We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable location and value”
Review of IchiEnSou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IchiEnSou
Ranked #123 of 419 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Reviewed September 9, 2011

IchiEnSou is a charming little guesthouse located right by an impressive looking Japanese theatre. It is easy to find and a stone's throw away from Gion night life - close enough to be with all the action within a few minutes but tucked away in the quiet part. I found IchiEnSou to very clean, gorgeously decorated and accommodating. Yashi and his wife are polite and very helpful. We had great conversations and insight into Japanese culture. I also managed to find black sesame ice cream in Kyoto - turned out to be a bit of a rarity - who would've thought? Kyoto is simply magical and I could not have picked a better base than IchiEnSou to explore it. The only thing, if a bad thing could be said, is that the guesthouse does not offer private rooms. I did loads of research and found this guesthouse to be given a rating of 98% - didn't disappoint. I highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carooolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 53 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

I visited here with a friend back in March 2009, and really enjoyed my stay at IchiEnSou. Yashi is a great host, he's in the business not to make money but just to enjoy meeting new people. Being a hostel, there were mainly young guests (like ourselves), but all were friendly and well behaved. There were Japanese guests as well - which was a good sign.

The place itself is in a fantastic location (if a little difficult to find at first!), it's very clean and has great facilities for the price. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commando_Cotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I was traveling with two female friends and we booked all four beds in the female dorm so we could have the room to ourselves. The rates were very reasonable so it was quite affordable to do so on our small budget. There's a share bathroom which is very clean and because the house only sleeps a small amount of people there was never much competition for the services.

Our host, Yashi speaks English quite well, and with an Australian accent! (He studied philosophy in Tasmania for a few years if I remember correctly) Breakfast was also reasonably priced, and Yashi asked us lots of questions about which breakfast we preferred and what we thought of the coffee. He is genuinely interested in providing a good service and always seeking advice for improvement. (And by the way, as far as coffee goes in Japan, it was probably the best we had!)

There's a great yaki tori bar around the corner and it's really close to the station so the location was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinkabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Run by a lovely couple, Yashi and Sunam, we were made to feel so welcome that it became like a second home. We liked it so much that we returned two weeks later! Located in gorgeous Gion, it was a magical experience, with free tours being given on some nights by the owners to the local highlights (e.g. Kiyomizu-dera, with the autumnal hues illuminated at night, and the bamboo path at Arashiyama, also lit up). Gorgeous decor, 1920s style. Access to many of Kyoto's attractions, close enough to walk. Kitchen facilities, and lots of storage space in the dorm rooms for bags. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elkat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Ichi En Sou was one of the best Inns that I've stayed at, and was one of the highlights to my time in Japan. Everything about this place was excellent. The loccation was an ideal place to explore Gion. However, it is the atmosphere that makes it stand out. It is a wooden house built in the 1920s, which the owners (Yashi and Sunam) have reccently renovated. They've done an excellent job at maintaining the authenticity of the building, while still making it very comfortable to stay. From the Jazz to the offers of green tea and sake, the place honestly feels like staying with cool friends who own an awesome house in Kyoto. I'd recommend it to almost anyone, however, it should be noted that currently only dorm rooms are available. But don't let that deter you, as it would be a shame to miss out.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Great hostel- japanese-style women's room, with futons on the floor, and western-style bunk beds in the mixed-gender room.

Mostly, what made this place great was the super-wonderful staff. Friendly, nice people who make sure you know how to get where you're going. I went to dinner with several others from the hostel one night, and it was a wonderful experience to get to talk and enjoy the city with some locals :)

Also, rates are very reasonable. I paid 5400 yen for a 2-night stay in the women's room.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownielinzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

A hidden gem with a perfect location just minutes away from the train station, bus stops, and attractions - Gion Corner, Pontocho, and Higashiyama. Yashi and his wife made us feel at home and made extra arrangements for one night as they were running full. There is a cozy common area on the ground floor to chill out after a long day of travel and to have a good chat with the rest of the people.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squaluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 407 in Kyoto
942 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 407 in Kyoto
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#12 of 407 in Kyoto
3,170 reviews
Kyoto Station
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
Hyatt Regency Kyoto
#8 of 407 in Kyoto
2,528 reviews
City Center
Royal Park Hotel The Kyoto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IchiEnSou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IchiEnSou

Address: 4-2 Komatsu-Cho ShijoSagaru 4 Chome YamatoOjiDo, Higashiyamaku, Kyoto 605-0933, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 419 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your IchiEnSou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing