We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent sushi, decent prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ganko Sanjo Honten

Ganko Sanjo Honten
Ranked #152 of 12,166 Restaurants in Kyoto
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: City Center
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent sushi, decent prices”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had our first lunch in Kyoto here as it was next to our hotel. Cheerful friendly service, English menu (which helps a lot), fresh sushi and reasonable quantity for the price. We went back for supper later and the staff recognised us, immediately offering us the English menu! Overall decent restaurant without having to pay over-the-top prices.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sugarnspicemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    57
    33
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place for higher quality sushi at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

A Lonely Planet recommendation, which didn't disappoint. The place is tricky to find, but is very comfortable and roomy inside. Many Japanese groups eating there, including more senior folks, which is usually a good sign. The service was slow, but the quality of the food more than made up for it. The prices, although not low, were reasonable for what they serve. We highly recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great selection of sushi (4 types of tuna alone - see pics) and also other dishes. Easy ordering (English menu). Friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vvv758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent sushi and comfortable atmosphere”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was the first dinner we had in Kyoto, and the service was fantastic. The ambience of the restaurant was friendly, nothing too formal. The food was not the best we've tasted, but overall it was decent and the portions are huge.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best sushi EVER!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hands down best salmon nigiri we have ever had, the fatty tuna rolled sushi is also a must. Came back here 2 nights in a row. Staff were very friendly, our waitress was lovely. Great value for money. Hai!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fraggle87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganko Sanjo Honten also viewed

 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Ganko Sanjo Honten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing