We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
64
33
18
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
64
33
18
4
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 121 reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Beautiful - The view here is amazing ~ red maple leaves & beautiful weather !

Accessible - Just 2 trains away from Osaka (abt 90mins train)

Lodging & Meals - Nice & clean tatami rooms and awesome food served into ur room ( personalized & friendly service personnel ).

BEST THING - the bathhouse ! Outdoor gives u amazing view & Indoor is very comfy !

Cost - abt 1k SGD for 4 pax (bath, lodging & meals)

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophiestikatedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is a VERY special place. We hiked from Kurama to the next village. It was so beautiful. The leaves were changing colors and it was foggy and gorgeous. The baths were a great experience. But if you can spend the night I would. What an amazing experience...the food was great, the service was wonderful. What an experience!!

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emily94965
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 2, 2010

We were somewhat hesitant to stay at a ryokan as we had heard they are overpriced, often not as clean as major hotels, and difficult to get by if you don't speak some Japanese. However, after arriving at Kurama Onsen just outside of Kyoto, we were happy we decided to take the plunge.

Kurama is a 30 minute train ride through the mountains from Kyoto. The ryokan has a free shuttle bus that meets each train in the small village.

Upon arrival we were given our amenities in the room, and immediately walked up to the outdoor hot baths, which were spotless and offered a brilliant view of the surrounding mountainside. I had three baths during the 24 hours we were at the onsen - that's how good it was! My partner had a bit of trouble with the whole communal nudity thing, but was OK eventually.

The kaseiki dinner, served in the room, was spectacular, with fresh sashimi, silky tofu, grilled local duck and many other delicacies served right before your eyes. After the 14 courses and a bottle of local sake I had a wonderful sleep on the slightly-too-hard beds. But hey, you're in Japan so it won't be the first hard bed you've encountered.

Value wise it was slightly pricey at 35,000 yen for two people (around $400). But when you remember this includes dinner, breakfast, hot springs and accommodation, it's not too bad a deal.

All in all, highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank TMandK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 2, 2020
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews