We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice experience”

Yoshikawa Inn Tempura
Ranked #50 of 12,102 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City Center
San diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

From the intimate setting to the desert in the reception area, a thoroughly delightful occasion. The tempura was prepared at a counter by a polite chef who described each dish as he served it. After dinner we retired to an adjoining room for dessert on tatami and a low table. The whole experience was delicious and serene.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Optometrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    45
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning! (but beware the hidden charges)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had a superb meal in a wonderful private tatami room overlooking the garden. Ten courses altogether and each was excellent. Service, too, was super. That's the good bit.

Having booked two ¥10,000 meals in advance, we were disapponted to get a bill for ¥27,000. Taxes and service charges had been added on top - that's the bad bit.

Worth it for the experience? Not sure.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank elni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We chose this restaurant because we were looking for a good dish of tempura and very quickly scan through the reviews on trip advisor. We expected it to be a little on the pricey side (someone had written $30) and were anticipating a very casual place that served a big helping of fried sweet potatoes and broccoli.

But instead… we stumbled on this elegant Ryokan that served us one of the most delicious meals I have ever had. For 2 hours, we were treated to dish after dish of amazing tempura, prepared right in front of us. Some of the things were standards: broccoli, shrimp, green beans, and yam. But other things were entirely new to me. Each was served with a specific dipping sauce or other condiment, and the waitress pointed out how we should eat each one. After eating what must have been 10 or 15 different dishes, we were ushered into a den inside the Ryokan itself. The den looked out over a beautiful illuminated garden and was decorated with beautiful artwork and antiques. We were served dessert (cherry tea, ice cream with sweet bean paste, persimmon, pomegranate and other seasonal delicacies) and allow to linger for another hour. Before we left they gave us a tour of their larger rear garden which was simply beautiful.

The two of us spent about $180. That was far, far more than we anticipated before we walked in, but it was worth every penny. I will never forget this amazing evening and the gracious people who attended us. And compared to staying in the Ryokan as an overnight guest, it's an absolute bargain!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals in All of Japan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

You won't like it here if you're a cheapskate. It's pricey, for sure. But the experience is out of this world. We stayed at the inn -- you may get better treatment if you do? -- and ate until our eyes almost popped. Perhaps 15 courses of tempura: scallop, two different shrimp, several fish, baby corn, eggplant, yam, mushroom, asparagus, carrot, pepper. Each with different sauces and spices and served piece by piping hot piece. The extreme friendliness of the waitress and inn ladies made it even better. A++++

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BrooksBBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Tempura restaurant of note in Kyoto.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited this ryokan for dinner one evening, and their actual tempura restaurant was fully booked. So, they gave us a more formal and private dining room of our own, affording wonderful views, a wall of a finely manicured Japanese garden just beyond our table!

The dinner experience was memorable. Service was impeccable. They even had some very good French wine we enjoyed with our brilliant tempura, and there is more than just deep-fried dishes being served here, as my photographs display.

All in all, one cannot go wrong dining here, and I recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yoshikawa Inn Tempura also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Yoshikawa Inn Tempura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing