We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
41
8
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
8
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnerconvenience storeother guestsarashiyamaonsenshoesjapan
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 52 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

staff at rangetsu were warmly welcoming and friendly. also they spoke good english and recommended few good restaurants around rangetsu. our room was at immaculate condition, well-taken cared for. the bath within the room was also lovely, with smell of natural wood from bath tub and flooring. the hotel has a small but beautiful garden and the view of river is stunning. me and my husband thanked for rangetsu for giving us such a memorable experience. we are very much willing to visit again.

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2017

We spent just one night in Arashiyama so we decided to go for the rather expensive but very beautiful Ryotei Rangetsu. The location is very close the river and shops but just far enough to be very quiet. Spending a tranquil night versus visiting during the busy day is well worth it. Upon entering the long front drive, the staff is immediately attentive, taking your bags, storing your shoes, and welcoming you. The rooms are large with nice views and spotless. The bathrooms are luxurious with a wooden soaking tub and shower room.
We did not get the dinner package, and the staff warned us that there are not many dinner options in Arashiyama. This is very true, and we ended up with a take out sandwich and some convenience store snacks, but we enjoyed them in our traditional room and the breakfast the following morning made up for it. The staff arranges a breakfast time with a private dining room awaiting with a full traditional Japanese breakfast. The onsen is also very nice with indoor and small private outdoor area (very private when no other guests are around). The staff was very friendly and attentive to every detail. While it is on the more expensive side, there are relatively few mid range options in Arashiyama and the extra expense goes towards a very nice grounds, staff, and gourmet breakfast.
Also recommended, the boat rides that depart from across the bridge and travel up the river, if you go early before the crowds you can get your own private boat.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BSF578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2017

Imagine staying in a ryokan on the river edge with snow-covered hillside view, a private open-sir onsen, fabulous in-room kaiseki dinner and about as much romance as a couple could stand in a single visit. So close to the temples, the bamboo forest, and heaven, this ryokan in Saga-Arashiyama will become a regular destination for us in the future.

Stayed: January 2017
2  Thank Anistatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2016

Such an incredible, meditative experience. Service is incredible, and great care is taken to little details - they event went up to cleaning the wheels of my suitcase. Minimalism here really means perfection. I have stayed in countless 5 stars and even 5 stars + / palaces that where nowhere near the sense of details and perfection of this place. The bathrooms have an oak bathtub. This creates the most exquisite smell in the bathroom, all naturally without chemical or anything. The marble, the stones, the wood, you have to see it to experience it. Every details is of the highest quality: wooden pieces are all incredible and massive. You can tell this place has been designed to outlast this century. This place is an invitation to relaxation, meditation; The onsen is fantastic, featuring one indoor and one outdoor bath. The food is great too - very authentic, simply giving you the best of a truthful Japanese experience. And the location is fantastic too. In one of the most authentic parts of Kyoto, you have virtually the neighbourhood for yourself past 6 when most tourists have gone. 15 rooms only, meaning you get the attention you deserve. The place was opened in 2005, and honestly it looks so new that if I didn’t know this I would have said it opened 6 months ago.

My tip: there is a square box in your room, in a corner: this is actually a complete tea-set with the most incredible Oolong and Japanese Sencha.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank benv615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here. The level of privacy was outstanding. We felt like we had the place all to ourselves. Service was great, food was delicious, and the location was unbeatable. The hotsprings were nice and both my wife and I made liberal use of them through our stay.

Ok, now onto the disappointments. The main thing was around price: for a similar experience of stay, we paid much less in other areas. We were expecting this hotel to be the highlight of our trip given the price we were paying each night, and in some ways it was. However, in other hotels we had free drinks waiting in our fridge after the hotsprings (basically equally $5-10, but made you feel really at home), but Rangetsu's drinks were the typical overpriced hotel rates. For a luxury hotel, it really hit home that these guys were here to make a buck. The other thing is that despite it's great location, the view is terrible. There's no view of anything from our room aside from a small garden, or anywhere in the hotel - likely for privacy. The hotel is located on the banks of the river with a great view of the fall foliage across the river, yet we had to walk outside to see any of it. Finally, it was around the service. I understand that having privacy is great, but the hotel felt very understaffed. We seldom saw any of the staff around or any activity anywhere around the hotel. There was also nothing to do in the hotel itself, so we found our time in the hotel... peaceful but a bit boring. I guess that's what the hotel is going for so we didn't hold it against them.

All in all, would we go back? Maybe, but not at the same price we paid.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Jay X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews