We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but well worth it”
Review of Ryotei Rangetsu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ryotei Rangetsu
Ranked #124 of 406 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2010

We spent two days (2 nd visit for us) and stayed at in a room with private sauna. You can't beat the location and the exquisite services. The kaiseki dinner is top rated and served right in the room. You might find the room a bit small or minimal compared to high end hotel in the US. It is definitely not luxurious.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tkng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2010

A traditional onsen in Arashiyama, Kyoto. If you're staying around Kyoto central it's a little far away, but worth the trip. The inn itself is really quiet with very traditional touches in interior and the food they serve. We stayed in a regular room (they do have special rooms with your own private onsen in your own room) but still was relatively spacious. What impressed me was not the room itself but the great service and the absolute peace and quiet I experienced there. It wasn't the high season, so I don't think there were lots of other guest staying at the same time, but I never bumped into another guest while I was there and felt like I had the whole place to myself. I had the main onsen to myself and although not big, they do have an indoor and an outdoor onsen. The place overall is extremely clean, and as I said the service was fantastic. The only gripes is that the indoor onsen was a little too hot and at one point I tried to contact the front desk and there was no answer. But besides those two little points, I would love to come back for the great food (traditional Kaiseki) and the tranquility there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tokyodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 밤에는 방불을 모두 끄고 테라스에 나가세요, 벌레가 없어요~ 노천딸린방으로 예약하면 히노끼탕에서도 밖이 보여서 번갈아 가며 노천하기 좋음
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 지애 천
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ChiaChun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ArthurROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank simoele2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 露天風呂付の部屋であれば最前列で嵐山を眺められます。鵜飼いの掛け声も聞こえます。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ケ・ヨンホン
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Western Kyoto
Suiran Luxury Collection Hotel Kyoto
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#4 of 406 in Kyoto
395 reviews
Western Kyoto
Kadensho
Kadensho
#143 of 406 in Kyoto
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Ryokufuso
Ryokufuso
#27 of 406 in Kyoto
283 reviews
Gyozanen
#267 of 406 in Kyoto
42 reviews
Western Kyoto
Japaning Hotel Liv Ranrokaku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryotei Rangetsu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryotei Rangetsu

Address: 7 Susukinobabacho Saga Tenryuji, Ukyo-ku, Kyoto 616-8385, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Western Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 406 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Price Range: $346 - $1,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryotei Rangetsu 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Expedia, Rakuten, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Ikyu Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ryotei Rangetsu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing