We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori
Ranked #106 of 366 Hotels / Ryokan in Kyoto
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This traditional ryokan inn was the best place we stayed on our recent trip to Japan. The location is beautiful, perched on the side of a river bank is a very secluded area just outside Kyoto. So secluded you have to walk across a suspension bridge to get to the inn!

We choose to book the room with a private rotenburo (outdoor bath). We actually booked the 2nd most expensive type of room but got upgraded to the best villa they had when we arrived. I had read a few reviews were other people said the same thing happened to them. I guess if it's available you will get upgraded. Even though the villa had some very traditional features like the rotenburo and tatami-matted rooms, there were also a number of not-so-traditional amenities like a western style toilet and a TV. The ryokan has a public bath but it's pretty average by Japan standards so spend a little extra and get the room with a private bath.

The staff were great. When we arrived they carried all our gear to our room and made sure I had the correct size yukata (light-weight kimono worn in summer). I'm about 6'5" and there were about 2-3 staff scurrying about trying to find the XXL one that I imagine didn't get a lot of use! They speak limited English but with a lot of gesturing we figured out what they were trying to tell us when it was time for dinner, breakfast, etc.

The only recommendation I have is if you want to drink alcohol while you are there to bring it with you as the prices are a little steep.

In summary, if you are going to Kyoto and have the time and budget you will have an amazing experience if you choose to stay here. If I go back my wife and I would stay here again without a second thought.

Room Tip: Go to convenience store and get a few beers to take with you (if you are a drinker).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BradyE_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed in 32.9 sqm room in April 2012. This was a small "cottage" like a real Japanese old style house. It seemed other rooms were located in the main building, so I think we chosen the best option. Service was good. The room was small but comfortable - with bedroom (two beds about 90 cm), dining room, shower, toilet, balcony). There was a outdoor "furo" with heated water - I highly recommend to try it. The first problem - there was the only person hardly speaking English. The second - food was like a real "old style" but definitely not we expected to eat. Sashimi was fresh, but tiny and tough, meat was so fatty etc.There was not any other restaurants nearby by the way. (Fortunately!) we had a bottle of champagne with us and something to eat so we were happy)). Overall we had an unforgettable romantic break there after allday sightseeing fantastic Kyoto shrines and gardens)).

Room Tip: Book the biggest room they have, with balcony and outdoor "furo" (Japanese hot bath). And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander_Troshkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, ,DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Trying to be fair. The setting was nice, the room very nice (including a screened-in porch), the staff gracious and helpful. We were there during Obon festival (our bad), and so it was (understandably) expensive. But, we expected outdoor public baths (based on the pictures on the website). Yes, the window looks onto a natural scene, but these are not outdoors. After getting over this, dinner was a disappointment. We were seated with the westerners who were not staying at the ryokan (a 20-person bachelorette party on one side and two couples on a group tour on the other). The dinner was rushed and the food mass-served (if not mass-produced). Breakfast was a better experience. We stayed in three ryokans in Kyoto on this visit (and we stayed in another awesome onsen in another part of Japan), and this was the biggest let-down, because the ambiance in the other places was better and the price a lot lower.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My praise to Momijiya is beyond words. What touches a traveler is the hospitality that the host(ess) offer and that Momijiya offered the best that one can get.
We stayed two nights in this quaint ryokan. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, everything was so well taken care of that we felt so spoiled. The room is pleasant and spotless. The breakfast and dinners were outstanding. The out door hot bath is the highlight. The stuff often went out their way to meet our needs.
No more need to be said. It is a place that you will have one of your best experience with a ryokan.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank houzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We stayed at this lovely Ryokan in the countryside mountains of the Kyoto Prefecture. We stayed for 4 days, and coincidently checked out the day of the 8.9 Earthquake , March 11th.
althought we were not still in this little Ryokan when the quake hit we did leave regretting
leaving, as the home comforts of this quaint Inn would have been a welcoming homecoming.
We were so apprehensive driving all the way up to this Inn from the Hanacho Metro station yet upon arrival you cross a beautiful old expansion bridge to the Inn's entrance, which I will admit is a bit modest in decor. Yet, what it lacks in lanscape they make up in Pure Japanese
hospitality and personal attention. We were so happy with our room on the first floor , the one closest to the front desk, with a lovely outdoor ceramic bathtub, which we used every chance we got. They actually fill it for you upon your arrival back to the Inn. Mama-San as we called her is the most wonderful Inn keeper, with amazing attention dedicated to the Keiseki meals which were included in the modest price of stay, You will find most Ryokans outrageously priced per night and we were traveling with our 7 year old son.
Most Ryokans charge per person, per night. So a 3 night stay in the center of town in a higher classed Ryokan could cost as much as $4000.00 american dollars. Being in the hills made this much more affordable and exquisitely charming. I wish them all the best after this terrible tragedy, and I sincerely hope this does not hurt Japan's tourism, and that Japan recovers rapidly. We love Kyoto and highly recommend this countryside treasure of an Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauritaphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Momijiya Annex is located in breathtakingly beautiful surrounds, and is a charming little ryokan with truly oiishi kaiseki. I would suggest staying at the Annex over the main ryokan located along the main road, as it's more secluded (and newer too).

The service was excellent! Even though we speak sukoshi (very little!) Japanese, we managed to communicate with the very sweet lady assigned to look after us. We had originally booked the 6 tatami mat room with private bath, but we were given a free upgrade to the larger room next door (also with private bath).

If you can afford it, stay more than a day! There are some hiking trails and temples around Takao to explore. If you're a foreigner, it might help to get familiar with some kanji though - we got around fairly easily because we read kanji.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank violetfog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyoto
Northern Kyoto
Momijiya Honkan Takao Sanso
Yunohana Onsen
Sumiya Kihoan
Sumiya Kihoan
#2 of 10 in Kameoka
79 reviews
Yunohana Onsen
Syoenso Hozugawatei
Syoenso Hozugawatei
#4 of 10 in Kameoka
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Western Kyoto
Arashiyama Benkei
Arashiyama Benkei
#4 of 366 in Kyoto
254 reviews
Yunohana Onsen
Suisen
Suisen
#1 of 10 in Kameoka
54 reviews
Ogoto Onsen
Biwako Hanakaido
Biwako Hanakaido
#5 of 44 in Otsu
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori

Property: Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori
Address: Takao Umegahata, Ukyo-ku,, Kyoto 616-8289, Kyoto Prefecture
Phone Number:
Location: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Northern Kyoto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Kyoto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, JAPANiCAN and TripOnline SA so you can book your Momijiya Bekkan Kawa no Iori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Momijiya Bekkan Kawa No Iori Hotel Kyoto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing