We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect traditional Japanese guesthouse.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryokan Okuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ryokan Okuda
Ranked #189 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect traditional Japanese guesthouse.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stayed in this lovely Ryokan for 2 nights and would to have stayed longer. The wonderfully friendly host has limited English but we managed to understand each other very well. I wasn't expecting the onsen so that was a lovely surprise. We had a large tatami room with ensuite and sitting area behind a paper screen...all beautifully traditional.

Breakfast was toast, fresh fruit and coffee or tea, served in a private room next door.

Our first morning the shower water was cold, but we then found out our onsen time was allocated for before breakfast!

The location couldn't be more convenient, just a short walk from the subway Gion station and a pleasant half hour walk along the river to the main station.

We will definitely stay here again if we return to Kyoto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsRowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

You have to do this. Brilliant. I've stayed at Okuda Ryokan twice now. Once in 2010 with my Mother and my Aunt for 3 nights and the second time was until just yesterday for 4 nights with my partner. I just love it. It's extremely traditional with tatami mats, futons, sliding paper doors within the rooms, green tea sets etc. In the morning, the gorgeous host, Mr Tomiyo provides a western breakfast, toast and jam in another private room (guest load permitting I'd say) for you which is also perfect. I was lucky to have an en suite this second time, but the bath room downstairs is a must, so we did that at night anyway. Communal bathing per se, but with your loved ones only. Modesty assured, Mr Tomiyo makes sure of that, asking what time you'd like to bathe and will call you when it's ready. Location-wise, you are in Gion, 5 minutes walk from Hanami-koji where the illusive Maiko san can be spotted if you're lucky, 10 minutes the other way are all the subway/bus stops to see the sights of Kyoto. I think there might be 4 or 5 rooms here although he told me yesterday that he catered for 20 school students recently. Anyway ... just book it. You'll love it.

Room Tip: All rooms are tatami rooms so they are wide and open. Three adult girls with luggage slept well. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankiwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Ryokan Okuda is a very simple but yet a warm accommodation; it is located in a quite street near the Gion area which is one of the prime tourist locations. The owner is very hospitable and his simple breakfast was a perfect start for our day. We had bath and toilet inside our room which was very spacious for japan's standards. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay and highly recommended for someone who wants to experience a traditional (almost family-like) Japanese accommodation without the impersonal atmosphere of a more luxurious and expensive hotel.

Room Tip: our room we stayed that had a toilet+shower was at the back of the house, 1rst floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kostas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinagpore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Ryokan Okuda is comfortable and clean. Our room was nice and large with a small sitting area off the main tatami mat room and while it wasn't ensuite there was a sink in the room. There were bathrooms down the hall which are shared but it's a very small inn (maybe 4 rooms?) so I never encountered anyone else in the bathroom. The bath/shower is downstairs - lovely, deep, hot onsen and hand shower. Breakfast was served to us privately in a little breakfast room next to our bedroom. Very simple - just toast, fruit and tea/coffee but it was a nice way to start the day. The innkeeper was such a lovely man. He spoke only very limited English but we managed to communicate through hand signals, etc. On our last morning he walked us and our luggage out to the bus stop and helped us board the right bus for Kyoto station. The location is what makes his prices a bit higher - right in the heart of Gion, easy walking distance to restaurants, temples in Eastern Kyoto, the main shopping street, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJoyce01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights during a week-long visit to Japan (my first time). We loved the location, as we could walk to many of the Kyoto sights while at the same time able to experience a traditional Japanese inn in a quiet part of town. The innkeeper made breakfast for us each morning and drew our bath every night. The ryokan was quiet and we rarely heard other occupants. My husband had no trouble finding it from the train station (we took the shinkansen from Tokyo). I would definitely recommend if you're looking for a unique experience!

Room Tip: We had the room upstairs in the back which had a seating area and a private bathroom. The room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cactusbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Gion
Sasarindou
Sasarindou
#103 of 349 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Yamamoto Ryokan
#191 of 349 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyomachiya Ryokan Sakura Urushitei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gion
Kinoe
Kinoe
#158 of 349 in Kyoto
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Ryokan Nakajimaya
#211 of 349 in Kyoto
4.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Nishijin District
Nishijinso
Nishijinso
#274 of 349 in Kyoto
4.5 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Okuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Okuda

Property: Ryokan Okuda
Address: 85-1 Hakatacho, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto 605-0805, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Gion
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 349 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ryokan Okuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing