We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
125
50
19
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
50
19
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews apple tv gion shijo superior king great location rooms are small decent shower public bath modern japanese design free coffee all day yakitori lovely little hotel onsen downstairs japanese options pocket wifi coin laundry breakfast area main shopping street
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 209 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile

What a nice surprise to find this hotel!

Modern, cool, clean and excellent location. In the heart of Gion and nearby so many restaurants and small cafes.

Rooms are small (it's Japan) but very clean and perfect for my stay.

Staff was superb and extremely helpful. Thank you so much!!!

For $100 a night it was an awesome find!

The "onsen" was very beautiful and perfect after a long day of walking.

Some recommendations to management in the hotel (since it is so new):

-provide in room guides and better explanations on how to use the onsen.
Most foreigners do not know how to use the baths and this can be helpful to avoid any uncomfortable encounters.

-i stayed in the small room where the bed took over the entire back wall and window. The room was perfectly clean, except around the bed edges. A bit dusty.

On the same note, why don't you replace the two seater sofa to a small arm chair and a small round table? First night I walked into the table on my way to the toilet and have a giant bruise on my leg the entire trip. The space is small and it could be helpful. For the remained penny stay I had to move the table on top of the sofa to avoid any more accidents.

Overall a fabulous hotel, excellent location and one of the best staff I've had in my travels.

Will recommend this to all my friends visiting Kyoto.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank LiLi_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful hotel in a super convenient location. Loved being able to walk to everything. The rooms are really compact but they are exactly what you need and since it's new everything is clean and has the Japanese minimalistic look. We loved this hotel!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ritu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Great location. Much more of an authentic experience than staying near Kyoto Station. Great value for money. Hotel has its own private baths (one for men and one for women) that is so beautiful and feels very high end. Tattoos need to be covered, but it is a small hotel and each time I used the bath - no on else was there. So you should be ok. Like most of Japan, it's difficult to have children stay with you. Our son is 13, so we got him his own room. I think children under 6 can stay in the room with you. Gion-Shijo station is only about 300m away (can't hear a thing in the hotel), but a taxi to/from Kyoto station is under 1200yen. Well worth it if you have luggage. Have copy of hotel on a map - hotel is new so some taxis don't know where it is yet. So many places to eat close by. Breakfast was included in our booking and was good. Shops and attractions (Nijo Castle and the Imperial Palace) don't open until 10am, so sleep in and have breakfast a little later than most hotels.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
6  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017

This is a modern hotel with beautifully appointed rooms and staff. Fantastic amenities, and great touches to the rooms (e.g. great furniture, tatami, apple tv, lacquer ware stand etc). We really enjoyed staying here during the Daimonji festival on the 16th August, during one of the busiest periods. The room was surprisingly quiet, and we didn't hear much of the neighbours, the onsen/bathing facilities on the basement floor appeared new and enjoyable. The staff were friendly and always happy to help.

Room tip: Corner suite was quieter
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank moxxie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Grandbell did a great job with its facility in Kyoto!!! 4 floors, 100+ Rooms, King bed with better padding, down/feather pillows and comforter. Apple TV, Bloomberg, MSNBC... hot public soaking baths on site to melt away the tired feet, muscles and bones.

Bathroom facility has modern touches at every turn!!! Makes me want to stay at Ither Granbell facilities.

Coffee grind-to-brew machine serves up gourmet cups of joe in demand in the lobby.

Location is in the center of fun, Gion-chijo. 5 mins from Kiehan subway station.

Buy all day pass for $7 at Kyoto station when arrive in town.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank Anh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews