We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
155
74
29
8
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
155
74
29
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv great location gion shijo superior king blackout blinds foosball table tree cafe free coffee in the lobby decent shower perfect hotel to stay public bath rooms are small yakitori located close to the train station modern japanese design western options lovely little hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 277 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Good, modern hotel very conveniently placed for the Gion district. Staff helpful (though that's invariably true in Japan) and English-speaking. Breakfasts offer wide range from traditional Japanese through to conventional western.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank DavidJonesBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

This hotel is very nice and centrally located. The staff was extremely helpful. The Onsen is very nice as well. The room was big enough, very clean and our king bed was comfortable.
The only think I would say that could be improved was the fact that the window looked straight in to the windows of the building next door, not allowing for drawing up the shade for light without losing privacy. It would be an improvement to have the windows frosted so you could get natural light.
They have a big breakfast buffet, which we did not take advantage of. But there are very few places to have breakfast other than McDonalds close by so you might consider gettin it, though it is about $24 US

Room tip: We had room 218 and it was nice
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbrad_200066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019 via mobile

We absolutely loved our 5 night stay here, the hotel had everything. Free coffee, close to the subway, bus stop as well as walkable attractions, it was all about the perfect location.

Some of the other reviews complain about the small rooms but I've stayed in much smaller across Europe. The rooms are absolutely fine for size.

It was a little expensive but it was Golden week and we were paying for the 5/5 Gion location, perfect for Geisha spotting!

General tips

* Ask for a room at the back
*The hotel onsen is open until 1am with a closure in the daytime.
* The Maiko performance the hotel organises every Tuesday and Friday is a must do. It's an intimate setting of max 30 people in the hotel and you're treated to traditional dancing by the Maiko and Q&A. A highlight of our trip!

Food tips
* We ate every night on the road the hotel is on, SO many great choices!
* Sushi Hirota (turn left out of the hotel it's at the cross roads) was our favourite sushi experience in all of Japan. Friendly, relaxed and delicious! Get the set menu A or B to share.
*Blue Fir Tree Cafe - Japanese pancakes for breakfast with very sweet service
* Abusan - Okonomiyaki in a fun setting. Right and immediate right out of the hotel, go late (10ish) for the best experience!

We'll be back :)

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank DeathByStereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Stayed here for 5 nights last September and it was excellent. The property is greatly located close to metro/bus stations and to restaurants and shopping centers. I picked this hotel because of the onsen on site. They have one for both male and female to use at certain hours of the day. They also have an option to have their buffet breakfast which includes traditional Japanese food and also continental choices. The staff were helpful and attentive to guests' needs. Expect the rooms to be small compare to traditional hotel rooms. The other thing that I also enjoyed in this hotel was they have a Maiko show every Friday with a fee of course so the guests were able to experience a traditional show in the property- that was entertaining and educational as well. Definitely recommended if staying close to Gion area in Kyoto.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j3ck0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

The hotel was clean with courteous staff and centrally located. It offers nice buffet and comfortable rooms and facilities like the onsen. Will go out of their way to call a cab even after check-out. Price just right given the amenities and location.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VirtualCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews