We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kyoto
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Recommended experiences in and around Kyoto
from $87.82
More Info
from $21.95
More Info
from $90.56
More Info
from $67.31
More Info
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
615
15
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
615
15
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zen meditation samurai house samurai culture wooden sword singing bowls amazing experience takes place highly recommend this experience martial arts hand warmers samurai training tatami mats small group learning how fluent english rich history answered all our questions
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is the highlight for our japan trip.
Unique 250 years plus old samurai mansion, we are in the samurai world - the history. demonstrations, practices and using the real katana sword and learning zen mediation technique are truly once in a lifetime experience!
Very very special and they are really attentive, polite and professional.
They also take care of the photos so we can just concentrate on the experience and email the photos to us in the afternoon.
Highly recommended!!!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank hgoldcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Excellent experience. Fun and informative. My teenage sons loved it. The guides were delightful. You can take lots of photos. Very safety conscious as well.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank pgj_dred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Informative and good fun.
Great Instructors and Translator.
Can recommend without reservation.
Worth the money. (That is unles you are a tightwad).

Thank J2449YEgregh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020

This was one of our favorite parts about our trip to Japan! It was so cool to be in a 250+ year old samurai mansion, learning the way of the samurai. We loved the history, demonstrations and being able to slice some things with a real katana sword! The meditation and music at the end was also a beautiful touch.

If you come to Kyoto, you HAVE to do this!!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank natalierZ7199BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Our family of two adults, two teens and a 10 yo all had a blast at our Samurai experience. The experience was done in Japanese with an english translator. We arrived already dressed in full authentic kimonos from a remote "costume" shop, but they provided black yukatas for the guests who arrived in street clothes. In retrospect we should have passed on the full kimono treatment that our travel agent had arranged because it was too much trouble and took too long (over an hour). But that was not the Kyoto Samurai Experience's fault.

We thoroughly enjoyed the authentic samurai house and garden it was held in (one of the few remaining), the demonstration, training and especially the chance to swing a sharp and real samurai blade to cut a rolled up bamboo tatami mat. Our 10 yo was given an appropriate sized blade and since she was smaller got to slice a huge Japanese radish instead. I was a little nervous about having our kids handle such a long and sharp blade, but the first part of the training was handling wooden replicas to get comfortable with the weight and size.

We and they took great photos and movies, and they took excellent care of everyone. They emphasized that being a samurai was not just about swordplay but also about meditation which we all did after the sword experience. They also called a couple of cabs for us after the session, which was very helpful. The whole experience was very well done and family friendly so I'd highly recommend it!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank aplouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews