We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveler rating
132
29
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
132
29
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast staff cozy hotel the free walking tour great location key sites within walking distance yasaka shrine rice balls western style beds quad room free evening free breakfast is side street main bus best feature a lovely stay night life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 168 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2019

We (couple and mother) recently spent 2 nights here. Super friendly and helpful staff, excellent English, good breakfasts (2 x different choices each day), great location. Rooms are a fair size and very clean. Neighbourhood night walk with Kaz was so interesting.This is very popular so book in advance.
They have printed information in English, showing nearby places of interest and facilities including a laundromat within walking distance.
The front desk staff even came out and waved our taxi off.
One thing to note is the shower/bath is very high to step in to and handrails could be considered.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chkyotoinngion, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto INN Gion, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2019

Dear Rob W-san,

Thank you for taking time to share a wonderful review about your stay with us. We're happy to know that our service was capable to make your stay comfortable and also appreciate your comment on our accommodation.
Good to know that you enjoyed the Evening walking tour, and thanks for your recommendation.
On the other hand, we feel sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with the shower/bath being too high to step in and have shared your feedback with our management team to make sure we enhance our future guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Kyoto.

Best regards,
Kyoto INN Gion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2019

The hotel rooms are nothing spectacular and the bathrooms are reasonably small, but this is to be expected in Japan when you are paying modest prices. Front of house staff are extremely friendly. The breakfast was a really good way to start the day, with Western options.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 123Top123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chkyotoinngion, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto INN Gion, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear 123TopTop123-san,

Thank you for your previous stay and taking time to post your review. We are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay. We are hoping to welcome you back again for your next stay in Kyoto.

With regards,
Kyoto INN Gion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Nested in the heart of Kyoto, Gion, this hotel is what we needed for our two night stay.

Our room with 4 twin beds was able to accommodate 4 adults and 1 kid without issues. Hotel room was quite big for Japan standards! Toiletries were provided for, including new pajamas every night. Bathroom was tiny but clean. American hot breakfast was included and there were two different options everyday.

This place is walking distance to a few temples. And there are a lot of eating places in the area. There are also a lot of choices for Kimono rentals in the area. Short taxi ride to Nishiki market.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and would stay again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank leonaroselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chkyotoinngion, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto INN Gion, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

Dear leonaroselle-san,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the excellent rating! We are glad to know that your stay was pleasant and pleased to hear your compliments about the great location of the hotel.
It is good to know that you were comfortable with our accommodation and felt our deluxe room big for Japan standards.
We are excited for you to return to Kyoto INN Gion to create even more treasured Memories.

Best regards,
Kyoto INN Gion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019 via mobile

Staff were super pleasant and helpful. Hotel sponsored neighborhood tour was a highlight of the trip. Rooms are small but very adequate and the location is perfect. Everything was super clean. Good elevator and staff is helpful with bags. Breakfast was way above average with good choices every day. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again if we visit Kyoto.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Cyndi7751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chkyotoinngion, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto INN Gion, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear Cyndi7751-san,

Thank you for choosing Kyoto INN Gion among many other hotels.
We are glad to know that your stay was comfortable and pleased to hear your compliments about our accommodation, the breakfast, the staffs and the great location of the hotel.
Thank you also for mentioning about the free tour. We are glad that it was the highlight of your stay.
Please stop by at Kyoto INN Gion if you have any chance of coming to Kyoto again.
We are looking forward to have you with us any time.

Best Regards;
Hotel Kyoto INN Gion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

Everyone we interacted with at the Hotel Kyoto Inn Gion was pleasant, helpful, and friendly, from the reception desk to the breakfast staff. Even the maid, who we interrupted one morning as she was cleaning up our room, couldn’t have been more accommodating and cheerful. The hotel is in a great location and with a little help from the front desk we were soon finding our way by bus and metro all around Kyoto. Our room was comfortable, as were the beds. At first, I was a little nervous about the pillows which seemed too firm, but they turned out to be the most comfortable pillows we encountered on the trip. For the complimentary breakfast every morning, we were always offered two choices. The choices were displayed at the breakfast room entry so we could easily decide which we would like. This hotel was a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Kyoto.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chkyotoinngion, フロント オフィス マネージャー at Kyoto INN Gion, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear Candace M-san,

Thank you for choosing Kyoto INN Gion among many other hotels.
We are glad to know that your stay was comfortable and pleased to hear your compliments about the breakfast, the staffs and the great location of the hotel.
We are also happy to hear that our pillow eventually turned out to be the most comfortable pillows during your trip!
Please stop by at Kyoto INN Gion if you have any chance of coming to Kyoto again.
We are looking forward to have you with us any time.

Best Regards;
Hotel Kyoto INN Gion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews