We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing base to experience Kyoto from”
Review of Kyoto Yoshimizu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kyoto Yoshimizu
Ranked #103 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A relaxing base to experience Kyoto from”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Yoshimizu Inn for 5 nights in November, we booked the last available room which was a western room (the only one, I think). We loved the location of the Inn, high up in the park, surrounded by bamboo woods. Our room had windows along two walls and it really felt like sleeping in a tree house. Despite its tranquility it is only a 5-10min walk to the Gion, and the walk is lovely, through temple precincts where there was plenty to see and some surprisingly good street food that helped for the journeys back up hill. Our room was clean and comfortable, we had a heater that we needed as November is cold and the windows are only single glazed, each day we also returned to a welcome flask of hot green tea. Breakfasts in the communal dining room were basic but very tasty and set us up for the day. Everyone we spoke to was very friendly and helpful in providing maps, directions and recommendations for restaurants. After a hard day sight-seeing it was wonderful to return to one of the two japanese baths (onsen) and soak away the aches. I would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    33
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
58
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pomezia, Italy
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

For our first trip to Japan, we really wanted to try a real, typical ryokan, possible immersed in a forest as in a good Detective Conan episode (well, if also with a murder, it would have been great!). Being in a big city was not helping our search but as Kyoto, differently from Tokyo, is surrounded by hills and parks, we were lucky enough to find a ryokan fitting all our wishes (ok, without murder, but we went close to... :) ), and which was not too much expensive compared to other ryokan.
So we booked here, and once arrived to Kyoto central station, we took the bus (it's really easy, having a bus map, use the public transportation) and we stop at the entrance of Maruyama temples. Then we continued walking; this is one of the most beautiful thing of the ryokan position: in order to reach it, you need to walk by this temple. However, this was a big mistake in August: temperature was around 40° C, and with the luggage and backpack it was horrible (there is some stairs and hill). Still we survived, but if you will be in the same situation, from the temple main gate it's better to take a taxi! Room are clean, but remember that you are in the middle of a park, and many rooms are at the ground level, so you could have "special guests" in your room, as it happened to us. Special guest up to 5 cm, but that's life. The futon are ok, we did not feel broken the next morning. But we are not heavy...
The breakfast room is very nice, a good common room facing the garden where you can also relax in the evening chatting with the other guests (the real guests, this time!). And there is a computer available with free internet connection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aragorn983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This was the most disappointing accommodation in three weeks in Japan. We stayed at one amazing (and pricey) ryokan in Kyoto that was a phenomenal experience, as well as at several other hotels and ryokans at or below Yoshimizu's price. Compared to these, Yoshimizu (where we stayed for five nights) felt like a bare-bones room without the ryokan charm. The room was extremely basic--nothing but the futon mats, which guests have to make up and put away themselves each day. There was not even soap in the en suite bathroom. That combined with the communal showers makes the place feel like a nice hostel, rather than a $150/night hotel. Another small complaint is that there were always mosquitoes in the common area so I was routinely bit at breakfast and at the computer. (Luckily, the rooms were mosquito-free.)

We did enjoy the breakfasts, which were delicious, very wholesome, and quite small--perfect before a day of feasting on Kyoto's offerings. And the staff was friendly and helpful, although rotating innkeepers each day prevented continuity, and there was just a bit of awkwardness to asking some of them for assistance.

We didn't mind the walk through the lovely park at the start and end of each outing. But between the out-of-the way location, the very basic feel of the rooms, and the price I am puzzled by the glowing reviews here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masha720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you're looking for a traditional Japanese Ryokan experience... you won't find better than Yoshimizu Inn. The house itself is lovely and cosy, and you couldn't wish to meet nicer people than the staff working there. It is also extremely quiet since it is located at the top of the Maruyama Park, away from the noise of the main streets. Walking through the park coming to and from the Ryokan is a great way to both start and finish the day, it is beautifully kept and the shrines throughout highlight the traditions of Kyoto city. Yoshimizu also has bicycles available for the guests use which I would strongly recommend since it is a great way to get around and see the city.
To sum up - the two nights my friend and I spent at the Yoshimizu Inn were simply fantastic, without a doubt the best place we stayed during our travels around Japan. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very friendly in a great location -- You walk out the front door, take a right, step intp the park and youre standing in front of a shrine. very convenient to the Gion area. Traditional Japanese rooms/setup. WiFi

Despite what I read in other reviews, it was not a a bad climb "up the hill". One tip tho: first day we went DOWN thru Maruyama Park past all the shrines - later on (after dark) going UP, that area of the park is closed. It was difficult navigating back going the street way in the dark. There are a few ways that all make sense after you navigate them either steps, paths or the road.

The people who work there are the friendliest and most helpful you could ask for. Kika recommended a restaurant (Okutan) on the route to Kiyomizudera Temple that was a real highlight also!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bscrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location at the back end of the Maruyama Park is very quiet (but requires some walking if you get around Kyoto by bus). The staff are very friendly and helpful, but some speak little English. You rather feel like staying with friends than at an inn. The Japanese bathrooms are small but nice. However, some renovation might be good - the house is more than 100 years old, and it shows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tangobravo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a great stay at Yoshimizu Ryokan in April. Good location in the far corner of Maruyama park. Easy acces to major bus routes and nearby temples. Quiet and beautifull surroundings. We had a lovely time walking back to ryokan each evening watching the people celebrating cherry blossoms at the park.
We had a room with private toilet on the ground floor. It was very clean and comfortable. As we sleep on a futon bed back home also, we didn't have any problems with sleeping on the floor. Only problem with sleeping came from other guests banging the toilet doors next to our room. Also there was the bathrooms next to our room so that added a bit noise. Otherwise the room was great. The baths were wonderfull. So lovely to soak in the hot bath after hours of walking around Kyotos amazing gardens and temples.
Breakfasts were good with tasty soup, eggs and toast, and all organic. Lovely way to start the day.
Lastly the staff that crowns this wonderfull place. You guys are all awesome and then some. It was really nice to meet you all. Really enjoyed our talks about aikido etc. We will highly recommend Yoshimizu to everyone coming to Kyoto and wanting to stay in a ryokan.

Lots of Love,
Anne & Timo

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puskajustiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Motonago
#9 of 369 in Kyoto
347 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Gion Hatanaka
#38 of 369 in Kyoto
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northern Kyoto
Ryokan Yamazaki
Ryokan Yamazaki
#97 of 369 in Kyoto
184 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Shimogyo-ku
Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Yoshimizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Yoshimizu

Property: Kyoto Yoshimizu
Address: Bentendoue, Maruyama Koen | Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0071, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyoto Yoshimizu 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kyoto Yoshimizu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing