We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just like home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guest Inn Chita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guest Inn Chita
Ranked #34 of 233 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed here after reading excellent reviews and I wasn't disappointed. I have never stayed in a traditional guest house before so I wasn't sure what to expect. Guest Inn Chita couldn't have been better. Only a 10 minute walk from Kyoto JR train station. As soon as the owner Kahori introduced herself I felt at home. Kahori speaks excellent English and went out of her way to make us feel welcome. The rooms are very clean and a great size with air-con and TV. I was a little worried about sleeping on the floor but I slept like a log. There are adequate toilets for the number of rooms and 2 showers. We never once had to wait for the shower. There is also a kitchen and we cooked most nights. There is a large Yodabashi store across from the train station which has a supermarket in the basement. Free internet access and for those of you that don't have a laptop with them there is a computer available to use also. There is a washing/drying machine for 200yen. Higashi Honganji Temple is across the road from the Guest House. We met so many interesting people from all over the world and often sat at night chatting to them in the lounge area. I honestly didn't want to leave here and will definitely be stopping here again on my next visit to Kyoto and I will be staying in touch with Kahori and her family.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GELLIOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    33
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
29
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The inn is an old japanese house. Located in a small alley opposite Higashi Honganji Temple, 15 minutes walk from Kyoto Station.

The hostess was very welcoming and she spoke fluent English. I emailed her the possibility to drop my luggage before check in time and she replied quickly. I got to check-in early around 1pm though, so my luggage went straight to my room in the first floor. The stairs were kinda steep you have to be careful, especially if you carrying suitcases.

The ground floor has japanese bathroom with huge bathtub to soak in, western style shower rooms and toilets, laundry, and common room where you can use microwave and other facilities.

The room I stayed was not too big, but more than enough for a single room. It has TV, side table and futon laid down in the middle. Yukata and towels are provided. The walls are thin but it didn't matter to me. The neighborhood itself was quiet so there are not much noises from the street. It also has vending machine and computer in the lobby.

What impressed me the most was the hospitality of the hostess that makes me feel like home :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lunathique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed here with a friend, and the hostess was fantastic! The house is an older building, with lots of traditional charm. The room was comfortable and clean, and although the bathrooms were shared, they were still individual cubicles, with western facilities, so you still had privacy. Location wise, it's right opposite Higashi Honganji temple, and very close to the Kyoto JR Station. Only about a 5-10 minute walk. Easily accessible, and well signposted. Overall, I really enjoyed my time here, and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a typical Japanese style house, which is nearby kyoto station (5min walk), and I was so amazing it's totally made of wood! The room is spacious, and decorated by tatami. When I went back after my busy trip, I felt very relax! The bed is so soft (even better than hot spring hotel), and the whole house is so clean!
Staff here can speak English, and they are kind and helpful! I quite enjoyed my stay. Great value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xi t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We booked a little late (the night or so before!) and still got a huge room. Enjoyed a lovely Japanese bath, and a comfortable night's sleep. Easy walk to the train station, and temples and gardens - our room overlooked some temple gardens! Great value.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewa_La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Good location not too far from the JR station. Very welcoming and helpful staff. The toilet and showers are on the ground floor and the rooms are upstairs making it quite a hike on steep stairs when you have to go! The carpet and decor are a bit dated but clean enogh. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domininoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is the first ryokan we stay in kyoto, and I would say this is the one that I received the best welcome and feel mostly like home.

Although the room is not so big, it is absolutely suitable for two people with comfortable futon and tatami.

The ryokan is very near JR station and the famous Higashi Hongan-ji is just opposite the road. We arrived very late due to the flight but the host waited for us and made us feel like home. It is really great!

Although the shower room and toilet are shared, there are actually two shower rooms in the ryokan so it is not difficult to use one. The washroom is really clean!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supposewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Guesthouse Shiorian
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#11 of 233 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kaede Guesthouse
Kaede Guesthouse
#18 of 233 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Kyoto
The Lower East Nine Hostel
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
#21 of 233 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Gojo Guest House
#26 of 233 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Inn Chita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Chita

Property: Guest Inn Chita
Address: 343 Takatsukicho, Hanayamachisagaru, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8174, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 233 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guest Inn Chita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing