We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Ryokan In the Middle of... Everywhere”
Review of Matsumoto Ryokan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matsumoto Ryokan
Ranked #316 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Ryokan In the Middle of... Everywhere”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This very centrally-located ryokan did not disappoint our first-time experience with traditional Japanese accommodation. Having been a bit of an armchair traveler when it came to ryokan-style accommodation, it was great experiencing it for real - the tatami mats, interior decor and most importantly - the luxurious breakfasts.

Go for the breakfast option if you get a chance - it was certainly a highlight of our experience with Japanese culture. Do note though, based on previous reviews on this site, it appears that there is no vegetarian option (or any other dietary customization, for that matter). However, if you do get to enjoy it, you will certainly appreciate the varying tastes gathered from the many mini courses splayed across your breakfast tray, along with a hot 'main' that changes daily.

The interiors were well appointed, and despite it's somewhat garish, yellow appearance from the outside, the inside could not have been more beguiling. The location was nothing short of excellent, right across Kyoto JR station and next to Kyoto Tower. There are many izakaya-style 'pubs' around the ryokan as well; ask the front desk.

There is a communal bath downstairs - great first experience if you haven't tried one before, but if you have experienced a proper, traditional onsen before than you will probably be disappointed. Nonetheless it's a great convenience, if you appreciate a hot bath ready for you when you arrive without having to go through the fuss of preparing one in the really tiny bath we had. Don't forget to bring a towel after wrapping up in your yukata!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    16
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
11
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm so pleased we stayed here, it's a super ryokan in so many aspects.
BUT as a life long veg I thought my hubby and I would get to say our preferences on arrival.
Massive oops.
I sat through the most beautifully presented and crafted dinner in purest essence of Japanese, that made the cost outstanding value, watching my man devour two dinners.
The best I could do was eat the pickles, tofu and swap dishes from my tray to his so as not to offend.
It was seemingly female run and so impeccably delicate that this is really a must stay, you'd never believe you were across from a mainline station in the heart of a city like Kyoto.
Without the meal this would be an expensive stay but a pleasant one.
All sights near.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelofthesarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burfjord, Troms, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I willingly admit that I am kind of a freak, as I more or less am in love with the Kyoto Railway Station-building. (And by the way: I probably am not alone about having this passion: The Kyoto Station has recieved a number of awards for its architecture, and is a study well worth.) If you, like me, prefer a traditional Japanese accomodation when visiting this lovable country, the Matsumo Ryokan is unbeatable value for money. Its location, rooms, food, service and over-all ambience is top quality. I did not try its restaurant, but the breakfast was great, picture posted.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Kyoto Station, for the ultimate central Kyoto experience. The staff will wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is conveniently located at kyoto station so I could pretty much travel around kyoto easily. One street down is a local public bath with interesting guests. Two streets down is a restaurant selling palatable pork slices. However, the room is dusty and the bedsheets are stained. Furthermore, the toilet seat is not heated. If it wasn't because most ryokans were fully booked during the 31st Dec to 2nd Jan period, I would not have chosen to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

fort myers, Florida, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed 2 nights last week in this Ryokan. It was a great location right across from the train station and very affordable. While it was traditional with the onsen located in the basement, it was a 7 story building and did not have the ambiance of a Ryokan with a garden or waterfall. But still for the price it was a great way to have an "only in Japan" experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anndivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Comfortable futon's, more slipper changing (typical Japan Ryokan fashion) than ever, with showers and public bath in the basement. Clean, close and convenient. Front desk was helpful (some English with the desk attendent we spoke with).

Book this Ryokan, best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I wanted to stay in a traditional Ryokan and this was booked because of its close location to the station - and it is great when you just arrive into Kyoto, tired and dirty, and it's just 3 minutes away. It is also rather cheap. Staff really helpful and nice. The hotel is quite tired and worn, but the room was clean and tidy. The room was cold though, and even after heating on full, the toilet was a no-go area during the night. Internet free in the lobby during the evenings - expect to queue. I am glad I did try it out, and recommend for those not so sure, but next time I will splash out on more yens to a more upgraded ryokan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHelenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
Hotel Hokke Club Kyoto
#49 of 369 in Kyoto
631 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
APA Villa Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Shimogyo-ku
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
Hotel New Hankyu Kyoto
#78 of 369 in Kyoto
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kyoto Tower Hotel
Kyoto Tower Hotel
#70 of 369 in Kyoto
541 reviews
Southern Kyoto
El Inn Kyoto
El Inn Kyoto
#92 of 369 in Kyoto
213 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matsumoto Ryokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matsumoto Ryokan

Property: Matsumoto Ryokan
Address: 579 Higashishiokojicho, Karasumanishiiru, Shiokojidori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8216, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Matsumoto Ryokan 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your Matsumoto Ryokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing