We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
190
58
13
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
190
58
13
5
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 274 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2019

I have stayed there with a friend. The place was nice, staff very welcoming and the food was good.
It was our first time in a Ryokan and we have enjoyed it! the place was not hard to find and the staff was very serviceable by ordering a taxi to help us get to the airport on time (we had a very tight schedule)!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tarazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

Great location in the historical Gion neighbourhood. We had the traditional breakfast which was decent, but not fantastic. The staff was friendly and accommodating, but there was a 12pm curfew and a 10am checkout. For $350 CDN, I think we could have found somewhere better.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

From the moment you step into Ryokan Sakanoue, you experience traditional Japan. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms very comfortable from the tatami mats to the futons to the wooden bath. The restaurant was very good - amazing Kaisaki cuisine and traditional breakfast. I would definitely stay again!!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesc3941
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

Super accommodating staff; love the place--it's rawness and cleanliness. I just regret that we didn't reserve in advance for a traditional japanese breakfast. :( also, super touched about the freebie purses that were more expensive than the tax we paid for one night.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daydream03540987596
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

i have never stayed in a ryokan before so I had imagined a smaller room than what was provided. The room was spacious, neat and clean with traditional Japanese feel! The staff was accomodating as I was feeling under the weather during my stay. Nevertheless, i got the good rest i need and enjoyed every minute in this hotel

Room tip: We were really after a microwave to heat up our breakfast
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 322alvinj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews