We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, Good Location, Too small!”
Review of Hannari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hannari
Ranked #88 of 343 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Yokohama, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, Good Location, Too small!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here during a very busy time in Kyoto and it was the only guesthouse we could find vacancy for two days. The front desk was helpful and the hostel offers good amenities, like wi fi, books, kitchen. We found the private room too small, and we could hear people snoring and talking, so difficult to get a good night's sleep. The dorms are private rooms are connected, so privacy is very limited. Also, there are only two toilets and two showers for the entire place, which was a bit stressful.
We would stay somewhere else on our next trip to Kyoto. It is good value, but so are most guesthouse in Kyoto.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bonny Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a very lovely super-friendly; great value guesthouse; It has a comfortable communal sitting area with kitchen facilities. Free wifi and use of computer. There are books to read; a large television and dvd films to watch. It is spotlessly clean; tidy and organised. The owner goes out of his way to help with anything. The rooms are cosy & comfortable. The facilities are excellent. Everything is provided; from shampoos to hairdryers to face creams, towels etc. You can help yourself to drinks and a small breakfast is provided in the morning. It truly has a home from home relaxed feel to it and you get that little bit extra at Guesthouse Hannari thanks to the thoughtfulness of the friendly owner. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheNooNoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The building is renovated (looks newly) machiya(Kyoto's traditional house).
So the space is limited, but everything was neat and the service was awesome!

Rooms
The beds are all bunk but everyone is provided privacy by curtains. There are personal small light on the bed and clothes hungers beside. Small simple rooms with a/c.

Service
The service was so helpful for budget travel.It was including all of followings for free;
towels and amenities, around 8 kinds of hot & cold drink anytime, 2 pieces of toast in morning, internet (desktop), additional towels.
The staff and other guests were all friendly and helpful.

Location;
The place is less than 10 mins walk from Horikawa-Shimodachiuri bus stop. I thought I would get lost for first visit, but it wasn't that tough.
Around the bus stop, there is a super market open till 9 or 10pm, bar restaurants and local shops.
For sight seeing, Nijo castle, Seimei shrine and Kyoto imperial palace are about 10 mins by bus.
This Horikawa-Shimodachiuri is located in centre of the Kyoto city.
So it's easy access if you're planning to visit few areas.

I would come back to hannari when i have next chance to visit Kyoto.
It's cosy, simple place and so reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

First up, this place is tiiiiiny. I travelled with much luggage, so fitting everything in the dorm room without inconveniencing fellow travellers was a bit of a challenge. That said, the beds themselves are comfortable, you have privacy curtains, a bedlight and clothes hooks. Facilities are very clean and each room key also has a key for a locker downstairs.The owner is a pretty cool guy and speaks English well if your Japanese falters (like mine does, frequently). It's a bit of a pain to get to, and I'm convinced that one of the houses on the same street had one of those "mosquito alarm" systems only audible to young people, but the area itself is quiet and relaxing. Hannari is not a party hostel, which is a bonus for me.

There's supermarkets, post office, and a 7-11 nearby, not to mention a sake brewery (distillery? whatever) down the road which is hard to miss thanks to the vending machines. It's also a lot more convenient to reach by bus than by subway or train, especially since the buses in Kyoto announce every stop they make too.

Recommended for light travellers not after much of a party.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was one of the cleanest guest houses I've ever seen in my life. The staff was fabulous, really helpful and kind, they helped me a lot. The rooms are very clean, with comfortable beds, but everything is indeed a bit cramped, just like real Kyoto homes. It's actually a way to experience life in a modern Kyoto house!
The price is excellent for what I had and I will definitely want to stay here again.
The only minus for me was the windowless-room and another guest who kept turning off the air conditioning during the night!:-) Also, it's not exactly in a very beautiful area of Kyoto, but it's quite easy of access and it's on a walking distance to Nijo castle.
I really enjoyed being there!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yew_djinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night on May 20 with a friend and got a double room. Everything was very clean -- the lounge area, kitchen, our bedroom, flooring, toilets and showers. Bread was provided with breakfast and margarine / jam was provided in the fridge (shared for all guests), along with juices, tea, coffee, and Calpis. Toiletries (shampoo, body wash, conditioner, cotton, moisturiser) were provided as well. Walls were a bit thin so any movement up / down the stairs could easily wake you if you are a light sleeper. This is walking distance to Nijo Castle and some other sights. A short bus away from Kyoto station so convenient. A supermarket is open until late if you get hungry. The staff was friendly and helpful, and can speak English well. I found this very convenient and I would recommend staying here if you are a solo traveller (or with friends) on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butterbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

For 2200-2300 JPY a night its not bad - beds are clean. The hostel as a whole is super clean. Showers are free - dont have to pay 100 JPY like certain hostels.
The beds are very comfortable - new leather beds but the space itself is very small and cramped. You wont like this place if you are claustrophobic.
It also has free breakfast - free bread,butter,jam and juice. Free tea and coffee as well.
Very close to Nijo and Kyoto imperial palace. In a great traditional and quiet Japanese neighborhood.

Room Tip: Bus number 9 and 50 to Kyoto JR station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suhritk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Guest House Kyoto Inn
Guest House Kyoto Inn
#66 of 343 in Kyoto
15 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Hana Hostel
Kyoto Hana Hostel
#16 of 343 in Kyoto
262 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
Khaosan Kyoto Theater
#27 of 343 in Kyoto
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nishijin District
Hostel Mundo
Hostel Mundo
#111 of 343 in Kyoto
55 reviews
Guesthouse Soi
#7 of 343 in Kyoto
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hannari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hannari

Property: Hannari
Address: 693 Kushigecho, Kamigyo-ku, Kyoto 602-8127, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 343 Specialty lodging in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hannari 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hannari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing