We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way, but worth the time.”
Review of Toji

Toji
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.43*
and up
Kyoto Sightseeing Hop-On Hop-Off Loop Bus
More Info
$276.39*
and up
Viator VIP: Special Access to To-ji Temple with Resident Monk
Ranked #15 of 1,120 things to do in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth the time.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Late on a Sunday afternoon, I was able to enjoy the beautiful grounds of the Toji temple. As you visit other sites in the city, you may well see the five story pagoda nestled on the temple grounds. I had a chance to witness a monk lead a family in prayer in one of the temples. The religious deities, prayer requests, and serene atmosphere are a site to behold.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pricekarla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    456
    93
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Toji Temple garden, a hidden gem in Kyoto”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is one temple that is not on the radar screen of most tourists but is worth visiting especially when cherry blossoms is in full blooms.If you are staying near Kyoto station, it would be a shame to give it a miss. Facing New Miyako Hotel ( south of Kyoto station ) walk to your right towards AEON Mall. At the main road junction, turn left. Walk along the walkway beside AEON Mall until you reach the road junction behind AEON Mall. Turn right and walk straight to the ticketing office of the temple garden. You can see the tallest pagoda ( 5-storey ) in Japan surrounded by cherry blossoms from the entrance. If you don't like what you see, don't buy the admission ticket to the garden. You can walk around the temple compound free of charge. If you have a one day bus pass, just hop onto a city bus that display the " Toji Temple " signage. Temple opens from 8.30 a.m. till 5.30 p.m.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 911Steven21_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
562 reviews
309 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Lovely gardens in Toji Temple”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Toji Temple is a 10-15 minute walk from Kyoto train station & is home to the tallest wooden pagoda in Japan. The garden around the temple is lovely & has a pond with koi fish & some beautiful cherry blossoms.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lrnnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice pagoda!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

As others, in this one you can enter (not climb) on it. It is located in a beautiful Garden área. Take some time to visit and, if possible, to have contact with the monks who lives there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LeoAndMoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Flea Market good place to buy antiques..”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Flea market is held every 21st of the month. We were there quite early...probably around 9am. There are few methods of going to Toji Temple..buses are cheaper HOWEVER if you are travelling with kids, take the cab. The cab was probably about 600 yen from Kyoto station. 1st experience with the bus...it was so pack..and travelling with stroller-no-no in the bus.

There were so many people with lots of stuffs. Mostly antiques..local delicacies..kimonos... Prices of kimonos varies from a really affordable to really expensive. You can see actually estimate which are expensive ones and cheaper ones (the expensive are usually pretty..and good material). I wanted to buy one however I only end up frustrated because I did not know how to put on a kimono ..and sales people usually will entertain those speaking Japanese first. So..did not get any kimono there. I did buy a toy car though made of metal. I do wish that I have huge luggage bag (and money) to buy everything there.

One thing I learnt was..if you see someone selling something you like (for instance chopsticks), and you think it is cheap...don't buy first. Because most of the time you will find even cheaper ones as you walk further..and more pretty. And the price difference is quite huge -sometimes. Kimono prices not much difference between shops.

I did ate some delicious bbq pork while walking though...

Not recommended to walk with stroller. The walking path is narrow and it is packed! And I got tired saying 'excuse me..excuse me' where people give you 'the look'.. And another option would be to carry your child. We brought our almost 3 years old son along...

However this was only based on first time trip to the flea market.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bungan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toji also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Toji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing