We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and overrated.”
Review of Wakamiya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wakamiya
Ranked #329 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed at Wakamiya for 1 night and was disappointed at what we got. The room was quite small - and while we were fine with the size it seemed a tad too small considering the price we paid of 10,500 yen, dinner and breakfast included. We have stayed at other ryokans at similar prices that had a huge room with balcony almost twice this size. We only decided to stay at this place as many other places were all fully booked.

Also by Japanese standards the room was not too clean. There was settled dust, and toilet curtains had many weird stains for example.

We had Sukiyaki for dinner, and the portions were humongous! This was a plus point though, and the beef tasted really good. Still, given the room size it got quite hot after a while and we had trouble 'making the room comfortably colder again', even with windows open.

Staff spoke really little english - not basic I'd say that most hotels would have, although they were really nice.

Overall, this place is overpriced, but the location was fantastic - a short walk to Kyoto station. There was also a free internet terminal at the lobby, which is good. Stay at this place if you cannot find anywhere else in Kyoto, and for its close proximity to the railway. Rooms are alright, but not ok for the price. Otherwise, get a cheaper one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scizorsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Wakamiya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2009

We felt looked after at this little Ryokan. It was not beautiful but the staff were caring, the beds were made up and the linen was lovely. The lady took us up to our room and made us green tea when we arrived.
There was always hot water available in the room.
The bedding was put away each day and the room was set out with the table, a tea tray and something to eat. We did not have meals here but the Kyoto station is only 5 minutes walk and is an amazing place. There are lots of eateries along the road from the Ryokan which were laways full of Japanese and the station was great for food, lots of restaurants on the top floor.
There was a hot bath on the top floor of the ryokan which I soaked in alone!
There was free internet connection but it was very slow, good for emails to keep in touch with home.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenmacCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

After staying in conventional hotels for our two weeks in Japan, we decided to do the traditional Ryokan while in Kyoto for our last two days. We did the Breakfast and Dinner plan. You have the option of booking the room only, room and breakfast, or bed, breakfast and dinner. You have a choice of three traditional Japanese dinners. We did one night with the hot pot, and one with a more varied, traditional meal. Every meal was absolutely spectacular. Beautiful fresh fish, vegetables, meats, soups, rices and anything you could imagine was served at each meal, truly authentic, at the low table, in a private mat room. They waited on us like royalty, and couldn't possibly have missed a detail. The trays that they brought out with food just kept getting stuffed with more beautiful dishes than the last. We chose this Ryokan based on the recommendation of our son and his wife, who have stayed and brought guests here before. The service and food was amazing.

The location, near the train station, was ideal in that you didn't have to go very far to get around, but was situated in a rather commercial location. The other Ryokans that we looked at were probably in more picturesque locations, but they were twice the price. While you were out of your room, they would move the low tea table and bring out the futon type sleeping pads. The bathroom was truly ingenius, but tiny and no more than one person can be in at once. There is a traditional community bath as well. Everything was authentic.

Some parts of the room were a little worn - like the cracked hanging light, and dust on some of the decorations, but you can't beat the price, service, and food for a truly Japanese stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akinsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
Thank アイスマンなべ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Ana Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank mangel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThanateAi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Sanoya
Hotel Sanoya
#113 of 374 in Kyoto
99 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Toshiharu Ryokan
Toshiharu Ryokan
#107 of 374 in Kyoto
57 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan
Nagomiyado Towa Ryokan
#178 of 374 in Kyoto
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Satomo Ryokan
Satomo Ryokan
#253 of 374 in Kyoto
40 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Matsubaya Inn
Matsubaya Inn
#64 of 374 in Kyoto
510 reviews
City Center
Hotel Sugicho
Hotel Sugicho
#136 of 374 in Kyoto
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakamiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakamiya

Address: 701 Ebisunocho, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8310, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku , Kyoto Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 374 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $118 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakamiya 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Rakuten, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wakamiya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing