We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tiny room, but clean and good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of BJ Family House

BJ Family House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BJ Family House
Ranked #234 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very tiny room, but clean and good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We paid over the odds for a very small room (3 tatami mats) complete with glow-in-the-dark wallpaper(!) with shared bathroom and no breakfast. It's basically a family home run single-handedly by a Japanese lady. The place is very clean and the shared facilities are adequate. A kitchen is also available.
The window was about 5cm from the neighbouring building, so no daylight at all.
Location is within a 10 minute walk of Kyoto Station.
Overall very expensive for what you get (although other rooms did seem bigger) but ok for a single night's stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hkr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    0
    9
See reviews for
2
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

Deserves only 1 star; would not recommend even with its moderate price. The relatively moderate price is still too high for what you’re getting. The "double room" was very small- just large enough to fit the double sized futon and a little breakfast tray table. The pictures of the living room and kitchen were misleading b/c they were very cluttered so you couldn’t access the areas easily. The bathroom is the size of an airplane bathroom and the sink and shower share a faucet. No air circulation in our room- the two "windows" only opened to other interior space. That being said, the room at least was kept clean and was within easy distance of the Kyoto Station (although not in an attractive neighborhood). Friendly staff. I’d recommend staying at the Hearton Hotel (although not traditional Japanese) or another of the similarly priced hostels/guesthouses in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Portsmouth UK
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

The location of BJ's in far from the hussle of the city centre its about an hours walk through a run down city there is nothing close other then a chemist and FamilyMart. The station is about a 15 minute walk away. It was here and here only where my partner and i felt uneasy about the place we were staying. On arrival to the BJ family house we were a little daunted by the bars on the windows and doors the house doesnt look appealing from the outside. The owner of BJ's answered the door still in bath wear and curlers. She could speak little english. We had made the booking over the internet and paid cash on arival which was £59.00 sterling for just one night we were asked to remove our shoes and were shown around the tiny house. It is very lived in and you almost feel like you're imposing there were tea and coffee making facilities and a tv you could watch which had limited channels. One toilet down stairs and a communal bathroom upstairs. The bathroom was dirty and believe me we had roughed it before but for £59.00 you expect to have washing facilities. there were hairs all over the toilet seat the floor and the bath. We refused to clean it. Our room was really small could just about fit a double mattress in there. The room was very childlike with character plastic mats on the floor and funfair themed wallpaper which glowed in the dark. There was air con in the room but there was no windows the only window in the room was concreted. The only good thing about BJ's is that we did have free internet access. I wouldnt recommend this accomodation its not traditional japanese its a over priced tiny room in an unclean house.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

the called front desk is a yard away from the main sliding door,
full of shoes & suitcases !
the blue couches had 2 boys sleeping there the night we came !
the room & bathroom ( size of 6 tatamis all together ) was clean but yutakas & towels smell cigarettes !
though "regulations" was no smoking, we had to use towels to block the smell coming through the bottom of the door because someone smoked !
a guest ate standing in front of the sink because no place to sit !the computer was right by the stairsway that guest had to get up for others to go by !
in our last night RAT or MOUSE chewing right by our window !!!
this place should be OFF the list !!!

  • Liked — close by kyoto station
  • Disliked — hearing RAT at night
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank losttravelers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2008

This guesthouse is not worth even the low price. I expected a small room given that most economical lodgings in Japan are small, but this was tiny and poorly appointed. Your money will be better spent at another hostel or guesthouse. There is only enough room for the double sized futon (it touches the walls when opened up) and a breakfast tray table. The pillows were so hard we spent 4 nights using our sweatshirts as pillows. Everyday, our towels reeked of smoke, and the hot water pressure was spotty. While there is a shared kitchen and living room theoretically available for use, both are quite cluttered and not easily accessible. The only good aspects of this place is that the rooms are kept quite clean, and it's an easy walk to Kyoto Station.

  • Liked — close location to Kyoto Station
  • Disliked — smoky smelling towels and cigarette smoke wafting into the room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank toniqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2008

Great place to stay.
Walking distance from main train station and local attractions.
Lovely and helpful lady working in the reception, although her english quite bad.
The rooms are TINY and the bed is a matress on the floor which you have to roll out. It's a fun experience to live in a Ryokan (traditional japanese hotel), but I wouldn't recomend it for more than 2 days since you're going to wake up with a stiff neck every day because of the pillow.
Not recomended for newlyweds. The walls are thin like paper.

  • Liked — The experience of a japanese lifestyle
  • Disliked — the pillow
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Laini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Southern Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
Mosaic Hostel Kyoto
#28 of 279 in Kyoto
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Kyoto Guesthouse Kyo no En
#213 of 279 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northern Kyoto
Small World Guest House
Small World Guest House
#181 of 279 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#11 of 279 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
K's House Kyoto
K's House Kyoto
#5 of 279 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BJ Family House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BJ Family House

Property: BJ Family House
Address: 345 Sumiyoshicho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8143, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 279 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BJ Family House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BJ Family House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bj Family House Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing