We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in”
Review of Guest House "Bon"

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guest House "Bon"
Ranked #58 of 420 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was truly a wonderful experience that I will not forget, and at such a reasonable price... The owner was very friendly and spoke perfect English. The first thing he did was to sit down with us and let us know any information we would need in Kyoto: what buses to take (the guesthouse is conveniently situated not so far from the train station with bus stops in the vicinity), where to buy the special one-day bus tickets (spared us so much money), how to go to the main monuments (the Kinkakuji is quite near too), where could we have good meals at reasonable prices, etc... I really haven't found such a friendly host in my life, one that would treat us, two customers, as we would treat an old friend.

The room was cozy and we loved the feel of tatami under our feet. Therefore, and for all the reasons above, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergioTLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great stay in Guest House Bon. Our host was very friendly and helpful.It turns out the secret to getting around Kyoto is to get to know the bus system. The first thing our host did was sit down with us with a transit map and explain how to get to all the places we wanted to go.

The guest house is in the northern part of the city, so a bit of a trek to the central part of town but with a fair few attractions in its own right within easy striking distance. There are a number of supermarkets close by and the guest house has a nice kitchen and common area in which to prepare and eat meals.

The rooms are Japanese style and are big enough. Overall a great stay.

If you like hiking, ask about the hike to Asago-san, a two and a half hour hike up to Shinto shrine through cedar forests!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hostel is a litle far from the train statinon, but close to many temples and attractions. The owner is very helpful, provided me with pams and direction on the places I requested to see. The rooms are very clean and over all a great place to stay with a very nice common room. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvinder_atx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked this place through Hostel World. The guesthouse is a small place with traditional architecture (i.e. some low-hanging doorways:) ) in Northern Kyoto. I actually preferred staying away from the fray of city center, and the guesthouse is in a quiet and peaceful neighborhood, very close to Daitokuji temple. It's a straight shot from Kyoto Station, about 30 minutes, on the No. 9 bus. The owner is exceedingly kind and helpful. On my final day, he even drove me to the nearest subway station with my baggage when I had an early morning departure. The place is also kept meticulously clean. The rooms are simple and small, but adequate, with traditional tatami mats and closet space for storing luggage. My only critique would be that the walls are thin. If the guesthouse is full, you are likely to hear others coming up and down the stairs, talking, etc. But overall, especially for the price, this place is a gem. If I am ever in Kyoto again, I will definitely consider staying here!

Room Tip: I stayed in a single room. It was cozy, clean, and adequate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelogue1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I just love GH bon! though the location is very far away in northern kyoto, like 1.5 km (20-30 mins walk) from the nearest subway station (but with the weight of luggages and all it feels like you walk for 3 kms), it is a very pleasant stay and have a very homey athmosphere. the house is not too hard to find since the direction given is precise and you just need to follow it and in the end you'll see the small wooden board with "bon" writing on it. The house is a traditional japanese house and is a little bit small but still it is clean and comfortable. the owner is very friendly and kind and he speaks english very well which is very rare in japan. I travelled with my two sisters and when we arrived at the GH, the owner immediately ushered us in to the common room and helped us arranging our trip in kyoto, which places we need to see, the shrines near the GH, the bus we have to take, the schedule of the bus, even the onsen and sento near the GH.
The room we stayed in is a traditional japanese room with tatami floor and comfortable futon bed. there is also a heater in the room. The kitchen is a bit small and can be used to cook freely, coffee and tea is also provided for free. The bathroom and toilet is also small but clean with a western style toilet and a japanese style toilet and 2 private shower rooms. The area is quiet and not too many tourists around so it's good if you want to observe another side of kyoto.
We travelled back in april but due to our abrupt departure to japan and the popular cherry blossom season and the tourists peak we had a difficulty finding a place to sleep. we only got to stay for only 1 night at bon and we had to move the next day to another place. The eternally helpful owner kindly offered to help sending our luggages to our next hostel so we can still explore kyoto and follow our schedule for the day. We were so grateful :) i would definitely come back here next time i visit kyoto. Two thumbs!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndreangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

A very good choice to stay in Kyoto during few days.
The rooms are very simple, but in japanese style, i've found it very well for us.
The quarter is quiet, closed of bus station and some temples.
Mr BON search every time to know if your have some problem and try to solve it, when possible.
He advice you what is well or better to visit, which subway or bus station to take.
The best exemple of japanese hospitality.
The day of our departure, he has proposed to bring us until the subway station, and freely.
Very serviable, a good man, a good guesthouse.

+1

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex54140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in total in Bon Guest house and whole experience was very nice.
Place is very clean, cozy and located in good area.
Host of Bon Guest House helped us a lot with getting around in Kyoto.
Thank you very much!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Nishijin District
Ryokan&Hostel Wasabi Kyoto Soba
Shimogyo-ku
FUJITAYA BnB
FUJITAYA BnB
#1 of 178 in Kyoto
79 reviews
City Center
Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shinmachi Bettei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
Kyoto Brighton Hotel
#16 of 406 in Kyoto
936 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
Hotel Granvia Kyoto
#13 of 406 in Kyoto
3,148 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
Hotel Kanra Kyoto
#6 of 406 in Kyoto
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House "Bon"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House "Bon"

Address: 63-2 Murasakino Kamimonzen-cho, Kita-ku, Kyoto 603-8217, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Northern Kyoto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 420 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range: $33 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Guest House "Bon" 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Rakuten, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Guest House "Bon" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing