We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great dining experience.”
Review of Okariba

Okariba
Ranked #165 of 16,392 Restaurants in Kyoto
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center
Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

This place was great. You have to eat here. Hunter and chef and host, it's a great traditional hunt camp style meal in the middle of Kyoto. Nothing fancy but delicious, fun and friendly and inviting. Don't fear the sake or the the bea larvae and grasshoppers, yumm. Enjoy.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 108 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

Very kind service, great food. We chose this place based on the recommendations and were not disappointed. It definitely made up for the lousy room booked on Airbnb.

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank peterbY3541JE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 19, 2015

The restaurant is a bit out of the way, but still a quick taxi ride from the center.
The owner made a great job at making me feel welcome, very friendly, and making me taste different dishes. The food was fantastic and the sake even better!

Date of visit: May 2015
Thank Benja_Switz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 27, 2015

I went to this restaurant based on the recommendation from a person I met on the plane into Japan. It is simply divine. The owner and the regulars are so kind and welcoming. The restaurant appears like a wooden hunting shack. I easily had one of the best experiences ever. The owner just made me dishes. I tried the following and all were delish: wild boar, fried tofu with green onions and ginger, deep fried little fish, pan seared fresh trout, bee larvae, and crickets.

This is NOT a place to visit if you require a "fancy setting", it is a place to visit if you like fresh food, owner hunts and gathers all of the food and then prepares it in front of you.

Note at the time of this entry the restaurant was closed on Mondays.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank triciapacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 25, 2015

Our best meal in Kyoto! The specialty here was the juicy, tender, and flavorful barbecued wild boar which the owner hunts himself. Intimate, smokey, and fun setting. My dad and I took a seat at the bar, and struck up a conversation with the owner. He told us all about his hunting stories in the hills of Kyoto. This place is a must-go for all meat lovers, and go hungry because the portions are large. On top of our pork, we were also offered crickets (which were actually very tasty!) and lamb cold cuts for free!

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank X7364RTryanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Okariba also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Okariba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.