We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yonbanchi
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$170
$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$398
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Monterey Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$97
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citadines Karasuma-Gojo Kyoto(Kyoto)(Great Value!)
$100
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$174
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$183
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$283
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
19
7
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
7
1
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 29 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2011

In addition to its excellent location the guesthouse is a beautiful, traditional Japanese dwelling. The owners went above and beyond in both hospitality and advice for sight seeing. Follow their advice and you will be sure to have a memorable trip. Staying in this type of lodging sets the tone for the sights that you will visit in the city. It helps you understand and appreciate them that much more. Avoid a basic hotel while in Kyoto and go straight for this authentic experience. I hope I get the chance to return in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

The location of this home is excellent and the rooms are clean and lovely. The house itself is very clean and has lovely decor. Our host went above and beyond giving us advice about where to go, what to see, what to eat, etc...
On our first night he gave us advice about where to use a public bathhouse and where to rent bicycles. We rented bikes for the next two days from a great guy - at a great price! Then we went to the baths, which gave us all an excellent night's sleep.
The location is quite close to several of the temples on the North-eastern slope of the hills around Kyoto. We followed the recommendations visiting several temples before ending at sunset in the best location.
The next day we did even more biking around the city to other temples and the castle.
Our host arranged a shuttle for us to take to the airport in Osaka on our last day, which was hugely helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mms_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Kyoto was the highlight of our trip to Japan and Divyam's sage advice made sure we made the most of our short stay. Highly recommend taking Divyam's advice on where to eat and what to see. We will be going back next time we're in Japan.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseAndChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Yonbanchi was our first stop in our Japan stay & it was a great introduction to staying in a Ryokan as it is clean, homely & peaceful, a great place to come back to after a long day of walking or cycling around the sights.

The hosts Divyam & Yasuko are welcoming & full of the best information & local tips on how best to enjoy the sights of beautiful Kyoto

I recommend Yonbanchi to travellers looking for a traditional & more personal experience. You'll be sleeping in basic homely accommodation in a large tatami mat room on very comfortable futon & enjoying a chat with your host's over a delicious breakfast.
Although traditional Yonbanchi has wireless internet

Ask Divyam where the local Sento (bathhouse) is & have a soak with the locals after a hard day of sightseeing, you'll love it !

When we come back to Kyoto Yonbanchi is where we hope to stay again

Room Tip: Ask questions
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamBauwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

The best part of the Yonbanchi experience is the conversation and insight from your hosts, who speak English, are knowledgeable about Kyoto, how to get around, and what places are worth seeing.

Accomodations are not luxurious, but are not meant to be. You'll find yourself with more room than a business hotel, and the comfort and feel of a home.

The best tip I could provide is to be sure to rent a bike if the weather is nice. It's the best way to get around Kyoto, even for sites across the city.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews