We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
191
58
13
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
191
58
13
5
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 275 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2019

We stayed at Sakanoue for 2 nights which was enough for a more traditional Japanese experience. It is located on a small street in a perfect area to enjoy Kyoto.. The staff was attentive to every need. We chose the Japanese breakfast one day and the Western breakfast the second day. We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank spect1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

You go to a ryoman for the experience of staying at a Japanese inn. We had booked 2 rooms and arrived at 3:00 pm. When I asked about dinner, we were told we were too late to arrange to have dinner. They had not emailed us to tell us we needed to order in advance because they do not do that. They did not offer to help us find a restaurant. I thought at least we would have the experience of eating breakfast. They offered either Western-- eggs,bacon, and yoghurt or Japanese, each for $30/person. Sine 2 people did not eat bacon and eggs, we ordered 2 Japanese and 3 Western. We were told it was too late even for the next day's breakfast- we could have 5 bacon and eggs (for $150) or none. So we ended up having breakfast at the train station the next morning, and paying over $1000 dollars to spend 8 hours laying on mats and have 2 frustrating conversations. Pretty frustrating and totally disappointing.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Had dinner and breakfast. Staff was very welcoming and helpful from the beginning. Food was excellent and room with own bathroom nice and there was no noise from the street outside.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Hasienda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

This ryokan completely met our expectations. The staff was very friendly and some of them spoke English. The rooms were well kept and clean. If you want all the amenities of an expensive hotel, this is not for you. However if want a traditional Japanese lodging experience this is the place.

Room tip: Be thoughtful about wearing outside shoes inside the ryokan (they don’t allow it) and there is a curfew of midnight
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank amitpP4171MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

Would definitely recommend to friends!!! Just few minutes to nearest railway and the staff are very helpful and friendly. English communication is also fluent. The whole environment is beautiful and with traditional Japanese style, it’s a great experience to living here.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank OnAir18269781367
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews