We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tempura in the whole wide world !”
Review of Asuka

Asuka
Ranked #302 of 12,236 Restaurants in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $27
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Tempura in the whole wide world !”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

It was bit difficult to find this place.
We read about this in Lonely Planet. And checked on trip adviser. Coz of good reviews we didn't want to give up. It was our anniversary. So wanted really good place. You can sit on the floor or you can use seats. We wanted to sit on the floor and experience Japanese culture.
This resturant has a lots of preparations of Tofu. Kyoto is famous for it's Tofu.
Tempura was very fresh.
I have travelled to Japan many times. But I have never had good tempura like this before.
We ordered our favourite beer Kirin. This place has set menu as well. And they have an English Menu. They speak English as well.
We will go there again if we go back to Kyoto.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyGirl_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Local small restaurant you cannot go wrong with!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was quite a find, we had dinner here 2 times and we should had gone more as the food was good and they were very frindly.
We had the meal sets composed by the rice, miso soup and several plates to chose , always well garnished and complimented with pickles and green tea.
Recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank filiphdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely place”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After a very cold and rainy evening of sightseeing this place was wonderful to find. It is small and cozy and the food was lovely - I had a karaage chicken set meal ( I had overdone the tempura a bit during the trip) and it was delicious. The prices aren't the cheapest you'd find but its far from expensive and worth it for the good food and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helena_sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great tempura”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Crispy fresh tempura in a small place with very friendly waitresses. The 1000 yen tempura platter is a find!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mb10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The best tempura meal we have ever tried in Japan.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I went there with my boyfriend.
He loved it.
We found this place from Lonely plannet.
They have an English menu.
Staff was very friendly.
We ordered two set menu.
You should try Kyoto traditional toffu here.
Tempura was very fresh.
They have set menu as well.
If you want to sit on the floor and ear like traditional Japanese you can do that here.
There have normal table Bd chairs as well.


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyGirl_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asuka also viewed

Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 
Kyoto, Kyoto Prefecture
 

Been to Asuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing