We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern with 'some' ryokan features”
Review of Hirashin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hirashin
Ranked #258 of 369 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Modern with 'some' ryokan features”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Service is nothing close to the traditional ryokans. Its got some features of ryokans (i.e. japanese style room, public bath, dinner in room) but overall it was not good if one wants a true Japanese ryokan experience. But its convenient location to the big department stores like Daimaru and tourist attractions like the Nishiki market may compensate for some of the negative elements of the ryokan. The staff were fairly friendly but the front desk staff could improve further. I may not stay there again if I have had more time to plan for a trip to Kyoto.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SC G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    44
    22
    13
    6
See reviews for
15
37
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The seamless check in process was an indication of what is to come: clean rooms equipped with non-dusty kettle, tea pot and cups. The bathroom and toilet were spotless. What more can a traveler ask for?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliacious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed at Hirashin as we wanted the atmosphere of a ryokan, but with some mod cons and that's what we got. The Hirashin is in a great location within a few minutes walk from the Shijo subway line, and also within walking distance from other attractions such as Gion, Nishiki market, Ponto Cho, and the Yasaka Shrine. Hirashin is also close to many department stores and restaurants. There is even a Yoshinoya within a few minutes walk if you're after a cheap and tasty meal. We found that some local banks had limits on the amount of money you are able to withdraw, so it was convenient to also have a CityBank ATM a few blocks from the hotel.

Aside from the convenient location, the Hirashin is suited to those after the feel of a Ryokan, but with some mod cons, such as a private western style toilet and shower within your own room. Many other ryokans we looked at involved communal bathrooms and toilets. They also have free wifi as well as two computers with Internet services within the hotel lobby. There is however no printer attached to the computers, which is a shame. Although it isn't clear from their website, they appear to have a curfew, which seems to be common amongst ryokans. We were informed that if we returned to the hotel after midnight we would need to phone someone via our mobiles or public phones, to come to the hotel to let us in. This isn't a problem of course if you're not interested in staying out late.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had some trouble finding out how to buy tickets for the show at Gion Corner and the staff happily phoned the venue to clarify.

We opted for the Japanese style breakfast which was lovely and consisted of salmon, miso, rice and some other traditional things such as pickles and tofu. The breakfast was filling and had a lovely traditional feel. Breakfast is served in a dining hall and is a set menu laid out on your table before you arrive. Breakfast is served in allotted times, the latest being 9am sharp. On the second day of our stay, we received a call to our room reminding us it was breakfast time - the time was 9:02am. If you're after a more relaxed breakfast time.

The room was very large and clean. Our room surprisingly contained a flat screen tv. If you're after a ryokan with some mod cons, I would highly recommend staying at the Hirashin.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a modern ryokan located in the centre of Kyoto. Has been commented that this is an expensive location, but I found it to be in-line with most other hotels of comparable standard.

Location: near to Nishiki market, the ryokan sits inside a nice part of the city - located close to good restaurants (Gogyo (on Yanagi Baba Dori) is a must, try their burnt ramen), Majority of temples/shrines are just outside centre, so would advise hiring a bike to see sights, Yen 1,000 per day for the standard bike - the rental company is based in a hotel lobby a few streets away (also on Yanagi Baba Dori)

Room: traditional ryokan room with tatami floors and futons laid out to sleep on. Room was largest I had in my Japan stay, and included all modern requirements such as tv, air-con etc.

"Onsen" - the hotel also has an area on basement which is akin to an onsen, but even the hotel do not sell this as one. Worth a visit at the end of the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripman234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We've stayed in this ryokan for one night. It is very nice place with very friendly staff, that speking very good english. The room was spacious and decorated in japanese style (with tatami floors, futon to sleep and yokata to wear). Our stay included dinner and breakfast that were really wonderful and unforgettable experience with a japanses kitchen. The only one thing that we didn't like, was that the room had no WiFi or wiered internet connection. But actually it wasn't a real problem, because there are two computers in the lobby for free use and it is possible to have a WiFi connection with your own notebool in the lobby. I'll recommend this place for stay in Kyoto.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Arrvied in Kyoto by train and asked a taxi driver to the us to Hirashin. He commented (in Japanese) that the place is expensive but we just spent 2 nights in Tokyo so this ryokan's price is not a shock.

The room itself is nothing special, with tatami and coffee table, complimentary green tea and hot water, etc. The hotel is only few minutes walk to Nishikin market, and we even walked to Gion. It's also a few minutes to a bus stop that will take us to places like Kiyomizudera temple or Kinkakujin. There's Starbucks, bakery, K-mart and other convenient stores just around the corner.

The first night the staff laid one futon but I felt it was still a bit too hard so I added another layer of futon. The hotel apparently took notice because the next night they laid 2 layers of futon for me.

The bathroom is very small - even for 5'2" girl like me it takes a bit of manouvre to get around. It is also quite old and is not as fancy as other bathrooms in other hotels we stayed in. The toilet is located in a separate room from the bathroom.

I think "modest" is one word to describe the room and bathroom.


The breakfast is the hightlight of this hotel. Everyday they served slightly different Japanese traditional breakfast and we scoffed all of them with delight. They will ask what time we want our breakfast to be provided so we'll get it fresh but we turned up almost 45 minutes late at one morning and they still kept it for us anyway.

One thing that annoyed me is their wifi service will only work at the lobby and not work in the room. Although if I stood by the elevator (we stayed at 3rd floor) I could get a weak signal, enough to update facebook and instagram...

I would recommend this place for its convenient location and breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinallyWoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed here for our last night in Kyoto and wished we hadn't. It was overpriced for the service and room we received, and the staff were really unhelpful. We returned to the hotel at around 9:30pm and they made us wait outside in the rain for 30 minutes while a school trip was having a meeting in the lobby. All we needed to do was grab our luggage and go catch a bus. The staff did no apologize, but only said that the hotel was booked for a school trip and that over 100 students were staying there - basically, they were more important than we were. Other guests trying to leave the hotel were forced to wait in the elevator for as long as we waited outside. Absolutely ridiculous.

Our room was large, but the futons were not very comfortable (our budget hotel had MUCH nicer ones). Nothing special really. The building is also quite modern, and not at all the traditional looking ryokan experience that I was hoping for. When we checked in, the manager made us sit in the lobby for quite a while and we had to insist on going to our room several times before they actually took us there. They also asked my Japanese girlfriend to show her passport assuming she was a foreigner, which she found a little rude. Overall this place was just not very friendly towards their guests (or maybe just foreigners...).

To list some positives, this place has private bathrooms (which seems rare for a ryokan), free internet (although only in the lobby), and a pretty good breakfast meal. The location is also excellent, only about 1-2 minutes walk from Nishiki market and just down the street from Gion.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms seem about the same size and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVerse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kyoto hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Watazen
Watazen
#53 of 369 in Kyoto
280 reviews
City Center
Nishiyama Ryokan
Nishiyama Ryokan
#99 of 369 in Kyoto
332 reviews
Shinkyogoku Shopping District
Kinparo
Kinparo
#132 of 369 in Kyoto
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Inn Kawashima
Inn Kawashima
#165 of 369 in Kyoto
54 reviews
City Center
Kyoto Garden Ryokan Yachiyo
Shimogyo-ku
Traditional Kyoto Inn serving Kyoto cuisine IZUYASU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hirashin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hirashin

Property: Hirashin
Address: Takoyakushidori, Takakura Nishiiru, Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto 604-8141, Kyoto Prefecture
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > City Center , Kawaramachi / Karasuma / Shijo Omiya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#130 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hirashin 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Rakuten, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hirashin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hirashin Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing