We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly good food, service and hot springs.”
Review of Kurama Onsen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kurama Onsen
Ranked #115 of 379 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Kurama Onsen as a special celebration of our wedding anniversary. It was absolutely wonderful. The service was good beyond my wildest expectations. We took the room with two meals a day and had two incredibly well prepared Kaiseki meals. Breakfast was also amazingly good with many small dishes Japanese style. Everything is spotlessly clean.
Kurama Onsen may have a modern building and modern pools for their bathing, but the food and tradition were totally Japanese. You sleep on a futon on the floor and wear a yukata ( Kimono type robe) while you are there. They also give you Japanese socks that work in thong sandals.
My husband wasn't totally sold on the futon, but we both slept like babies and hope to repeat the experience some day.
The price for an overnight and meals is pretty expensive, but if you can possibly afford it, you will never forget it. It is easy to reach from the Sanjo or JR Station and directions on their website is up to date. We used the website for reservation and got a reservation number. No email was sent confirming the reservations. When I called to be sure they had gotten them no one could speak English. So when we arrived in Japan we had the Tourist Bureau call them and we learned that we did indeed have reservations.
During the day there is a walking path through the Kurama Shrine which is truly fascinating.
In both the the Onsen and the Shrine there is little English spoken, but they speak enough to do a fabulous job of making their guests comfortable and relaxed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BettyLouAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 101 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

Beautiful - The view here is amazing ~ red maple leaves & beautiful weather !

Accessible - Just 2 trains away from Osaka (abt 90mins train)

Lodging & Meals - Nice & clean tatami rooms and awesome food served into ur room ( personalized & friendly service personnel ).

BEST THING - the bathhouse ! Outdoor gives u amazing view & Indoor is very comfy !

Cost - abt 1k SGD for 4 pax (bath, lodging & meals)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophiestikatedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is a VERY special place. We hiked from Kurama to the next village. It was so beautiful. The leaves were changing colors and it was foggy and gorgeous. The baths were a great experience. But if you can spend the night I would. What an amazing experience...the food was great, the service was wonderful. What an experience!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily94965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We were somewhat hesitant to stay at a ryokan as we had heard they are overpriced, often not as clean as major hotels, and difficult to get by if you don't speak some Japanese. However, after arriving at Kurama Onsen just outside of Kyoto, we were happy we decided to take the plunge.

Kurama is a 30 minute train ride through the mountains from Kyoto. The ryokan has a free shuttle bus that meets each train in the small village.

Upon arrival we were given our amenities in the room, and immediately walked up to the outdoor hot baths, which were spotless and offered a brilliant view of the surrounding mountainside. I had three baths during the 24 hours we were at the onsen - that's how good it was! My partner had a bit of trouble with the whole communal nudity thing, but was OK eventually.

The kaseiki dinner, served in the room, was spectacular, with fresh sashimi, silky tofu, grilled local duck and many other delicacies served right before your eyes. After the 14 courses and a bottle of local sake I had a wonderful sleep on the slightly-too-hard beds. But hey, you're in Japan so it won't be the first hard bed you've encountered.

Value wise it was slightly pricey at 35,000 yen for two people (around $400). But when you remember this includes dinner, breakfast, hot springs and accommodation, it's not too bad a deal.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank TMandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stereoxfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ゾノさん
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gyozanen
#182 of 379 in Kyoto
39 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#34 of 379 in Kyoto
254 reviews
Western Kyoto
Ryotei Rangetsu
Ryotei Rangetsu
#128 of 379 in Kyoto
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Western Kyoto
Japaning Hotel Liv Ranrokaku
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#4 of 379 in Kyoto
364 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurama Onsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurama Onsen

Address: 520 Kuramahonmachi, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto 601-1111, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Hotel Style:
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range: $303 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kurama Onsen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Rakuten and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kurama Onsen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurama Onsen Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing