We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is really great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kyoto Yoshimizu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kyoto Yoshimizu
Ranked #81 of 348 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place is really great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We came to Yoshimizu on our first night in Japan, and snow fell the next day in the park it is situated in. So we were very happy, coming from Cairns! Really great staff, great breakfast, and location. The park is nice, although a bit spartan in winter. I would completely recommend this place, including if you have kids. It has fantastic style!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cycad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    32
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
53
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This charming inn is just wonderful - it's in the middle of one of kyoto's most beautiful parks, which is itself full of temples and glades. It's a good 10 -15 walk to get to anything but the location is so stunning it's worth it! The building is beautiful, the rooms are simple and well appointed and the atmosphere inside is warm and peaceful. But what really makes this place wonderful are the people who run it. Takuya and all the staff there are simply some of the most helpful, warm and friendly people you're ever likely to meet.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Right up the back of the park, it's about a 10-15 min walk up the hill from Gion (5-10 mins on the wy back down). The reward for the walk each day is a peaceful and friendly ryokken that is close enough to the action while feeling a mile away from it. The park would be beautiful outside of winter but was still a pleasant stroll in the cold. We stayed two nights and had our own toilet. For us, two nights was about enough to enjoy the ryokken experience and we stayed another two nights at Monterey hotel to see the rest of kyoto (and enjoy a mattress). The best value ryokken we could find and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsh_Craigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A beautiful ryokan in a wonderful location in Murayama Park which has some of Kyoto's oldest temples. The rooms are clean and have only basic amenities, to our surprise we had to make the bed ourselves including laying down the mattress, apparently a Japanese custom. Breakfast was also wonderful a quirky mix of western and Japanese foods. Would definitely recommend this ryokan to anyone wishing to experience a little of old Kyoto.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessapau t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed five nights here recently and I had such a great experience. I was really looking forward to staying in a traditional Japanese ryokan and Yoshimizu ticked all the right boxes.

Finding the place was not a big problem thanks to Google Streetview. I managed to walk to the inn with my backpack in 15 min from Gion-Shijo station.

I've never had better service from hotel staff -- everyone seemed to love their job so much. I enjoyed sleeping on a futon (surprisingly comfortable), soaking in a hot tub and breakfast was really great! Only minus point is that being a traditional Japanese inn, the walls are paper thin. Thankfully my neighbours were all considerate during my stay.

I'll be making return trips to Kyoto and I'll be sure to book a room at Yoshimizu again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pagartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Travelling on my own I was lucky enough to obtain a one night booking at this Ryokan in the hills of Kyoto. This was my first stay in such a place and first visit to Japan. I was so incredibly impressed with the authenticity of the place and the staff were extremely helpful with planning my visit. I especially enjoyed the hot-tub and making my own futon! The ryokan is located in such a beautiful part of Kyoto and visiting at the end of autumn, it was truly magical. I recommend it to anyone visiting Kyoto and I definitely have plans to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathfiat500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Motonago
#13 of 348 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#42 of 348 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion
Yuzuya Ryokan
Yuzuya Ryokan
#62 of 348 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Maifukan
#26 of 348 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Honganji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyoto Yoshimizu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyoto Yoshimizu

Property: Kyoto Yoshimizu
Address: Bentendoue, Maruyama Koen | Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0071, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 348 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kyoto Yoshimizu 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Kyoto Yoshimizu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing