We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“À bit dated but excellent for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guest Inn Chita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guest Inn Chita
Ranked #39 of 225 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“À bit dated but excellent for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Good location not too far from the JR station. Very welcoming and helpful staff. The toilet and showers are on the ground floor and the rooms are upstairs making it quite a hike on steep stairs when you have to go! The carpet and decor are a bit dated but clean enogh. Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domininoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    31
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is the first ryokan we stay in kyoto, and I would say this is the one that I received the best welcome and feel mostly like home.

Although the room is not so big, it is absolutely suitable for two people with comfortable futon and tatami.

The ryokan is very near JR station and the famous Higashi Hongan-ji is just opposite the road. We arrived very late due to the flight but the host waited for us and made us feel like home. It is really great!

Although the shower room and toilet are shared, there are actually two shower rooms in the ryokan so it is not difficult to use one. The washroom is really clean!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supposewu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

The price is cheap. Kaori-san who is the owner speak english fluently. Although the shower and toilet are seperate and shared, but that make each room is quite big and feel more comfort. There are also main living room for chat and meet new friends. Meanwhile, there are also kitchen and other facility to be used.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuttaputch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We went back to Japan in February 2011 and stayed at Guest Inn Chita. We were a little unsure about staying at this inn, but I wanted to make sure we stayed at a traditional style ryokan and not in a western hotel and our budget was tight. My husband was afraid of the communal shower/bath idea, but we were pleased to see when we got there that there was a bathroom with two shower heads and a small tub. The tub was regularly filled each night with a cover to keep the heat in between uses. We did not use the tub, but the showers were standing-height and we were able to shower together. There is a marker on the door for when the showers are in use in case you do not want to be disturbed by others while showering.

The heaters in the room can't be left on while you are out and about, and even when you wake up in the morning it is still cold, so this isn't the most ideal hotel for February, but overall our stay was very pleasant and the hotel owner was sweet and helpful. We left our English language Japan guide there for others to use.

This hotel is also right down the street (about a 7 minute walk) from the JR Kyoto train station which makes commuting all over the Kansai area super easy.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsukuba, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The staff here is very friendly and helpful. The room is comfortable and clean, though you don't have to expect luxurious hotel furniture or large wardrobe (in my triple room there were some clothes hangers, a small table and two chairs), but towels were provided and promptly changed after each use. The common bath is nice, but, as you obviously might expect, may be crowded in the morning, and you might have to wait a little. Nevertheless I would kindly recommend this inn for its price and its warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pimpi_parma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Spent a night here recently and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience and hospitality. The lady who runs the guesthouse is such a dynamic and fun person that nothing was too much trouble for her. Very helpful indeed. My next trip to Kyoto will include staying here for the duration of my stay. Very handy to everything as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth61Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Guest Inn Chita is a great place to stay if you want to go sight seeing around central Kyoto.Just walking in the locality you will come across some of the most famous temples in Japan and also some great family run bars and restaurants .The rooms are a comfortable size and kept very clean.Staff speak English and are very helpful. Bike rental is cheap at Y500 per half day.One of the best places Ive stayed on my trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irish186600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Guesthouse Shiorian
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#11 of 225 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#4 of 225 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
#13 of 225 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Fujitaya Kyoto
Fujitaya Kyoto
#5 of 225 in Kyoto
5.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest Inn Chita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest Inn Chita

Property: Guest Inn Chita
Address: 343 Takatsukicho, Hanayamachisagaru, Akezudori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8174, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 225 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guest Inn Chita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing