comfortable, and to know that you were also satisfied with the service from our staff who is always willing to offer a friendly yet professional service.
We are also glad to read your complimentary remarks for the amenities we offer. All the amenities are carefully selected so that each guest has something to enjoy. We are always trying to give our guests a pleasurable experience whilst providing a certain amount of luxury through our service and amenities. Thank you for staying with us, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return to Kyoto for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2019

What a wonderful experience in Kyoto! My partner and I stayed in an executive premier double room and had access to the executive lounge for breakfast, (some days breakfast was served in the ground floor restaurant) and evening snacks and drinks.

Our room was a great size and was nice and quiet, I had a great sleep every night. The bed was large and comfortable, and the bathroom was a highlight due to the large bathtub and L'occitane and Laura Ashley toiletries.

I particularly appreciated the kindness and enthusiasm of all staff. They were very intent on making sure that our stay was a memorable one. This was a refreshing experience as a lot of Australian hotels do not seem to go out of their way to make you feel valued.

The Italian restaurant on the ground floor is worth a visit as all hotel guests get a discount (around 10 or 15%). The food there was lovely and the service was impeccable.

I do feel that the executive room is worth the extra money, for the lovely snacks and drinks. This was particularly handy on our first night when we were too tired and cold to venture outside for a proper dinner (although the hotel is an excellent location right near the Kyoto station and nearby food courts).

The hotel is in walking distance to the station, a few malls and other amenities like a 7 eleven which is right next door. You can easily walk into the downtown area in about 30 minutes or so, it is an easy walk.

I would definitely return to stay here if I'm lucky enough to visit Kyoto again!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandeKyoto, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2019

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for taking your time to write such a wonderful review. We are delighted to read that you had a memorable experience with us, and to know that you enjoyed your stay at Executive Guest Room which is about 33 square meters with separate bathrooms which you found to be quite spacious. Also we are glad to hear that you liked the amenities in Executive Guest Room which we carefully selected so that every guest can enjoy and relax in the room.
We offer light snacks at the Executive Lounge throughout the day, and cocktail hour in the evening, and we hope you also enjoyed the view of Kyoto station.
We also appreciate you highlighting the service from our friendly hosts who are always willing to offer a unique and personal experience to all our guests, and it is a pleasure to read your kind remarks. They will be happy to hear from you as we strive to offer an experience with utmost care for each guest we encounter. We offer authentic Italian dish at our restaurant "La Terrazza", and we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with both the authentic dish we serve and the service from our professional staff.
With regards to the location of the hotel, we are located on the south east side of Kyoto station which is a hub of all the major transports, and it is 5 minute walk from Hachijo East Exit, and we are pleased to know that you found our location to be convenient.
Thank you for recognizing us, and again, for your kind review. We hope you enjoyed the rest of the time spent in Japan, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel to offer another memorable experience should you return to Kyoto in the future.

Sincerely,
Quality and Service Department
Daiwa Royal Hotel Grande Kyoto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews